Lever "cross functional empathy" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Lever Employee Reviews about "cross functional empathy"

Updated Mar 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "With any start-up there might be growing pains with creating a solid knowledge base(in 18 reviews)

  • "Typical startup growing pains are present here, but not overwhelming(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cross functional empathy"

Return to all Reviews
  1. ""Lever - next big thing revolutionizing the Talent-tech/ HR-tech space""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lever full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lever is ambitious - the sky is the limit, we set hard to achieve goals and most of the time we get them. So the people that join Lever and click into the culture here are ones who love the challenge - always pushing with the momentum. Positive work environment, there has never been a dull moment for the time I've been here at Lever. Open office - makes it easy to have discussions, saves time and makes you +... the team efficient. Lever is defined by its people - we live our values by having a cross-functional empathy as a team, not trusting comfortable, raising the bar every damn day and choosing reality. Lever inverts in the culture by having annual culture quests and align together as a team and being an org that is truly excellent. Apart from that, tons of opportunities, growth, competitive package, etc

    Show More

    Cons

    It doesn't matter how good you are at your job, you'll be surrounded by tons of smart folks who are just as good if not better but if you got an offer, you probably belong here too.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up what you are doing and make it a great place to work and we'll continue to get the best people to work for Lever.

    Lever2019-03-11
  2. "Amazing Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lever full-time

    Pros

    Very inclusive environment. Lever doesn't just talk about being inclusive, they are constantly iterating on new ways to create a safe and welcoming environment for all. Onboarding at Lever was a very thoughtful and exciting experience that many companies usually don't get right. Huge emphasis on cross-functional empathy . Product is amazing and customers love us.

    Cons

    Growing pains that are typical to most start ups that grow quickly like difficulty hiring engineers and formation of silos across the company as we add more people.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on cross-functional communication so that all departments know what's going on across the company not just their own teams. More emphasis on churn so we can get on top of it before it's a problem.

    Lever2018-10-17
  3. "A great place to truly develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lever is very thoughtful in how we hire and onboard our new employees. This allows everyone to have a holistic view of the company and from day 1 embody one of our values, which is cross functional empathy. We are also very lucky to have strong leadership that invests in our learning. This is the first company I've worked with that gives training on your role, not just your function. The team as a whole works... closely together to ensure success and challenges each other to strive for more.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes we can be too thoughtful in how we make decisions, which means that we are slow to execute. Our health insurance benefits are less than what I've had in the past, it still covers the minimum needs, but we could have a more robust offering.

    Advice to Management

    Continue investing in your people so that we are excited to come to work. Keep your eyes on our big goals and don't be afraid to execute more quickly.

    Lever2017-10-24
  4. "I love working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lever full-time

    Pros

    The smartest, most thoughtful and inclusive organizations that I have ever been a part of. There is a huge emphasis on cross-functional empathy and it shows. Everyone is encouraged to raise the bar by being the bar.

    Cons

    Honestly no cons! Still very much a startup, which is only a con for those who are uncomfortable with change and the unknown.

    Lever2017-10-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The most collaborative team I've ever worked with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge on collaboration and cross-functional empathy! They actually listen when you have a good idea and let you implement it across the team to see how it works. Everyone here is very open to feedback or just having you walk up to them to ask a question. Lever is also heavily invested in your career growth. Almost right out of the gate they ask about where you would like to be in the company and help develop a plan... that will set you on the right track.

    Show More

    Cons

    The workload can be a bit much at times but that's just a sign the company is performing well. Compensation is a little on the low side compared to similar roles elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    None. Keep up the great work!

    Lever2017-09-26
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Smart and thoughtful co-workers, deliberate and inclusive culture, strong GIF game"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lever full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined Lever in 2015 as their first-ever intern, and when I graduated this year, I returned to join the company full-time. In the two years since I interned Lever, Lever has progressed in many ways from growing from 40 to over 100 employees to building a variety of new features. Why did I come back? Here are a few reasons (in no particular order): - The people are kind and thoughtful. Beyond that, there’s... something special about people here that I can’t quite put my finger around, but in short, they're awesome. - Cross team collaboration and empathy is a big one. During my internship, I had the opportunity to work with and learn from Leveroos outside of the engineering team, which helped me better understand how Lever operates. Also, cross functional empathy (XFE) is especially evident on in the way we recognize each other, celebrating small (and large) wins, and share knowledge. - There’s an incredible amount of transparency across teams and also between the executive team and the rest of the company. - Lever’s willing to invest in people development. They’re not just looking for skills, they’re also looking for potential. - HR is an interesting and often overlooked space, and I like what Lever's building. Other Pros of Lever: - Catered lunches and plenty of snacks - Action-oriented company values - People regularly raising the bar - Strong GIF game (To get a sneak peek, check out the February 2016 Lever blogpost) - Openness to feedback

    Show More

    Cons

    Honestly, most of the downsides of working at Lever revolve around us being a startup and growing rapidly. Some of the downsides include: - We have a good amount of tribal knowledge, and that doesn’t scale well (and we do some documentation, but we don’t have a centralized source of truth (that I know of/yet)). - Lever’s growing quickly, and it’s getting harder to get to know everyone in the office. - We’re... still a relatively small team working on an interesting and complex problem, so it’s not unusual for people to come in early, stay late, and continue conversations on Slack outside of the typical work hours. - To my knowledge, we haven’t reached a consensus on whether gif is pronounced with a soft ‘g’ (like jif peanut butter) or a hard ‘g’ (like gift) - I know there are articles out there, but still.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Lever has unique qualities and traditions that may be difficult to preserve as the company grows. It may not be feasible to keep them exactly as-is, but we should find the nuggets of each and be sure to keep those with us as we scale. - The fact that Lever was built by first-time founders and has achieved so much in the past few years truly illustrates how incredible our exec team is (not advice, but a general... comment). - Lever’s in a tricky (yet powerful) position where people are looking to us when it comes to recruiting and its future. We should “leverage” that and not only raise the bar when it comes to industry standards, but we should set the bar and be the bar that others can reference and strive towards.

