Levi Strauss Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Levi Strauss President and CEO Chip Bergh
Chip Bergh
765 Ratings
Pros
  • "The focus on inclusion and belonging makes it a very positive work environment (even working remotely, it makes a difference(in 84 reviews)

  • "Company policies promote work-life balance and are employee friendly(in 66 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is an old boys' club(in 42 reviews)

  • "Work life balance could be better(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Levi Strauss and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Work life balance is good and the company invests in their employees wellbeing.

      Jul 18, 2020 - Merchandise Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Caring and supportive management and upper management.

      Cons

      Publicly traded so stock holders have to be kept happy at the expense of the employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Values

      May 5, 2021 - Category Inventory Planner in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great values, trustworthy CEO, smart people to work with

      Cons

      Salaries don’t reflect talent levels there

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      V Cool Brand Identity. Hollow Values.

      Mar 22, 2021 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brand passion among peers. Brand Identity attracts great talent.

      Cons

      Senior Leadership out of touch with store teams. Company very behind in tech resources for both consumers and employees. This became my biggest struggle: Company does not invest in positive employee culture. The cool, relevant brand identity attracts high level talent, but leadership does little to cultivate and retain this talent. As a top performing store manager, I spent my own money regularly to recognize my team. For a team of 60 employees, I was given $25 "fill the fridge" money as an intentional employee engagement strategy during Black Friday Weekend, a time where excessive (underpaid) output from all employees is mandatory. That is FORTY TWO CENTS per employee. Rather than asking my underpaid, exhausted employees to contribute to a potluck to supplement, I paid for it out of pocket. My team made our company well into the six figures in a 24 hour period, and their "recognition" was FORTY TWO CENTS per employee. Yikes. I received a monthly bonus if certain targets were met - so minimal. I made a point to reinvest that into my team every month. I worked for this company for a total of 7 years and never saw growth in this area. For three years I've worked for a company with a younger, but much healthier, retail culture and it has been a breath of fresh air.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Levi's always tries to get it right

      Apr 27, 2021 - Corporate HQ Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Engaging culture with driven and hard-working people who earnestly want to do their best work and see the company succeed. Everyone really seems to believe in our mission and our future. Comfortable salary, great benefits and the best 401K match I've ever come across. Inspiring and forthcoming CEO who makes it a point to listen to the feedback of his people at all levels. It's clear that employee satisfaction is a priority.

      Cons

      Leveling across functions is hit or miss--very common for individual contributors or low-level managers to be interfacing with Directors and VPs as a primary counterpart. Coming out of 2020, headcount still feels thin without much workload reduction to offset the org changes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It is a great product

      Apr 27, 2021 - Order Selector in Maricopa, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a great product, in all honesty I was expecting something huge that you connect to the wall or something of the sort, but as it turns out is pretty compact, and it connects to a USB port, which is nice, because I was worried about forgetting about the batteries there overnight and come up the next day with the thing burned, but as it connects to the USB, you can just turn off your PC/console and problem fixed! Highly recommended.

      Cons

      It is a great product

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Company

      May 4, 2021 - Product Developer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays well and benefits are good

      Cons

      Political work environment. Senior management picks favorites and keeps them on despite performance.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      First Job, Enjoyed Every Second!

      May 3, 2021 - Student in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Time at Levi Strauss was great. Flexible scheduling, great management and friendly co-workers.

      Cons

      No cons that I can think of!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company

      May 2, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you hit incentive for the month you would get a free item

      Cons

      Hours were a bit low depending on traffic.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job

      Apr 28, 2021 - Sales Associate in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice environment and good manger

      Cons

      Not enough hours and bad customers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fine

      Apr 26, 2021 - Sales Associate - Stylist in Howell, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy, friendly, laid-back, good friends

      Cons

      Low pay, rude boss, easy favoritism

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,755 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Levi Strauss Job Seekers

    Holiday Retail Sales Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Levi Strauss? Share Your Experiences

    or