Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Campaign Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Campaign Assistant Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Louis J. DeGennaro
4 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Assistant 

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society part-time

    Pros

    LLS has s nice environment to work in. People are extremely helpful and kind.

    Cons

    Most jobs are part time or temporary.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-05-28
  2. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Assistant in Shawnee Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Supervisor and wonderful team environment and support

    Cons

    Only temporary position Technology updates needed

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-05-14
  3. "Overworked & underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Campaign Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

    Pros

    LLS does good work for blood canacer research, patient aid & overall mission of finding a cure.

    Cons

    As a full time “temp” you are expected to put in dedication and hours like a full time salaried employee but get paid as much as some of the part time people who do half the work you do. Some great co-workers, some not so friendly (don’t even make an effort to get to know your name until about 6 months in) very cliquey atmosphere but that may just be the direct results of being an office full of all women.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the little people ie (part time and temp staff) make them feel part of the team and recognized and STOP referrring to them collectively as “temps” we all have names just as you “salaried full-timers” do.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-02-01
  4. "Mostly positive - great place to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work on multiple campaign contracts Friendly staff and easy access to senior management Treated contractors like valuable employees Phenomenal first fundraising job - so much experience and learning!

    Cons

    Job uncertainty when contracting Very slow to address documented problems with employees

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-10-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Campaign Assistant (Temporary)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Very friendly co workers. Laid pack office environment.

    Cons

    The pay is very low. Makes it hard for them to compete with other organizations. Turn over seems to be high because most companies pay more then what is offered at LLS. This position is best suited for someone just coming out of college who lives at home or with a roommate and needs some valuable experience. Not recommended if you have a lot of financial obligations.

    Advice to Management

    Make the campaign assistant position more competitive salary wise and make it a full time position, otherwise your going to continue to have a high turn over rate and inability to retain high quality employees.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-09-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Campaign Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing Campaigns and project focus

    Cons

    -Lots of national communication and standards that sometimes don't reflect market needs

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-07-11
  7. "Campaign Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good mission. Good first job/work experience if you're right out of college. The pay is fine if you have no bills to pay.

    Cons

    Absolutely zero room for growth. Temporary positions result in high turnover. Lots of micromanaging behind the scenes while sucking up to higher management. The Chapter I worked in is very separated between the campaigns and everyone only looks out for themselves rather than working as one team.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your staff.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2017-12-15
  8. "Solid Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Assistant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Flexible schedule. Very supportive and encouraging.

    Cons

    There are hardly any qualms.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2017-06-28
  9. Helpful (6)

    "I was suckered."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Assistant in Alexandria, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I could technically list this as work experience

    Cons

    Poor Management High Turnover Deceiving About Position Low Pay Lots of Out of Pocket Expenses

    Advice to Management

    I was hired on the basis of working on the Student Series campaign as a campaign assistant. I was told (I applied on their website, so I never saw a full job description) that I would be reaching out to schools and working with local schools to raise money for a program that teaches kids about cancer and raises money for finding cures. Well...that's half right. I certainly did reach out to schools...in order to reach...

    Show More
    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2017-04-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Campaign Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Assistant in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for more than a year

    Pros

    The ability to learn how to coordinate a development campaign.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than anticipated

    Advice to Management

    Raise pay

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2016-11-03
Found 18 reviews