Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Intern Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Louis J. DeGennaro
2 Ratings
  1. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Intern in Dallas, TX
      Recommends

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for less than a year

      Pros

      Great leadership, support for interns, excellent company culture, employees are extremely passionate about what they do

      Cons

      My experience was great overall

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-01-23
    • "Like going back to highschool"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Columbus, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for less than a year

      Pros

      Many different chances to travel with this company. The boss is very encouraging of time off and takes time off herself in the summer.

      Cons

      Cliquey, uncomfortable, not inclusive, no organization of events. If you aren’t in the in crowd they will push you out as quick as they can.

      Advice to Management

      More activities in office to develop a healthier environment

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-05-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Amazing opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for less than a year

      Pros

      Awesome environment , everyone is always willing to learn and teach. Because it's a small office everything is very hands on so it's definitely a good experience.

      Cons

      A little bit far since it's down town manhattan. Very congested at times too but the location is literally in the middle of the financial district.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2017-06-28
    • "Intern position"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern 

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for less than a year

      Pros

      Friendly Staff, great work life balance, great networking opportunities

      Cons

      no compensation, sometimes ineffective communication between workers

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2017-02-02
    • "Great Internship!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Intern 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

      Pros

      Lots of responsibility Great Experience Valuable skills learned

      Cons

      Lots of down time Unpaid internship

      Advice to Management

      Great job at delegating the work to the interns!

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2016-12-11
    • "intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Intern in Bessemer, AL

        I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for less than a year

        Pros

        It is a good place to work

        Cons

        There is no paycheck there

        Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2016-12-17
      • "Amazing non-profit organization"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Intern in Dallas, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for less than a year

        Pros

        LLS is an amazing organization to work for. Everyone is passionate about helping patients with blood cancers through research and patient services. You can tell everyone really loves their job and the culture at the Dallas, TX office is so welcoming and loving. I couldn't think of a better place to intern.

        Cons

        I did not find any cons while interning. I extremely enjoyed my experience.

        Advice to Management

        Keep on keepin on!

        Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2016-06-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great place to Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Intern in Pittsburgh, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

        Pros

        One of the best things about LLS is that I always feel welcome and like my work is appreciated. The second part of that is so important. Many places I have worked where I am not a paid employee (either intern or volunteer) use your services or help, but often make you feel as if you are expendable. I understand that mentality, but it does make an intern or volunteer feel very invigorated to continue to help out. LLS has...

        Show More

        Cons

        All of that being said, I think that if you were a patient, sometimes LLS can be a little difficult to get in contact with. Because they reduced the number of patient access managers, those who are left are stretched so thin that I think it is very easy for people to fall through the cracks. This is not a criticism of the patient access managers themselves, but rather the reduction of their numbers.

        Advice to Management

        I think that it is important to remember that their mission has two prongs: to help find a cure for blood cancers (through research) and to help improve the lives of patients and families dealing with blood cancers. I think that sometimes that second part of helping out patients can sometimes get muddled in their fundraising efforts. Research is definitely important, but it is also important to remember to help the patients...

        Show More
        Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2016-03-29
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for less than a year

        Pros

        LLS has a great environment, constantly surrounded by positive people working towards a goal to raise money for cancer research and patient care.

        Cons

        I don't have any negative experiences while working with them. Definitely helped me further my professional career.

        Advice to Management

        None. They were great and I highly recommend them to other students or young professionals working to get experience in the non-profit sector.

        Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2016-02-16
      • "Volunteer management intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Intern in Chicago, IL
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

        Pros

        Great coworkers. Really collaborative environment. Really fun and successful fundraisers!

        Cons

        Unpaid internship, but they will help you if you are doing it for school credit!

        Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2016-02-06
      Found 17 reviews