Leo Burnett Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Leo Burnett CEO, North America Andrew Swinand (no image)
Andrew Swinand
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really great people and decent accounts(in 49 reviews)

  • "really nice work environment i loved it(in 48 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Overtime, No compensation, Long hours(in 57 reviews)

  • "it's a little hard to live a work-life balance(in 44 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Leo Burnett and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best people and pace in Advertising

      Apr 16, 2021 - Copywriter in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great agency that doesn't try to run it's creatives into the ground.

      Cons

      There is unfortunately little room for growth at this office.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Really Awful Team in an Amazing Company

      May 4, 2021 - Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work space is amazing, most of the people were very cool

      Cons

      The Credit / Finance team was so different than the other teams at Leo, they were very cold and unwelcoming, my manager had no interest in training me and when I was falling behind, sat me down and told me it wasn't going well instead of trying to help. I wasted 3 months here trying to learn without help.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Be Strong or Be Gone

      Jan 20, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a while, the agency has a lot going for it, decent pay, good benefits, classes for employee betterment, and the culture-building has been making a huge revamp since I started in 2016.

      Cons

      Accounts and thoehr senior management have too much power to make all the culture-building from the agency feel useless. i have seen really positive culture within the different brands but I have also seen heartless disregard for your emotional and professional well being. I recommend never taking the foot in the door approach and hope for the best, be clear about what you want at the interview, and if you do not get hired it is for the best because you were too much of what we need.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Promotion/Culture

      May 5, 2021 - Billing Specialist in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, culture is great, very inspiring and vibrant workplace.

      Cons

      No growth opportunity, have been working for 6 years. Too many office politics games and people in charge promote people based on friendship and relationship and not based on your skills

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Entry Level Trench

      May 5, 2021 - Associate Account Executive in Troy, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I found no real pros that would outweigh the Cons.

      Cons

      Work-Life balance is non-existent and they suffer from groupthink.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      One Amazing Place

      Feb 26, 2021 - Vice President in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leo Burnett is an amazing place. The people that work there are top notch and the passion they have is unlike any other. True collaboration and creative thinking is at the company core. What is even better - leadership. I was always cared for, looked out for and taught amazing skills to better myself. I was given amazing opportunity and challenged everyday with total support.

      Cons

      There are pros/cons that come with a large public company and while it seems like there is a lot of 'red tape' there is a huge sense of security and processes that ensure stability.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Okay Traditional Ad Agency in Chicago

      Mar 2, 2021 - Art Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big brands experience. Decent history. Some passionate creatives.

      Cons

      Lack of creative leadership. (Safer work) Lack of compensation no matter how long you work. Lack of creative mentorship, diversity, and inclusion. Can't even remember we've ever made a creatively driven awesome work! :(

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people, great benefits

      Mar 25, 2021 - Assistant Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, People, Creative Work, culture

      Cons

      Promotions are hard, More multicultural climate and people

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      Mar 26, 2021 - Senior Art Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      this place has a great reputation

      Cons

      cannot think of any right now

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Consistent, Nice People, Hard to Grow

      Feb 27, 2021 - Production in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and benefits. some of the smartest folks i’ve met.

      Cons

      Promotions and raises are hard to come by, no matter how good your review. Leadership have turned over recently so that may not be the case. Lots of good people left to move up.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 859 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Leo Burnett Job Seekers

    Art Director
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Associate Director, Client Finance
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Leo Burnett? Share Your Experiences

    or