Leukemia & Lymphoma Society "non profit" Reviews | Glassdoor

Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Employee Reviews about "non profit"

Updated Jul 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 357 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Louis J. DeGennaro
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "great mission and positive people(in 32 reviews)

  • "I fully believe that this organization will fund the cure for cancer(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "No salary, but that's to obvious when you volunteer with a non-profit(in 31 reviews)

  • "Low pay and low work life balance(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "non profit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Intro to Non-profits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Assistant in Hauppauge, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Helpful and driven staff - Getting to meet volunteers and survivors, reaffirming the importance of the mission - Working towards an incredible cause - High ambition goals - Professionalism is super important - Active learning about non-profits

    Cons

    - Low salary (which is expected at a non-profit) - Very fast-paced with very high expectations - definitely an adjustment if you can't handle it.

    Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2019-03-15
  2. "I had an amazing experience with hard working, dedicated people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

      Pros

      The non-profit gives you an amazing feeling leaving work.

      Cons

      I have no cons for them.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-10-10
    • Helpful (232)

      "We ARE going to find cures for cancer!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

      Pros

      It is an absolute pleasure to come to work every day. I fully believe that this organization will fund the cure for cancer. We are not just curing blood cancers, but all cancers. I have the most dedicated colleagues that I have ever had the pleasure to work with from the National Office to Chapter Staff. We are forward thinking and nimble enough to make sure we are serving patients, funding research and raising...

      Show More

      Cons

      We haven't cured cancer yet!

      Advice to Management

      Thank you for making LLS a great place to work.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2016-08-20
    • "A corporate non-profit"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rye Brook, NY
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      LLS is funding amazing research to finding cures for blood cancers that could be applied to all cancers as well.

      Cons

      Despite its great mission, the organization is more corporate than what a non-profit should be, so staff can fill boxed into their positions and may not feel like their work matters.

      Advice to Management

      Culture is everything and the staff are the driving force to making the organization.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-04-26
    • Helpful (3)

      "Strong mission, run like a business"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time

      Pros

      Resources; field staff; branding; volunteers; runs like a business; strong eye on bottom line

      Cons

      Like many national non profits there's a strong disconnect between the field and the national office. Decisions are made as directives to chapters vs. a collaborative effort. There's obvious dysfunction at the ELT level, including bullying, which has been reported to HR a number of times but clearly ignored for way too long.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2018-02-06
    • Helpful (2)

      "campaign Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Campaign Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time

      Pros

      great company to work for

      Cons

      they do not pay as much as other non profits

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2017-09-27
    • "Management cares more about revenue than well-being of employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Fundraising Campaign Assistant in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits were nice for a non-profit.

      Cons

      Management at the San Diego/Hawaii Chapter was AWFUL.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to and get to know your employees better.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2017-08-15
    • "Volunteer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society part-time

      Pros

      Amazing environment, really inspirational and supportive staff. Had the time of my life working here.

      Cons

      No salary, but that's to obvious when you volunteer with a non-profit.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2017-07-18
    • "Campaign Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Campaign Specialist in Cranford, NJ
      Recommends

      I worked at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Amazing people to work with - Great work/life balance - Great work environment

      Cons

      Compensation isn't sky high, but it's great considering it's a non-profit

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2017-05-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not great work-life balance."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Campaign Manager in Rye Brook, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Leukemia & Lymphoma Society full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -great volunteers -they compensate you well for a non-profit -great mission -the money we raise actually goes to the cause, and more than 80%. Low overhead cost.

      Cons

      -bad work-life balance -they spread employees thin -a lot of nights and weekends.

      Leukemia & Lymphoma Society2017-01-21
    Found 357 reviews