LewisGale Regional Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

LewisGale Regional Health System Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
LewisGale Regional Health System CEO Brian Baumgardner
Brian Baumgardner
7 Ratings
  1. "Can't Imagine working anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Cave Spring, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LewisGale Regional Health System for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Culture is everything at Lewis Gale. Inviting, Warm, Team oriented. Great place to work. I see myself here for a long time.

    Cons

    Wouldn't talk anyone out of applying here. Great place to work

    LewisGale Regional Health System2018-03-01
  2. "Patient Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LewisGale Regional Health System full-time

    Pros

    Quality patient care is focus of leadership.

    Cons

    Lack of consistent accountability in some departments

    LewisGale Regional Health System2018-10-28
  3. "Montgomery Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at LewisGale Regional Health System

      Pros

      The people that you work with are incredible. They are committed to quality and care.

      Cons

      Individual units are unorganized--making work flow difficult.

      Advice to Management

      Improve workflow. Nurses going to different rooms to gather supply for one skill. Patient assignments at different ends of two halls adds to acuity.

      LewisGale Regional Health System2018-06-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "I discourage minorities from applying."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at LewisGale Regional Health System full-time

      Pros

      Overtime Sign on bonus available Food okay Patient to nurse ratio acceptable

      Cons

      I am often not one to complain yet I can not recommend this as an acceptable place for people of color. I was told by management teamwork is valued, yet my attempt to help when needed, check call lights, and so on was not considered sufficent due to lower Management's personal dislike. Management called me aside to tell me I was not fitting in. Informed me I needed to join group conversations, attend after work functions...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Allow personality differences and diversity to make your team stronger rather then forcing everyone to be the same. Diversity is not scary, it is beautiful. Ensure lower management is encouraging true teamwork not mere friendship.

      LewisGale Regional Health System2018-06-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lots of discrimination!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technical in Salem, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at LewisGale Regional Health System full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Food was subperd and affordable!!

      Cons

      Very racist management and some co-workers. I tried complaining to the human resources at Lewisgale but no one did nothing. I eventually left on my own with a 2weeks notice. I will never knowningly work for a low class racist company again!!

      Advice to Management

      You preach diversity, but we're is it?

      LewisGale Regional Health System2018-05-23
    • Helpful (2)

      "Stay far away from this company especially if you’re a part of any marginalized community or a minority."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - RN Float Pool 
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at LewisGale Regional Health System

      Pros

      Overtime pay Small community hospital HCA facility so you can transfer Competitive pay Plenty of opportunities to float to other units Safe location Parking Food is good

      Cons

      Nurse to patient ratios Unsafe conditions Old hospital, old politics Does not support differences Placed on call a lot The health insurance is expensive

      LewisGale Regional Health System2018-05-23
    • "Referrals Specilaist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Referral Coordinator in Salem, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at LewisGale Regional Health System full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Love the work, not the pay.

      Cons

      No cost of living increases. I transferred to a new position when I finished school and got a $.31 increase.

      Advice to Management

      Cost of living increases would be nice.

      LewisGale Regional Health System2018-01-03
    • "RN- Behavioral Health"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at LewisGale Regional Health System full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Decent pay and differentials, excellent nurses

        Cons

        Management keeps increasing the nursing staff's workload so there is very little nurse patient interaction. Most of the nurse's time is spent on a computer. Patient and staff safety is a big concern. No nursing input on policies and procedures. Management dictates totally. Security is not allowed to offer enough support for violent patients.

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your RN's! Nursing CEO came to visit and did not know that there were 3 nursing units in the building.

        LewisGale Regional Health System2017-11-28
      • "Great Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at LewisGale Regional Health System full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        It is like a big family, Managers are caring, staff work together as a team and everyone here enjoys humor.

        Cons

        Long hours and it can be difficult to balance work and home.

        Advice to Management

        Keep a close relationships with the floor staff if you want to get a true feel for what is going on.

        LewisGale Regional Health System2017-09-05
      • "So glad I chose LGMC to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at LewisGale Regional Health System full-time

        Pros

        Senior leaders are available and frequently attend staff meetings to hear concerns & answer questions. The CEO Brian Baumgardner came to our last one! True team culture and 100% focused on the patient experience and what is best for our patients. Everyone is super friendly and we are empowered to "own it" to make the difference in what could be someone's worst day. Benefits & 401K are excellent.

        Cons

        Application process could be smoother. My recruiter was fabulous!

        Advice to Management

        Keep listening to the employees

        LewisGale Regional Health System2017-08-11
      Found 27 reviews