LiDestri Food and Drink Reviews | Glassdoor

LiDestri Food and Drink Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
LiDestri Food and Drink CEO Giovanni LiDestri (no image)
Giovanni LiDestri
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "And why would employees care when upper management complains about certain customers and says they’re going to fire them as customers(in 5 reviews)

  • "I saw a lot of good people loose their jobs and the not so good ones keep their jobs(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good People, Learned a lot about the the food industry, Good experience on the job and training that they sent me to."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Fairport, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LiDestri Food and Drink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Bonuses, 401k, Co-Workers, My Former Manager

    Cons

    12hr shifts, Dealing with some productionmanagers( but has been getting better recently)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to get rid of the production shift managers who belittle, threaten and yell at employees, even after multiple people have gone to HR about situations where they were threatened, yelled at or been told to do something unsafe.

    LiDestri Food and Drink2019-05-08

    LiDestri Food and Drink Response

    June 24, 2019LiDestri Food and Drink

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We appreciate your comments and are happy to hear you enjoy your co-workers, benefits, bonuses, and the 401K. We take concerns regarding work safety seriously, if you would like to provide more input regarding this, please reach out ...

    Show More
  2. "LiDestri was a good employer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LiDestri Food and Drink

    Pros

    Good people, decent wages, no layoffs, bonuses, 401k

    Cons

    Working most weekends, extremely hot, high medical benefits, bad communication, lots of inexperienced workers

    Advice to Management

    Put more emphasis on training

    LiDestri Food and Drink2019-08-28

    LiDestri Food and Drink Response

    September 11, 2019LiDestri Food and Drink

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We appreciate your comments and are happy to hear you enjoy your co-workers, wages, and the 401K. We appreciate your suggestion regarding training and are focusing our efforts on comprehensive training programs. If you would like to ...

    Show More
  3. "Forklift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fork Lift Operator in Fairport, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LiDestri Food and Drink full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Endless overtime because of workers quitting

    Cons

    Lazy workers Especially B Shift.C shift come in and gotta play catch up. And you get No help. Summer time it gets over 100 degrees inside facility no air

    Advice to Management

    Monthly meetings a waste of time asking how to make things better. Hold slacking workers accountable. Lots of lazy forklift drivers

    LiDestri Food and Drink2019-08-09

    LiDestri Food and Drink Response

    September 11, 2019LiDestri Food and Drink

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We would benefit to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at feedback@lidestrifoods.com

  4. "Not a bad place to work hrs sucked though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Forklift Driver 

    I worked at LiDestri Food and Drink full-time

    Pros

    Lots of work, good pay, every other weekend off

    Cons

    Working 4 days 12hrs shift

    LiDestri Food and Drink2019-06-25

    LiDestri Food and Drink Response

    September 11, 2019LiDestri Food and Drink

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We truly appreciate your efforts in adjusting to this unique schedule. If you would like to provide further feedback, please connect with us at feedback@lidestrifoods.com

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Giovanni’s kids are in over their head!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office in Greece, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LiDestri Food and Drink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really good people outside very immature senior leadership group. Love my people I work with. All really care.

    Cons

    Leadership group. No good leadership. Rely heavily on senior team. Senior team doesn’t have the maturity needed. HR fakes good Glassdoor reviews.

    Advice to Management

    Hire someone that actually has experience leading a company like ours. Before it’s too late.

    LiDestri Food and Drink2019-07-23
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Looking back on my experience.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisory in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LiDestri Food and Drink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The following review is purely an opinion based on my personal experience working at LiDestri Food & Drink over the past number of years. While the larger portion of my review will focus on areas of opportunities I would be dismissed if I didn't highlight that the general workforce while often unheard and unrepresented are some of the finest and most genuinely good people I've had the fortune of working with.

