Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 356 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Louis J. DeGennaro
139 Ratings
  1. "Good organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time

      Pros

      Incredible mission to support blood cancer research

      Cons

      Organization too focused on event fundraising at the expense of relationship building fundraising

      Advice to Management

      Build best practices major gifts program

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-10-02
    • "Pleasant Work Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Program Coordinator in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The mission is critically important to everyone involved.

      Cons

      It is hard to lose people to the disease.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-09-16
    • Helpful (3)

      "Worst Job Experience I've Ever Had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Campaign Manager in Dallas, TX
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The mission is wonderful, and you can really see it at work throughout the DFW metroplex.

      Cons

      The company culture in the Dallas office is abysmal and lacking any direction. You are chastised for trying to learn, then slapped on the wrist for attempting to do your work - there is no winning situation. Work/life balance is nonexistent and the work is thankless. National is way too involved and micromanagey, setting unrealistic goals and offering "help" in all the wrong ways. In no way are you set up for success....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Pick one: train your employees or trust them to do the job they are hired to do.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-10-16
    • Helpful (7)

      "Used to be a great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society part-time

      Pros

      Great mission; wonderful co-workers and staff who are excellent at their jobs; job satisfaction knowing you are contributing to a good cause

      Cons

      Lots of turnover; overworked and underpaid employees, even after multiple record-setting years of fundraising (i.e. positions elminiated, increased hours) ; most issues stem from the chapter leadership; lack of trust in management

      Advice to Management

      This used to be a very tight-knit group that was incredibly successful with a family-like atmosphere. All of that has changed under current leadership. National staff needs to take a closer look at the chapter leadership and make changes to avoid losing more talented employees.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-09-05
    • "Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for less than a year

      Pros

      Everyone is nice and I loved working with my supervisor

      Cons

      Not much work. There was times where I was staring at my computer screen

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-08-23
    • Helpful (5)

      "Campaign Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Tons of training - fairly flexible, autonomous work environment, peers were the best

      Cons

      ED had a problem with drinking and it was embarrassing! HR absolutely knew and did nothing other than a slap on the hand. The board knew and did nothing. Any HR issues with staff were met with " find some way to work it out" - The payscale is not to scale.

      Advice to Management

      look deeper into the chapters.. there is a reason why turnover is so high

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-08-13
    • "They didn't keep a budget before 2015..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time

      Pros

      They advocate for research development.

      Cons

      My department was eliminated as a cost savings strategy. We provided support to patients and their families. The previous CEO didn't maintain or support a budget.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-09-12
    • Helpful (2)

      "Make a difference. Great mission. Low pay. Lots of Work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Working for a greater cause; working for something you're proud of and that you're truly benefiting society. Flexible with some work from home days. Great coworkers

      Cons

      A lot of work for little pay. Lack of job security.

      Advice to Management

      Strategize how to sustain fundraising campaigns for the long run (ie, 5 year plan, 10 year plan) rather than year over year.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-08-15
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great mission, horrible work culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Incredible research resulting from the fundraising. The people not at the executive level in the national office are mostly incredible to work with. Most chapters have amazing staff. The years the org as a whole surpassed budget, the benefits package was great for me (under 40, single, no kids, general good health).

      Cons

      The salary increases that came out of left field (though much appreciated!) did not apply fairly - they were applied to only campaign staff and not to administrative staff in the Chapter level. I advocated successfully for my direct report to be part of that pay bump, which I am proud of and she certainly deserved. My managers failed me though and despite having 10 years of professional experience, I was making the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Staff turnover is normal in this industry, but when 1/3 of a chapter voluntarily leaves within an 8 month period, with promotions readily available, leadership in the chapter should be examined asap not a year later.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-08-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Mission is amazing but organization does not provide support for success of employees."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Campaign Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The survivors you meet and hear their stories of overcoming the diseases touches your heart daily. Research is key and LLS spends accordingly.

      Cons

      Employees fend for themselves and does not lend to team efforts. Existing staff does not trust new personnel and has a clique feeling among coworkers. Sink or swim mentality on education of employees. Short career life spans with those with tenure about 3 years.

      Advice to Management

      Commit to your employees the resources and training with the goal of building success. Turn and burn is a reputation that plagues 501c3s and systemically proving that LLS may be guilty of this.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-08-06
    Found 356 reviews