Les Schwab Tire Centers Reviews

Updated Mar 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Les Schwab Tire Centers CEO Jack Cuniff
Jack Cuniff
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and pay if you are willing to work for it(in 16 reviews)

  • "Good pay, lots of OT, lots of career growth within the company(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, working outside, day to day is different(in 15 reviews)

  • "Not much else bad to say if you don't mind hard work(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Love to work here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Service in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Les Schwab Tire Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My manager is the best he treats me with respect and teaches me all he knows so I can be a better employee love it

    Cons

    Wish I could’ve started earlier in my work career

    Continue reading
    Les Schwab Tire Centers2019-10-05

    Les Schwab Tire Centers Response

    October 8, 2019Les Schwab Response

    It’s people like you that are the Les Schwab difference. We’re so glad you’re part of our team!

  2. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Break/Fix Technician in Oregon City, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Les Schwab Tire Centers full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Professional, clean, great customer service

    Cons

    Prices for services are high

    Les Schwab Tire Centers2020-01-01
  3. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Service 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Les Schwab Tire Centers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Great retirement program. Great management.

    Cons

    slow season is January to March, less hours or possible layoff during that time

    Les Schwab Tire Centers2020-03-09

    Les Schwab Tire Centers Response

    March 10, 2020Les Schwab Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share. Your hard work and dedication are appreciated.

  4. "Les Schwab review"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales & Service Specialist in Corvallis, OR

    I worked at Les Schwab Tire Centers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Consistent work, there is never a slow period.

    Cons

    Limited pay raises or opportunities to promote.

    Les Schwab Tire Centers2020-02-28
  5. "Les Schwab Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Service Associate in Reedsport, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Les Schwab Tire Centers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Les Schwab is great because you're able to learn much more about cars, the importance of tires, and other vital components of an automobile. The company and staff value hard work, and speed. It is a form of physical labor: lifting, rolling tires, and running when doing tasks.

    Cons

    Getting dirty may not be fun for some people.

    Les Schwab Tire Centers2020-02-17

    Les Schwab Tire Centers Response

    March 10, 2020Les Schwab Response

    Our employees are the Les Schwab difference and everyone works very hard. Thank you for sharing.

  6. "Not for me"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Bend, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Les Schwab Tire Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    stable job with opportunity in the future once you become a full-time employee

    Cons

    no flexibility, no PTO for first year

    Les Schwab Tire Centers2020-01-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Decent High School Job (Depending on Store)"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Les Schwab Tire Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    learn about different vehicle repairs. If you show talent you can continue to learn about more advanced things Some Nice Customers Pay starts out bad but if you show initiative and learning you can go up a few pay bumps within 6 months, after that its every 6 months till you reach max pay and if you're still working there at that point you either need to look into the SSP program leading into management or find something more worthwhile. Good accommodation of school schedule

    Cons

    Tools not working Never going home on time (close at 6 (8am -6pm shift) be prepared to stay till 7) Sales and Admin disconnect from service employees Dangerous work environment (at least at the store I worked at) The problem with this job is that depending on how your specific store is run it can range from pretty good to terrible. Our store was falling apart, it was supposed to be replaced but year after year that promise fell through. We even made it to the official list of stores to be replaced in 2019 and nothing ever happened with it. We had all outdoor bays so in the summer time you'd burn and in the winter you'd freeze. Dunking tires underwater to check them for leaks when its freezing out is miserable and you were better off not wearing gloves because at least your hands would dry off. All our tools ranged from "kinda broken" to "wow this is going to get somebody hurt" Our vehicle lifts would lower themselves and the locks wouldnt self engage so new staff members consistantly damaged the underside of cars. (Brought this to managements attention, nothing ever got done). Our truck "safety inspections" consisted of everyone checkmarking that everything was all good and signing off on it without actually checking anything. ( I avoided being on the "safety board" to prevent being liable for when something breaks and inevitably gets someone really hurt) Due to only having 2 working lifts ( had a 3rd one that broke, management never fixed it after saying they would after 2 years) Many cars were jacked up on floor jacks. Floor jacks werent balanced, some leaked fluid and lowered themselves, all sorts of issues. Guaranteed our store spent more money replacing floor jacks than it would have cost to replace the hydraulic pump on the lift. Pretty early on I learned that our Sales and Admin team really did not care at all about us and would consistantly take in new work orders significantly after closing time and not just the "we fix flat tires as an emergency after hours" rule the number or rotations, brake inspections, and other work after hours sucked. Our sales and admin would be on her phone (clocked in) while we worked after hours and would often laugh to herself while hanging up the work orders in front of the Sales and Service crew 30-45 mins after closing

    Continue reading
    Les Schwab Tire Centers2019-12-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Top management doesn't get it"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Headquarters in Bend, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Les Schwab Tire Centers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health insurance and profit sharing

    Cons

    No raises offered (besides 2% cost of living every few years) Top management is disengaged Top management doesn't trust employees and constantly overrides department decisions  Antiquated management strategies and slow to implement necessary changes The archaic mentality among the top management is difficult to work under This company has very low morale at the Headquarters  Management is non committal to new ideas The company is unable to progress with the times   Current employees are observing the departures of good employees for better opportunities (pay)

    Continue reading
    Les Schwab Tire Centers2019-12-27
  9. "Great job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Service in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Les Schwab Tire Centers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, lots of OT, lots of career growth within the company. You also get a yearly bonus based on how much your stoor makes each year.

    Cons

    Tiring, long hours, customers can be terrible

    Continue reading
    Les Schwab Tire Centers2019-12-05

    Les Schwab Tire Centers Response

    December 5, 2019Les Schwab Response

    Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm for the Company...and thank you for all you do every day.

  10. "Ok place for beginning"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tire Technician and Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Les Schwab Tire Centers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, honest work, good way to learn some automotive skills.

    Cons

    Short hours when business is slow. Dont mess up, they will flip out

    Continue reading
    Les Schwab Tire Centers2019-12-04

    Les Schwab Tire Centers Response

    December 5, 2019Les Schwab Response

    Thank you for sharing your perspective.

Found 154 reviews