Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 364 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Louis J. DeGennaro
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "great mission and positive people(in 32 reviews)

  • "I fully believe that this organization will fund the cure for cancer(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "No salary, but that's to obvious when you volunteer with a non-profit(in 31 reviews)

  • "Low pay and low work life balance(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (11)

    "Focused and committed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part about LLS is that the work is totally mission driven. You feel good about the work that you do every day and you are inspired by all of the advances in treatments that are resulting directly from the research being completed by LLS.

    Cons

    There are a few evening and weekend events. All of them are mission driven and volunteer focused, so this isn't really a negative If you are looking for a straight 9-5 job this might be troublesome for you.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to inspire employees by always sharing the advances and progress of the mission.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-03-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Built on mission, run like a business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working at LLS allows you to utilize so many skills including fundraising and sales, relationship building, management, and strategic planning all while working with a collaborative team to fight cancer

    Cons

    Not a con but LLS is run like a business and we are held accountable to our goals.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-08-13
  3. "Focused nonprofit accomplishing their mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been at LLS for several years and am constantly inspired by the results of the dollars we raise. The research team at LLS is choosing the right scientists and therapies to fund and as a result, we're seeing new cancer treatments come to market left and right. The staff and volunteers are some of the most passionate people I've ever had the pleasure to work with and their tenacity is infectious.

    Cons

    As with any nonprofit, the work can be grueling and employees have to keep an eye on maintaining work / life balance.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-08-06
  4. "Rewarding organization with staff retention opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Campaign Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quality, trustworthy organization with a powerful objective and good intentions. Opportunities in networking, relationship building, and strategic planning are abundant. Benefits and paid time off for full time employees are excellent. Very rewarding experiences interacting with patients, caregivers, and volunteers.

    Cons

    LLS is primarily a fundraising organization which is not a con itself, but... There is a heavy sales culture without the benefits of corresponding incentive based salaries or career growth within the organization. It is possible to achieve an annual performance based bonus when very specific KPI standards are met. High expectations bring high stress and low work-life balance for low(er) pay when compared to similar...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in employees by investing time and resources in local chapter culture.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-08-15
  5. "Great Mission Driven Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is amazing at LLS. Each day you wake up feeling that you are making a difference in patients' lives and arrive at an office full of individuals who are just as passionate as you are. The collaboration has come a long way between chapters and campaign staff. It is amazing to see our hard work on the forefront and nothing can compare to the survivor circle ceremony at Light The Night. This is the first place...

    Show More

    Cons

    It can be a good amount of weekends and night events. They are all for a cause and moving experiences but may not be for all.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the wonderful work :)

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-07-30
  6. "Great place to work & incredible organization to be a part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mission, Culture & Talent Development

    Cons

    Medical Insurance is not great, but there are so many wonderful perks that LLS gives .

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-07-28
  7. "Overall great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Campaign Manager in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits, Management, support, advancement

    Cons

    Technology, Bureaucracy, Unrealistic Expectations, Unrealistic goals

    Advice to Management

    Steamline everything.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-07-26
  8. "Wonderful and Fulfilling Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Representative in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love my time at LLS. It is a wonderful organization that truly gives meaning to coming to work everyday, knowing that we are doing our part to cure cancer. I work in the Contact Center, so there are pros to speaking with our donors, patients, and volunteers each and every day.

    Cons

    It is a non-profit, and like most nonprofits salary are not usually in line with what you would imagine yourself making, unless you are high management. There is a lot on your plate due to not enough budget resources.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-07-23
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Campaign Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Care about employees and the work

    Cons

    There are no real cons for this job

    Advice to Management

    none

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-06-12
  10. "Great Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    LLS is on the cutting edge of finding a cure for blood cancer.

    Cons

    The national office does not research specific areas to determine if LLS is in line with other charities in the area with respect to sponsorship levels.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-06-21
Found 364 reviews