Leukemia & Lymphoma Society "great mission" Reviews | Glassdoor

Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 364 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Louis J. DeGennaro
145 Ratings
  1. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission, great staff team, fun events, decent work-life balance, overall I enjoy being a part of the organization.

    Cons

    National management seems in disarray, and are missing a clear plan of action to staff.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent from the home office to the chapters about where you are in terms of transitioning programs. Also allow for more participation on national calls, particularly in campaign specific calls. Allow for more interactive conversations and peer-to-peer sharing of wins vs just giving speeches.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2015-07-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Dynamic organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Vice President Donor Development in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

    Pros

    great mission wish they continued to fight for it and help patients with less focus on money outside of donor development

    Cons

    poor leadership they have had opportunities to ensure that positive people bring energy and life to the org but have failed to use those people wisely. instead they have obstructors and negative people who make it difficult for people who really want to make a difference

    Advice to Management

    put can-do positive people in leadership roles, not those who obstruct, delay and are negative seeming to be thoughtful

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2015-04-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Has a vision without a plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time

    Pros

    Great mission & cause. Feel great every day knowing the work you do is helping so many blood cancer patients

    Cons

    Frustrating organizational structure with a lack of strategy to accomplish big goals. Very reactive vs being proactive, which creates a feeling of constant change.

    Advice to Management

    When goals are not achieved, focus should be on senior leadership at the National & Regional levels who do not provide the appropriate resources vs. entry-level staff who only implement as they are told. Many changes need to be made at the top.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2015-02-12
  4. "Waiting to see what comes next..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great mission with amazing volunteers and donors. Everyone wants a cure for cancer so a no-brainer as far as supporting a meaningful charity.

    Cons

    Lots of changes recently and a little uneasiness with the future. Looking forward to what comes next after the changes.

    Advice to Management

    work-life balance, hard working employee appreciation and rewarding those who are deserving.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2014-06-03
  5. "Great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

    Pros

    Great mission, great campaigns, great culture, dedicated people

    Cons

    Team In Training losing participants and staff

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2014-05-19
  6. "Great Mission. Awesome People. Poor Operations. Good Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission and awesome co-workers and volunteers. Great place to learn.

    Cons

    Campaigns offer limited growth opportunities. Operations need to better structured from the top down.

    Advice to Management

    Regional structure needs to be evaluated.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2014-04-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good People, Flawed Setup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time

    Pros

    I really liked the people and the company had a great mission

    Cons

    Too much work for too few people, and the upper management caused a lot of stress through poor communication. Not to mention many of them were just incompetent.

    Advice to Management

    More transparancy

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2014-03-25
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Only for Sado-Masochists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in White Plains, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, great mission, potentially interesting work

    Cons

    Management and HR do not know what they are doing. I never got a job description. I never got annual goals. Rarely spoke to my direct manager and when I did the answer was "ask your peers" There was an environment of secrecy. Any suggestions were taken as over-stepping. Management was through intimidation and threat. My department was predominantly Subcontinental Indian male. If you are not an Asian or a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. They are doing the work. A system of job descriptions and annual goals was instituted so that there would be a meeting of the minds.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2013-08-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great mission, but not many opportunities for growth""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager in San Jose, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time

    Pros

    Fun coworkers, a great mission, and working with an inspiring group of volunteers and honorees on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to advance your career, work schedules often conflicted with work/life balance (working nights and weekends), and a high-turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Promote more often internally and take more time to invest in current employees career development and maybe the turnover rate would decrease.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2013-01-31
  10. "Fantastic organizatioN!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great mission, good staff and volunteers...producing results!

    Cons

    Need more volunteers to support mission!

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2014-08-22
Found 364 reviews