    Cons

    My experiences at LiDestri Food & Drink can be summarized as learning how to operate in difficult circumstances, developing thick skin and ultimately moving on to greener pastures. The last several years in particular seemed to bring about a lot of turnover, most of which was firings. Yet, despite the turnover there was very little happening to train or develop the successors, many of whom were trust into... managerial positions. The leadership team at the company had been touting "LiDestri values" as part of the company's revitalization internally but based on observing the people who came and went it was obvious that either the values were subject to wide interpretation or the decision makers weren't in touch. Most frustrating, only a few people in the inner leadership circle had influence with the ownership. As a result the majority of hard working, good intentions folks often went without a voice and to an informed observer ownership exhibited a real lack of understanding of where the problems (and opportunities) were. The company is utilizing a top down approach to problem solving wherein the top is identifying the problems and tasking the bottom to perform better. And accordingly, blame always seemed to flow one direction, top to bottom. From my perspective had the guidance and decision making been better it might have better masked the organizational flaws that I found so frustrating. The reality, the company lacks strong leaders. Ownership burned a lot of bridges in with good employees the last several years. The values they keep promoting are too often used as justification for the turnover. They try to claim that the people they are turning over didn’t live their values, which from the inside is hardly believable as most of the employees that I knew would agree that far more of the "good" employees have exited than "bad". Leadership has aggressively promoted the company as being innovative. And why not, innovation is critical to change (and it sounds goods from a marketing perspective). It's unclear whether they'll actually be able to innovate or if they'll simply continue to pretend. If it's pretend, we'll soon know in 10-15 years when/if the company is sold off. Take my opinion for whatever you may, but if you're young, educated and looking for an opportunity, before you jump into employment make sure you've done your homework. Know what you're getting into and when/if you get that inclination that something's not quite right, trust your instinct and do what you know if best for you and your family. Something that a previous employee once said that stays with me is, “no one gets to retire here unless they are willing to accept being underpaid and keep to themselves”. Ownership nor their inner circle admitted responsibility for shrinking margins, inefficiencies or high turnover in my tenure with the firm. It was a constant game of blame and deflection throughout the managerial rank and file. In my experience and opinion, the company is far from a desirable place to build a career at this time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See the "pro's" and "con's" commentary above... Pay less attention to Glassdoor and more attention to your people.

    LiDestri Food and Drink2019-06-05

    LiDestri Food and Drink Response

    June 27, 2019LiDestri Food and Drink

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Reading this review about your experience here is tough knowing the environment we are trying to foster and the changes we have made toward creating this. We believe the changes we have implemented in the past several years position ...

    Show More
  7. "It’s hot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operator 

    I worked at LiDestri Food and Drink full-time

    Pros

    Good pay. Decent benefits. Good experience

    Cons

    Poor culture. Hot/difficult working conditions

    LiDestri Food and Drink2019-06-04

    LiDestri Food and Drink Response

    September 11, 2019LiDestri Food and Drink

    Thank you for taking the time to share your input. We are happy to hear the benefits, pay and work experience were positives for you. We appreciate your feedback regarding your work conditions and we would like to learn how we can improve. Please email us at feedback@lidestrifoods.com

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Company values not aligned with actions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LiDestri Food and Drink

    Pros

    Allows employees to work overtime (required), decent wage for required work

    Cons

    Long hours, forced overtime, poor safety, OHSA violations, mission does not match company actions, lack of process control.

    Advice to Management

    Increase knowledge of acceptable leadership practices, be consistent in policy enforcement for all levels

    LiDestri Food and Drink2019-05-04

    LiDestri Food and Drink Response

    May 7, 2019LiDestri Food and Drink

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! First and foremost, we appreciate you raising your concerns about safety with us. Safety is our most important outcome here and we take any concerns about safety very seriously. So that we may learn more about and address these ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "should be called Lie destri"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LiDestri Food and Drink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    alot of real good people workhere

    Cons

    company lies got review and no top scores given. no top scores are given to any one. went aobve and didnot get any raise dont trust hr

    Advice to Management

    stop lieing stop makiung us do overtime all the time

    LiDestri Food and Drink2019-02-16

    LiDestri Food and Drink Response

    February 25, 2019LiDestri Food and Drink

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. When decisions are made for our employees to work overtime, we look at many factors that impact this decision. We continuously look for ways to balance our customer and employee expectations and sometimes we achieve the perfect balance, ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Family Company with Strong Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LiDestri Food and Drink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Impressive people who are passionate about what they do Great family - leaders are approachable and down-to-earth Dynamic environment with very little bureaucracy Strong values that people are held accountable to Leadership development program and coaching for managers and supervisors to ensure they have the tools to lead people the right way An exciting strategy that positions us much better for the... future Cool products

    Show More

    Cons

    Not much that I see Maybe that things happen fast here, but sometimes it can seem a little too fast. But I'd rather move too fast than not fast enough.

    Advice to Management

    Great job transforming what was already a great company into a great company with a promising future. Continue to hire, promote and part ways according to the values

    LiDestri Food and Drink2018-10-26

    LiDestri Food and Drink Response

    October 31, 2018LiDestri Food and Drink

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you are enjoying your experience here. We are excited to hear you appreciate our company and values. If you have further feedback to share, please e-mail us at feedback@lidestrifoods.com

Found 71 reviews