Leo Burnett Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Leo Burnett CEO, North America Andrew Swinand (no image)
Andrew Swinand
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Really long hours with only a few opportunities for career development(in 41 reviews)

  • "Salary underpaid & no work life balance(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leo Burnett full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Talented team. excellent opportunity to work with the best in advertising. top notch office and location.

    Cons

    Large corporation can be difficult to navigate.

    Continue reading
    Leo Burnett2020-02-19
  2. "Good job to learn how business systems work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leo Burnett full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn, cool experiences, many guest speakers coming to speak often.

    Cons

    Expectations are very high and so many projects are thrown at you with out proper guidance to accomplish it.

    Leo Burnett2020-05-16
  3. "Stay Away From the Detroit Office"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leo Burnett full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great benefits 2. Free snacks 3. Holiday and summer parties

    Cons

    1. Services only one client and retainer continues to reduce 2. Culture is very lazy. So many legacy employees new blood doesn't have a chance. 3. Poor creative staff -- no innovation 4. No room for advancement 5. Not allowed to be yourself if you want to survive 6. Total lack of empowerment 7. Untrustworthy management -- lots of in-fighting 8. Terrible clients -- very lazy and always pointing figures

    Continue reading
    Leo Burnett2020-05-06
  4. "Good Place to Grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Producer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Leo Burnett full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My EP is great feel like I'm learning so much and he really care. People are super friendly, feel like the production department should have more creative influence.

    Cons

    Needs more diversity in age and race. Feel like the creative energy is being stifled by rigid department segretion.

    Continue reading
    Leo Burnett2020-04-15
  5. "Solid Agency"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leo Burnett full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Enthusiastic hard working teams -Sense of stability as in upper management keeping people within the building.

    Cons

    -Very tough to lock down promotions or raises.

    Leo Burnett2020-02-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "No longer a long-term career opportunity"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President/Director in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Leo Burnett full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I spent ten years working at Burnett, and I am extraordinarily grateful for the exceptional level of talent I've worked with — it's a high bar. I primarily worked outside of (or adjacent to) the sacred areas of creative and account, and while this had its downsides at times, I had a certain level of autonomy in building teams and driving my career in the direction I wanted. I learned a great deal about integrating brand and equity into the work I was developing — and also earned some chops in dealing with politics. I'm confident that there's something for everyone to learn from experience in this agency. When you stop learning and growing, it's time to move on. If you're looking to pursue a traditional agency career, you will find value here. However, if you want to build your expertise in digital, product, innovation or more-forward facing advertising technology, you are best to look elsewhere.

    Cons

    Paris is the puppet-master holding the strings for many business decisions, which makes finances a tremendous burden. The agency has gone through many years of scrimping to find the money for raises, and promotions take several years to materialize for deserving employees. The agency's primary clients are facing their own massive market problems, and it's a rare exception that they've embraced digital transformation. You may sit in a town hall meeting, forced to watch reels of commercials — and no celebration of teams outside of creative that make this work happen, while hearing about small new business wins that don't impact many employees to improve morale. Layoffs are becoming a more common occurrence, and Publicis is starting to have serious issues with retaining senior leadership. While it would be ridiculous to expect this to be the same agency I started working at years ago, the changes have not been for the better. The soul of this agency is on life support — no amount of mediation sessions or employee resource groups can fix the deep-seated problems Burnett is facing.

    Continue reading
    Leo Burnett2020-02-27
  7. "Enjoyed my time here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Leo Burnett part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My supervisor was so helpful and I could tell she cared about helping me grow.

    Cons

    Since the agency is so big, roles become very fragmented/specific

    Leo Burnett2020-02-06
  8. "One of the best in the industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultive Sales Associate- Home Improvement in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Leo Burnett full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Welcoming and sound environment

    Cons

    Clients are not always easy to build relationships with

    Continue reading
    Leo Burnett2020-01-31
  9. "Great work environmennt"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Planner in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Leo Burnett full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented teams , fun workplace, great brands

    Cons

    there are none that i know of

    Leo Burnett2020-01-24
  10. "Great culture, fun workplace"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Leo Burnett full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, very fun work environment, talented people to work with

    Cons

    Low pay compared to working in tech or client side

    Leo Burnett2020-01-22
Found 637 reviews