Leon's Furniture Reviews | Glassdoor

Leon's Furniture Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
59%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Leon's Furniture President and CEO Terry Leon (no image)
Terry Leon
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Profit sharing isn't bad either(in 13 reviews)

  • "Canadian company great people plus you can grow in the company(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, you dont make money if you dont sell(in 19 reviews)

  • "Customers are unnecessarily rude, the hours are long and way too much is expected for minimum wage(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Leon's Furniture part-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits but no retirement plan.

    Cons

    Terrible company and workplace environment. Managers had no idea how to run an office. We were essentially sales associates and administrative assistants in one job with little to no training.

    Leon's Furniture2019-01-08
  2. "Delivery Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Leon's Furniture

    Pros

    Good management, friendly co-workers, team environment. Canadian company. Company has understanding of importance of work and home life balance. Flexible with booking days off.

    Cons

    Long hours, heavy lifting, piece work (pay depends on how much you would deliver), working weekends. Better training would have been beneficial for staff.

    Leon's Furniture2017-07-28
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Pay, No Days Off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Manager in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Leon's Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Missing the people I worked with, I made some really good friends there Learned a lot about managing and business

    Cons

    Hard to pay your bills, for a better warehouse manager job I almost DOUBLED my salary that Leon's was paying. I never understood why managers kept leaving the company but now I understand that the company doesn't do a whole lot to keep you around. My new job is great because I actually get days off, working at Leons you are expected to be on call 24 hours a day if something goes wrong which it often did because I... was the only one who knew what to do in the warehouse. All the warehouse guys and managers are brand new making the job hard. My favourite part about Leon's is everything is your fault when it goes wrong, and you are expected to work 24 hours until it is better, but it is Leon's causing people to quit because they only pay you minimum wage to start. YOU CAN'T HAVE YOUR CAKE AND EAT IT TO

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I loved Leon's and never wanted to leave, but you guys have to be one of the cheapest companies to work for.

    Leon's Furniture2017-02-28
  5. "Okay but could be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Leon's Furniture full-time

    Pros

    Friendly Management and Colleagues Summer Socials

    Cons

    Low pay No room for advancement since it's family-owned

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay at all levels More flexibility

    Leon's Furniture2019-11-28
  6. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various in Red Deer, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leon's Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Red Deer management was great to deal with. Sales pay was great even though it is straight commission

    Cons

    Management pay was very poor

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay for management

    Leon's Furniture2019-11-01
  7. "helping customers with their furniture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leon's Furniture part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a good working environment with supportive team members

    Cons

    the heavy lifting of furniture is a necessity for warehouse associate

    Leon's Furniture2019-10-08
  8. "Great work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Associate in Britannia, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Leon's Furniture part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn to work under pressure. Flexible schedule Friendly Environment.

    Cons

    Low salary. Busy workplace

    Leon's Furniture2019-10-01
  9. "Overall fair Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Richmond Hill, ON

    I worked at Leon's Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Friendly Management and Colleagues

    Cons

    Tight working hours which effected work/life balance during busy season

    Advice to Management

    They should innovate more with new designs as I have seen them having same designs for a while now

    Leon's Furniture2019-09-27
  10. "Great company but no room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Leon's Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Annual BBQs, company outing, pizza and wings lunches.

    Cons

    No room to advance as it is a family-owned company.

    Leon's Furniture2019-09-24
  11. "Its fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Leon's Furniture full-time

    Pros

    Learning Opportunities, nice environmen, music plays all the time

    Cons

    Less Pay, Rude customers on phone

    Leon's Furniture2019-10-01
Found 177 reviews