Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 356 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Louis J. DeGennaro
139 Ratings
  1. "Excellent mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time

      Pros

      Employees are committed to the mission

      Cons

      There is very high turnover

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-03-28
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Outreach Assistant in Santa Ana, CA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Everyone was really nice and really cared about the cause. Supervisors were amazing to work with.

      Cons

      The job was a bit tedious since it was mostly just making phone calls.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-02-19
    • "Professional Atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Executive Assistant in White Plains, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Courteous, professional people willing to help when needed. Professional with everyone working by the book which is refreshing.

      Cons

      Can be difficult to obtain promotions.

      Advice to Management

      Consider promoting people with credentials and experience that are not within your inner circle as well as those you know closely.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-02-15
    • "Staff Turnover Issue"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You support a great mission!

      Cons

      The staff turnover is insane! Complete revolving door!!

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-03-14
    • "wasteful company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rye, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      the mission is a good one - they just need to support it

      Cons

      wrong leadership, wasteful spending, too much reorganization , HR is a joke -

      Advice to Management

      stop wasting hard earned donor money on severances and wasteful spending - d put the money where it belongs in research and to patients

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-03-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Campaign Director 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent sales training opportunities in scenic locations each summer Templates, data and resources provided for recruitment and customer service Frequent goal progress discussions with direct reports at both state and national levels Heavy on customer service to high-impact (wealthy) donors and participants Major impact on cancer treatment FDA approvals in 2017-2018

      Cons

      In the words of an Executive Director: “you can’t get caught in the patients’ drama. We’re focused on the bigger picture, research.” Patient aid resources are difficult to access at best; at worst a quota has been imposed by diagnosis, without Information Resource Officers providing alternate financial aid options. Sales culture; focus on impact, wealth, numbers vs compassion for patients & families. Very little exposure...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Support remote staff with appropriate materials and resources to have a functioning office. Provide a stipend for meetings so there is no confusion on what is appropriate or approved for meeting spending up front Provide access to budget information to each campaign Director and manager Please consider the importance of administrative staff for remote workers Information Resource Officers could be trained to provide...

      Show More
      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-02-02
    • "Good Atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society part-time

      Pros

      Worked with a great manager who knew the business of motivating staff. I wish i was full-time so I could really work in this fun environment.

      Cons

      Sometimes I wish we had more interaction within departments

      Advice to Management

      Strive for staff cohesion

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-01-03
    • Helpful (3)

      "Awful work environment, corporate non-profit."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time

      Pros

      Pay was average. Literally all I can say here.

      Cons

      Office culture was sneaky and gossipy. Very little employees actually cared about the needs of the patients - only cared about fundraising, which was heavily tied to/influenced by pharma and truly never benefited the patients directly. While I was there they cut thousands of patients' monthly stipend (upwards of $10,000) with no notice. Office was 98% white and snobby. Horrible work/life balance.

      Advice to Management

      Hire professionals who care about the patients.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-01-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Outreach Coordinator in North Indianapolis, IN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Felt good about the work I was doing

      Cons

      Didn't work full-time so hard to see any cons

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-12-16
    • Helpful (2)

      "Compromised"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rye, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      It has, on its face, a wonderful mission and does provide funding for academic researchers

      Cons

      It is a very corporate environment - but most problematic are the ties to the drug industry - which really drives its advocacy agenda. Pimping for big pharma.

      Advice to Management

      Come up with an original, impactful goal for the benefit of patients.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-12-28
    Found 356 reviews