LexisNexis Legal & Professional Reviews in New York, NY | Glassdoor

LexisNexis Legal & Professional New York Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
LexisNexis Legal & Professional CEO Mike Walsh
Mike Walsh
25 Ratings
  1. "Good and getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LexisNexis Legal & Professional full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    True entrepreneurial spirit backed by team support. Amazing work/life balance and a competitive salary.

    Cons

    Poor health benefits and no real internal culture.

    LexisNexis Legal & Professional2019-04-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Working in Online Legal Publishing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LexisNexis Legal & Professional full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    There are many advantages to working at Lexis: 1. Many employees work partially to fully remote. I work 3 days at home and 2 days in the office. 2. The hours are predictable. The focus is on creating a quality product, but the deadlines are very achievable. 3. The work is cutting edge. The company is constantly evolving to keep up with technological innovations and the demands of attorneys. Creativity and innovation are...

    Show More

    Cons

    1. You will not make as much as you do in a law firm. But the hours are much better, so it's to be expected. 2. The benefits are so-so. Vacation is definitely not what you see for most attorneys and the health insurance is very expensive - similar to Obamacare levels as far as what it covers. 3. Job security is not necessarily a given. It's a very competitive industry. 4. It's a huge, multi-national company. Lots of bureaucracy,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and see if you can sometimes reverse the top-down management style. More communication would be good. We are all busy, but take the time to speak to people who may be more than one level below you. Personal contact is nice for those who sit at a computer all day.

    LexisNexis Legal & Professional2019-05-09
  3. Helpful (8)

    "LexisNexis used to be a nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LexisNexis Legal & Professional full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Nice to work from home

    Cons

    Company does not value its employees. Senior management out of touch. No place for advancement. No diversity. Most senior leadership is male.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the talents and efforts of your employees. Don't just say you value employees, show it. TalentHub is a joke. There are never advancement discussions with managers.

    LexisNexis Legal & Professional2019-04-25
  4. "Jobs in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY

    I worked at LexisNexis Legal & Professional full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    They provided a lot of training to the sales force ranging from product knowledge to presentations skills to salesmanship training.

    Cons

    Sales management can micro-manage sales force resulting in bureaucracy which takes away time from customer relationship management.

    LexisNexis Legal & Professional2018-05-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Didn't End Well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LexisNexis Legal & Professional full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Some willingness for remote workers/telecommuting.

    Cons

    Big differences between divisions regarding which gets most attention, budget, staff. Corporate marketing going through significant transition when I was there. CMO last only 2 yrs, and then-president pushed out as well

    LexisNexis Legal & Professional2018-05-10
  6. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LexisNexis Legal & Professional full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The people at LexisNexis are its biggest asset. I have worked (and continue to work) for a variety of teams and departments throughout my 11+ years here, and have learned a lot from team members that spurned my personal and career growth. But, above all, I have formed great friendships with many of the people I've worked with at LexisNexis - genuinely good people. I also like the diversity of my role (i.e. working...

    Show More

    Cons

    I think some procedures (for some of my tasks) could involve less "red tape", but understand that they are necessary to lessen the company's potential liability.

    Advice to Management

    I think it is great that our CEO periodically has round tables with most of the company's employees (who normally would not have the opportunity to speak with him) and actually tries to rectify (or get the right people to rectify) any issues brought to his attention. I also like that his leadership team seem to also be following suit. Keep up this aspect of keeping in touch with "the little folks"!

    LexisNexis Legal & Professional2018-04-04
  7. "Good Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Law Firm Marketing Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LexisNexis Legal & Professional full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great pay and work/life balance

    Cons

    When the buyout happened and we all got canned. Solid severance though.

    LexisNexis Legal & Professional2018-03-07
  8. "Back at LexisNexis with PeopleScout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LexisNexis Legal & Professional for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a wonderful opportunity to come back to LexisNexis as a contractor via PeopleScout. Glad I made the choice. It feel like home that has become more innovative. You will constantly be challenged here and pushing past the Status Quo!

    Cons

    At this point in time I don't see any cons to write about.

    Advice to Management

    Continue pushing the envelope.

    LexisNexis Legal & Professional2018-01-26
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Better companies to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LexisNexis Legal & Professional full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time off, work from home option

    Cons

    Senior Management, work overload, management doesn't care

    Advice to Management

    Just because its cheaper oversea's the customers are suffering. Start caring about your employee's again

    LexisNexis Legal & Professional2018-01-19
  10. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LexisNexis Legal & Professional full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great policies, work at home, very good location in NYC, new open office, very good work culture

    Cons

    Below average salary, reorg in 2-3 years

    Advice to Management

    Retain good employees & match the market rates

    LexisNexis Legal & Professional2017-09-13
Found 55 reviews