    Show More
    Lever2017-08-29
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Best intentions, poor execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lever full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lever is an open, inclusive, collaborative environment with many smart and motivated people working for the company. Great benefits, cool office, and lots of cross-functional collaboration. Product is actually awesome, big need in the HR space.

    Cons

    Upper and middle management don't seem to agree on the same issues and opportunities on the sales side, seems like they are always pivoting back and forth without much vision for the upcoming quarters. Then they all left/got fired/moved on with the exception of a few that I'm hopeful for, but it was too late for me. Even though the sales team has had a mass exodus, I do believe in the product, but its a hard time... right now without much direction.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make a growth plan and stick to it for a quarter. Pivoting is necessary, but growth for sales reps and the company are sluggish with so many competing opinions.

    Lever2017-04-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "With exciting growth, there's always growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lever full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lever as a product is pretty incredible and is built by a design-centric team. I strongly believe it's going to revolutionize the HR industry as the product matures, and make a significant impact on how companies hire in the future. - With Lever being just under 100 employees, there's a lot of opportunity for growth if you are willing to drive your own career path. While this may be scary for some, if you know... what you're looking for in your next career move, leadership is willing to help coach and get you there. - The executive team knows what they're doing. For a company that's still relatively young, I've been really impressed by the caliber of thought leadership and strategic work by the team. I've worked in both big and small companies, and their ability to execute is at the speed of more mature companies 2-3x Lever's size. They know the foundation they need to build, and where they need to scale and grow to see results, even if the rest of the company does not see the immediate value of some key decisions made. - They hire friendly people, with a good mix of those with deep expertise in their field and others with high potential. This creates a strong creative and collaborative culture that truly embodies cross functional empathy. Along with the transparency in the company, I feel empowered to really understand of how different departments function - from Marketing, Sales, Product, Customer Success, Engineering - and learn how I can help my fellow peers. - The perks and benefits are pretty great.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with any growing company, there's going to be growing pains. Any company growing from 10-50, or 50-100, to 100-500 is going to operate differently throughout the different phases of their growth - and change is going to be a constant. To work here (or any successful startup), you'll need to be able to flex and adapt to rapidly changing environments, often times ambiguous environments. That may upset some people,... who are being pushed in a way that don't want to be pushed. But for those who are in it for the long run and are inspired to build this company, it'll be an exciting ride with Lever.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - There are so many exciting ideas for product, and huge potential expanding what our product can do. It's time to further invest and expand engineering and product (which is difficult for any start up) so we can act quickly. Capitalize on the growth we've made to continue growing and scaling quickly. Acting on these steps slowly will prove to be fatal otherwise. - Continue to invest in your employees and boost... company morale. Create an employee pulse survey to better understand what's working and what's not - and act on it quickly. It's an opportune time to do so!

    Show More
    Lever2017-03-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic company, going big places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Lever about a year and have enjoyed every moment of my time here. This past year (2015-2016) has seen a lot of growth, and yet the recruiting and executive teams have managed to keep that intimate, considerate, and passionate startup feel. This is a great place to grow as both a professional and an individual -- Lever is invested in its employees as much as we are invested in Lever. We are constantly... surrounded by people who know the importance of personal growth, diversity and inclusion, and cross functional empathy. And on top of that, it's simply a fun place to work, day in and day out. HR tech might seem unsexy on first impression, but everyone is in the business of hiring, so working in this space allows for such an incredibly far reaching impact. We have customers that are Silicon Valley tech giants of course, but we also work with everything from five person companies to five thousand; our users work at game studios and biotech labs, motorcycle dealers and government contractors, schools and non-profits. It's one of the most common challenges in business, and we have the privilege of helping our users find the talent that can carry out their vision. If that's not sexy, I don't know what is.

    Show More

    Cons

    The startup life can be brutal for some, and it's easy to burn out at a place where everyone is willing to pour everything they've got into their work. Personally, I find the chaotic moments exciting, but I know they can make some people feel uneasy and unstable. You know what you're getting into joining a company like this, though.

    Advice to Management

    Getting real with your employees is absolutely the way to go. Transparency is key for engendering buy-in when goals are intimidating and ever growing; don't let things get cloudy as the company grows. We all believe in what we are doing here and would always rather brass tacks than hollow cheerleading.

    Lever2016-07-29
  10. Helpful (6)

    "A Why-Centered Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lever full-time

    Pros

    Cross-functional empathy. Can't say this enough. Coming from stereotypical sales organizations, this team could not be more different. From the leadership to the mentality around how we work, I've felt more empowered and *encouraged* to take ownership over things, take risks, fail, and go back to the drawing board.The team is super sharp and is all motivated to build something great. Sarah, our CEO, has an... uncanny ability to articulate with incredible authenticity where we are as a company and where we're going. She's a leader I'd follow into the dark. Also, Leveroos have an affinity for black and grey clothing, so I've welcomed the monochromatic neutrals as a no-nonsense work wardrobe (not required, of course!)

    Show More

    Cons

    Startup life is what it is. I work more hours than I would at many other companies, but it's actually meaningful work, so I don't mind.

    Advice to Management

    Putting your employee's personal and professional development first makes employees feel valued. Don't let that change as you scale -- and I know that is already a priority.

    Lever2016-01-22
Found 12 reviews