Leprino Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Leprino Foods Reviews

Updated June 21, 2017
193 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

193 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Challenging role, good pay and benefits (in 22 reviews)

  • Great benefits including Profit Sharing (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance can be tough, still stuck in the days when work is everything (in 23 reviews)

  • No work life balance is the common factor with hourly and supervisor employees (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Analyst/Applications Developer in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Analyst/Applications Developer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Leprino Foods (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    If you enjoy working with highly intelligent people, this is a great company to work for. Leprino employs some of the best scientists in the foods industry. The "Innovations Team" at Leprino has some of the best "out of the box" thinkers I have ever met. The company is one of the most "Customer oriented" companies that I have ever worked for. They seriously believe that you should treat every customer as if they are the only customer. The benefits package that the company offers is one of the best "cafeteria plans" in the industry.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the company used to be much more "employee centered" when Jim Leprino was running it himself. Since Jim's retirement from actively running the company, it has become much more of a "corporate" culture. It is still a good company to work for. It is just not as good as it once was.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget that your people are what makes the company successful!

    Leprino Foods Response

    Sep 30, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your employment experience at Leprino. We appreciate your insights and perspective.


  2. "very gpod compant to work for."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Greeley, CO
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Greeley, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leprino Foods full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    excellent compensation and training provided. very clean facility. overall positive experience working here. I think this is an excellent company to work for with excellent benefits.

    Cons

    the maintenance department does not rotate shifts so you are stuck on nights based on seniority. Over time that is an unappealing situation.

    Leprino Foods Response

    Sep 30, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for providing your balanced feedback! We agree that it's challenging managing schedules in a 24/7 environment. I received the following information from our Greeley HR Manager: "To help ... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good money too much to deal with"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vacation Relief in Lemoore, CA
    Former Employee - Vacation Relief in Lemoore, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Leprino Foods full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Insurance
    Money
    Long breaks if the Supervisors with you🕵🏽
    Taco tuesdays🌮
    Boots👞 paid for sum ppl
    Jackets for sum ppl
    Others just getn bye dont bother asking😌

    Cons

    Hostile work envirement
    Verbal harassment
    Boring meetings sound like funerals😴
    No employee moral.
    20 years to get a day shift job unless you in the crew.
    Security outside instead of inside the plant

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people that actually work
    Not just the ones next to your office🏑

    Leprino Foods Response

    Sep 30, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. Leprino Foods Company is an Equal Employment Opportunity employer and has policies against unlawful discrimination and harassment in the workplace. We take allegations of ... More


  4. "good job, great wage"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Lemoore, CA
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Lemoore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    great pay, good people, good living.

    Cons

    Long hours, rotating days off, communication.

    Leprino Foods Response

    Sep 30, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We understand the schedules in some of our locations are a challenge when operating in a 24/7 environment, and we appreciate your perspective.


  5. "New Customer Service Employee - Denver"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Account Specialist in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Customer Account Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leprino Foods full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Very welcoming environment
    - Competitive Pay
    - Good Benefits
    - A family owned company that has established a wonderful culture
    - Steady pace of work makes for quick days
    - Located around lots of good Mexican restaurants
    - On site cafeteria, free soft drinks

    Cons

    - Training structure is a bit unorganized
    - Expensive food in cafeteria
    - IT team is a bit laissez-faire. Things get done when they get done, regardless of urgency

    Advice to Management

    Overall, this is a great company and management does a fantastic job making employees feel welcomed to their respective teams. Continue to hold cross-team meetings and functions to increase camaraderie among the entire building. The biggest con for me is lack of formal training. Granted, there is a lot to learn for any position in the building and no two scenarios are the exact same, but a formal training plan would be beneficial to new employees.

    Leprino Foods Response

    Jun 17, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your employment experience to date with Leprino Foods! We are glad the cross-team meetings have been valuable and are happy that you're energized by the ... More


  6. Helpful (8)

    "Anonymous"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Leprino Foods full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Competitive Pay
    Close to downtown and trails

    Cons

    Terrible culture stuck in the 1950's
    No empowerment
    Antiquated vacation policy
    High turnover
    Terrible morale among the workforce

    Advice to Management

    I don't know why we have some many employees if you don't delegate decision making and try to micro manage everything. No need to do a yearly survey if you completely dismiss the results and justify it by saying it is "our culture"


  7. "Great Work Environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leprino Foods full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team of people. Dedicated professionals. Masters of their craft. This company has one of the best work environments I've ever worked in. All of my experiences with coworkers from all levels have been professional and productive. A welcome change in comparison to some other manufacturing companies.

    Cons

    Can seem a bit archaic at times however they are taking strides to improve and update. This is not so much a con as it is a work in progress.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.


  8. Helpful (4)

    "You're Either Untouchable or Unnoticed"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westminster, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westminster, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Leprino Foods full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - There are knowledgeable people that genuinely try to help each other out

    - Small gym in the building

    - Discounted fitness classes offered at an adjacent building

    - Community volunteering opportunities are encouraged

    Cons

    - There's a career ladder and biannual opportunities to make a case for promotion, unfortunately the requirements for advancement are not applied evenly from person to person

    - Nepotism, nepotism, nepotism. Being related to someone higher up in the company should not be the main reason someone is hired or given "protected" status.

    - Seniority seems to be a big factor in giving someone a management position, not skill or ability to efficiently lead others.

    - Antiquated vacation/sick leave policy. Just combine the two into a general PTO pool and allow people to ACTUALLY stay at home if road conditions do not permit them to travel safely to work.

    - Middle management seems to be more interested in patting each other on the back and brown nosing to whomever is higher up in the given department than actually causing positive change and helping employees grow and succeed.

    - Turn over rate can be pretty high depending on the department.

    Advice to Management

    If you genuinely want to retain talent, then reward hard work and results over playing the office politics game. The current environment drives out knowledgeable workers because they can see the inequities based on those who are favored due to familial relationships or brown-nosing to the correct people vs. those who do their job and do it well.

    Leprino Foods Response

    Jun 17, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We strongly encourage you to reach out to your local HR team to share your concerns. We rely on the engagement of our employees to help us continually improve, and your ... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Clickish"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leprino Foods full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    base comp is competitive, great focus on quality and innovation.

    Cons

    total comp is not competitive, you need to be of the inner club to advance. Decision making process is at the top and everyone is expected to execute what they're told to do. Experience will get you in the door, but be prepared to not use your skills as you'll be told what to do and how to do it. Authority doesn't match responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    take advantage of the talent you're bringing in. Be open to change!

    Leprino Foods Response

    May 23, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We solicit feedback and benchmark nationally to ensure overall total rewards are competitive. We seek to select, develop and retain top talent, and encourage you to ... More


  10. "Great place to work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leprino Foods (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Lots of opportunity to be involved in projects
    -People are very friendly and helpful
    -Good benefits and comp
    -Family environment
    -Interaction with leaders

    Cons

    Opportunity to improve on work life-balance

    Leprino Foods Response

    May 23, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We continually seek ideas to support work life integration, and are hopeful you shared those through the recent employee engagement survey.


Showing 193 of 197 reviews
Reset Filters