KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

LendingClub

Engaged Employer

LendingClub

Add a Review

LendingClub Employee Reviews about "manager"

Updated Jun 30, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 795 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
LendingClub President and CEO Scott Sanborn
Scott Sanborn
367 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people you work with are great(in 97 reviews)
  • "great benefits that are employee focused(in 92 reviews)
  • "The mission will get you up every morning and the great culture will keep you challenged and engaged everyday.(in 58 reviews)
  • "Decent Pay, def not top of market but decent for Sr, Lead, Principal, Architect + levels.(in 26 reviews)
  • "work life balance is good(in 24 reviews)
Cons
  • "Management is bad.(in 37 reviews)
  • "Managers can be good but are overworked so they tend to provide minimal input and I often don’t hear from mine for more than a week.(in 21 reviews)
  • "Connection with senior leadership was really the only piece missing from my initial experience with Lending Club.(in 14 reviews)
  • "Hardly any communication between upper management, other departments and member support.(in 13 reviews)
  • "Low salaries for anyone not at management levels.(in 11 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of LendingClub and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "manager"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great People. Some great teams left. Little Innovation.

    Feb 22, 2021 - Lead Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm rating this from the perspective of an engineer that left LC back in 2020. Great people, you'll love everyone. They really are great. Decent Pay, def not top of market but decent for Sr, Lead, Principal, Architect + levels. Company perks were nice pre covid. Managers were, maybe still are spectacular. I liked almost every engineering manager I've met. They are, were, really great.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, most of the talented engineers & leaders have already left the company. Seriously, not exaggerating, my tenure was peppered with monthly goodbyes from great people. Since I started, I counted 73 of my working piers leaving the company since starting. Not because of dire situations but because they could be doing more elsewhere... And that leads me to my next point: If you join as an engineer, you'll most likely join a team with little documentation with no seniority on the project. Be prepared if you do you'll be managing the plumbing more than writing new features. Vertically, engineering leadership is now lacking (although there are still great managers). At the C & VP level, engineering leadership in building a great engineering culture does not exist anymore. It's really in maintenance mode since covid started and I hope that now as a bank, LC sees the inevitable and either does what other banks do and hires all engineering offshore to do the core lifting (super unlikelyy)... or 2... actually innovate. Innovation at LC was becoming a bank when I was there because honestly, peer to peer lending failed. What will the next evolution at LC bring? I think unless leadership is serious about innovation, of which all evidence suggests otherwise, I wouldn't recommend joining the company anytime soon.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Worst employer I've ever worked for

    Jul 5, 2016 - Payment Processing Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive pay, some departments offer upward mobility. Some managers are truly skilled and actually develop their people. I made some great friends from other departments who are still my friends today. The company provides many benefits and perks to employees. Some departments are much better than others.

    Cons

    My manager was awful. Nearly all my coworkers disliked this person's coaching style, and when I brought this individual's behavior to the attention of HR, I was told that his or her 'parenting' demeanor was something our department needed. I have never worked with a more unprofessional, condescending and non-compliant manager in my entire adult working life. One week prior to being separated from my employment from LendingClub, I was asked to verify the accuracy of my work off the clock by this person. I was asked to do unpaid time if I wanted to keep my job. When I brought this to the attention of HR, NOTHING was done and I never received any sort of follow up to this report.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Leadership Needs to be Changed

    Dec 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great teammates! The perks are cool as well (gym onsite, barista, snacks, happy hour)

    Cons

    The direction of the company is going down, managers do not have your back and don’t know how to lead. My manager didn’t have any management experience at all before she was promoted. My team learned absolutely nothing from her or the director. They all play favorites there and like to throw people under the bus without hesitation.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Downward Spiral

    Jun 15, 2015 - Hourly Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - perks: Free insurance, free drinks, free snacks, game room, spa and on site barista -management: your manager will most likely do your work and not micro manage

    Cons

    -little or minimum pay raise -you will work harder than your rate of pay -used to be have a good work-life balance, not anymore -power trip in some departments -does not value their employees as much as before, now they see you as a number -minimum paid time off (hourly employees)

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor Management and cut throat culture

    Nov 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I suppose the pay was higher than the market rate, but other than that, I really struggle to come up with any positive about my experience at LC

    Cons

    -Coworkers were generally pretty unfriendly. On my first day, I remember asking questions and was generally met with a 'why are you bothering me' look. This did not improve over time. -My direct manager was all over the map. One day he wants this; another day may be something completely different. No direction or feedback was given until it became an issue. -Lots of internal fighting.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work!

    May 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Our company mission - We are really trying to change an entire industry that hasn't seen innovation for many, many years. We have big goals and we're really touching people's lives. Awesome coworkers - I love the people I work with! Lots of opportunity for personal growth - I feel like my manager cares about me and my development in the company. Benefits and Perks - Not only are the traditional benefits great, but the day to day perks like a fully stocked kitchen, onsite barista and spa make every day that much more enjoyable

    Cons

    Sometimes scaling a company comes with growing pains, but I've definitely seen it create many opportunities for myself and other team members.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Former Employee review

    Feb 20, 2022 - Senior QA Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Facilities are good in workplace. Accessibility to Bart and near to shopping places , food and entertainment Lot of company offices nearby Employee engagement programs are good

    Cons

    Role depends on supervisor's discretion and not aligned to primary skills mostly Skills in particular area are not considered unless they are needed for the project Not enough projects in the company Relationship matters a lot in the team you are working for , otherwise left isolated and bad treatment shown Team disagreements not taken seriously by management Weak Agile processes HR management is poor. They side mostly with management. No support for employees if manager disagrees with employee's roles and responsibilities Unrealistic expectations and no support from team Favoritism plays a big role Employees laid off or let go at will in 2021 due to market fluctuations in Mortgage industry Business model is mostly dependent on market needs

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Management is VAGUE about everything and treat you as inferior.

    Aug 17, 2021 - Customer Development Representative in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    $19 an hour to start! AND THAT'S IT! Management is vague about everything. Job duties, QA auto fails, metrics.... 1 manager wants 120 calls a day the next wants 225 a day. What is going on here?

    Cons

    2 months+ of way too much training. Only 1 week of actual computer and app training (That you really need) then a bunch of useless knowledge for months that will not help you with your clients at all.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The company it self is good. However the boss is horrible.

    Apr 18, 2022 - Finance in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great 401k match and good benefits.

    Cons

    Manager never gave positive feedbacks, always negative and always throws you under the buss.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing opportunity to be a part of the next wave of startup successes

    Jun 25, 2013 - Business Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Overall company is very transparent - Seems like every week there's some new company development; as an employee you feel proud of the company and vested - Renaud is an awesome CEO and a visionary - The business is on the up and up

    Cons

    - Some 'old guard' employees can be hard to work with - Some groups are clique-ish - Sink or swim: not much employee development or outreach; all depends on your immediate manager

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with LendingClub Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at LendingClub? Share Your Experiences

or

LendingClub Photos

+ Add Photo
LendingClub photo of: 10th Floor Reception
LendingClub photo of: LendingClubbers at Work
LendingClub photo of: 5th Floor Meeting Space
LendingClub photo of: 2nd Floor Auditorium
LendingClub photo of: 5th Floor Meeting Space
LendingClub photo of: 19th Floor Workspace
LendingClub photo of: 2nd Floor Reception
See All Photos