Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith Reviews | Glassdoor

Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith Reviews

Updated Mar 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
36%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith Founding Partner Robert Lewis (no image)
Robert Lewis
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits, pay, good work environment(in 11 reviews)

  • "I can truly say a lot has changed in our Billing Dept(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "The legal secretaries were also extremely overworked and underpaid(in 16 reviews)

  • "The benefits are very basic dental and health no 401k match no tuition reimbursement(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Have never been happier to come to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Specialist in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been worked at all types of insurance defense firms, but I have finally found my home. Many companies will sweet talk you just to get you through the door and then overwork you once you’re there and your voice will no longer matter. I can honestly say that LBBS has followed through on everything that I was initially told and then some. I, personally, have not experienced any micro-managing. The volume we are given can be a lot if you are not accustomed to it, but it’s manageable. Help is always there if/when needed. I have been fortunate enough to enter such a wonderful team.

    Cons

    The current billing program is outdated (and frustrating at times) but I’m hanging in there for things to come.

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2019-12-05
  2. "Litigation Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Paralegal in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Experienced and hard case worker

    Cons

    Stopping to discuss with other employees

    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-03-07
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Big Law"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Decline to State 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, solid pay, flexible work environment.

    Cons

    Varies by office, high billable hours.

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-03-17
  5. "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They pay better than average

    Cons

    Most partners are out of touch with how to act.

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-03-10
  6. "Unappreciated Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are some good hard working people here

    Cons

    Company tries to pay as little as possible

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-03-10
  7. "okay firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time

    Pros

    pay is decent but needs a lot of improvement in other areas

    Cons

    bad benefits & office management

    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-03-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Office still open during Coronavirus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Staff in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith

    Pros

    Medical 2 weeks vacation 5 sick days

    Cons

    Office is still open during the coronavirus. Management has not taken action . The firm is fully operational in a national level. All we are being told is “we are closely monitoring the situation and to tell clients we are still open for business and have the capacity to take new cases” Its clear that management doesnt care about their employees.

    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-03-17
  9. "Associate Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great database for writing samples; nice people; great building.

    Cons

    Long hours and low compensation; benefits weren't very good; overworked staff so difficult to have your secretary/paralegal be available for work; high partner to low associate ratio; billable hours were very high for a first year associate; cannot access gmail or spotify (the firm blocks access)

    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-02-20
  10. Helpful (4)

    "They dont care, so why should you?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Administrator - Lead in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is air in the office for you to breath provided at no cost to you!

    Cons

    Benefits - health insurance only covers 80% if it covers at all, following your $2,000+ deductible; no 401k match; no maternity leave unless you are an attorney, and dental doesn't cover cleanings in some cases... HR/management - expect micro managing; late 7 minutes, better call the office. Attorneys can treat you like garbage, its not acceptable for you to say "no" to anything, no matter how absurd the request ie demand. Office Equipment and Supplies - Everything is broken, and if it isnt it will be. Also expect to spend a decent amount of time doing tedious tasks due to poor quality/setup of equipment.

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-01-28
  11. "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The firm offers many growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Underpaid for amount of billable hours required.

    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-01-06
Found 231 reviews