Lennar "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Lennar Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Lennar President, CEO, and Director Stuart A. Miller
Stuart A. Miller
184 Ratings
Pros
  • "great company enjoy working here(in 19 reviews)

  • "good pay when you work hard and get the right opportunities(in 13 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Lennar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supporting team, great manager and good work/life balance

    Cons

    No support for people working on visa

    Lennar2019-04-13
  2. "Terrible inept management, overworking, micromanaging, low pay, & empty promises."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lennar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None really, except free basic Costco snacks

    Cons

    Pretends to be a caring organization… Words and promises don’t match actions. Infected with favoritism. Low paying. No employee performance reviews. Employee feedback is ignored. High stress, work-life balance sucks. No compassion for an employee’s life outside of work. Cutthroat corporate vibe is cancerous. Micromanagement and unrealistic expectations. No real chance for creativity, cookie cutter assembly line type work. No sense of employee camaraderie or interaction… Everybody’s heads down working in silence, you feel like you’ll get in trouble if you talk or get up from your desk. It felt like jail working there. They put in shuffleboard and ping pong tables but nobody is ever playing either because if you’re not at your seat working, then you’re accused of not working, wasting time and punished. You’re pretty much just a number and less you’re in the upper echelon. Nobody that works there even owns a Lennar home—nobody can afford one on the low salaries they pay.

    Continue reading
    Lennar2020-01-05
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Lennar

    Pros

    Some good people with good experience, competitive salary (in exchange for your soul)

    Cons

    Bizarre culture of reciting Red Hen poem by memory, chanting their fight song, wearing Disneyland style name tags and various other cult like traditions to prove alliance to the company. Upper executives focused solely on bottom line (bonus) at everyone’s expense if necessary. Not a good place for work-life balance. Terrible medical benefits, you really need to understand them and factor that into your salary, especially if you have a family. Executives believe they’re the smartest guys in the room, and are sure to let you know it. Meanwhile the only true measure, stock price, underperforms all of their competitors. But they don’t connect the dots. They offer no competitive advantage despite their beliefs. Everything they do can be easily copied & in many cases competition has not only copied but improved their product. Executive roles are dominated by Caucasian male accountants. While it’s true you don’t need to be a pilot to run an airline, Homebuilding is such a complex and relationship oriented business, when run by a group with no diversity in background it’s easy to see why their stock underperforms competition and why they care less about the soft side of business and more about counting the beans. You really need to drink the coolaid to survive. Some have and have done well but you need to be of a certain breed.

    Continue reading
    Lennar2019-11-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Churn & burn..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - New Home Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lennar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Has strong brand recognition nationally. Enjoyed my coworkers

    Cons

    Constant management turnover led to a bit of a circus in terms of direction. The overall culture internally from construction to sales to customer service was quite unhappy. Sales can naturally be a demanding job understandably, but my division did not value work/life balance. It was a churn and burn environment for employees. Lacked integrity for holding home values etc - come Sunday night (end of the week to report sales) if we needed a sale, it was not uncommon to still be at the office at 10pm getting calls from management asking who we could call to beg for a sale - i.e....to run a check over & complete through Docusign by midnight. Unreal & highly unprofessional. Prices would be slashed to get sales by end of Sunday and quite frankly led to appraisal issues, unhappy former clients who would naturally find out eventually and on & on..... ultimately, after a few years, I could not be proud of who I worked for and resigned. Have heard better circumstances from other divisions, but mine was a circus.

    Lennar2019-08-15
  5. "It’s been ok, I’m just not getting the work life balance that I need."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lennar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty good commission amount. Flexibility to help new homeowners

    Cons

    Not good for team settings. High pressure for sales goals Only 3 holidays off a year No work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Lennar2019-08-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "New Home Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Home Sales Consultant in Bear, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lennar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is very good. Salary plus commission around 1.2% per house.

    Cons

    Competitive floor selling. No work life balance. Only off 2 holidays a year Christmas and thanksgiving. Long hours. No commission coming in for several months.

    Continue reading
    Lennar2019-06-28
  7. "Horrible Management and HR Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Copy Clerk in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lennar for less than a year

    Pros

    Had great coworkers when I worked there, nice building

    Cons

    Horrible management, no work/life balance, toxic work environment

    Continue reading
    Lennar2019-06-10
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Worst company ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Roseville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lennar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got a paycheck every 2 weeks.

    Cons

    Terrible work life balance. They watch your every move and expect you to be chained to your desk. Don't take lunches or breaks at all or else you're an outcast. The work isn't challenging, but just tedious and takes forever. The controller is rude and always in a bad mood. The assistant controller micro manages everything you do. Benefits are practically non-existent if you have a family.

    Continue reading
    Lennar2019-04-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Lennar sucks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Winter Park, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lennar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nobody cares about the quality of homes built

    Cons

    Worst company to work for. No work life balance and management is terrible.

    Continue reading
    Lennar2019-02-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Purchasing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lennar full-time

    Pros

    Awesome work atmosphere! I had a great boss who was flexible enough to allow me to participate in my kids’s activities. Work/life balance for practically everyone else is terrible. Employees are expected to work extensive hours.

    Cons

    Work/life balance- long work hours are expected

    Lennar2018-10-11
Found 25 reviews