Liaison Creative + Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor

Liaison Creative + Marketing Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Liaison Creative + Marketing CEO Dave Claunch
Dave Claunch
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "They offer great benefits, 100% paid Health insurance and 401k with matching(in 8 reviews)

  • "Whether you are contracted out off-site or full-time in the office, Liaison does a great job of creating a community and making you feel part of team(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons, just good things to say(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Art Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Liaison Creative + Marketing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been working with Liaison for a little over three years now and I've had a great experience. Everyone is so nice and they really go out of their way to make sure that you feel welcome and answer any questions that you may have. They even check in occasionally to make sure that you are happy in your role. Even my PM tells me how much she loves liaison and how responsive and easy they are to work with. The other big positives for me are that I get to work from home, I have a flexible schedule, and I get to work with some pretty awesome people. Can't ask for more than that!

    Cons

    I do wish that they had better family insurance options, but as a freelancer that is something that you get used to.

    Continue reading
    Liaison Creative + Marketing2019-07-15
  2. "Great company that values it's employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liaison Creative + Marketing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked at a lot of different places. Liaison feels like home. I've been here over 12 years - the longest I've worked anywhere. There is strong leadership with a clear vision and straight-forward, no nonsense approach. You know exactly what you are getting. They work hard to match your skills to a job where you will be successful. And you are treated like an adult and have the autonomy to chart your own course for success. The benefits are great - 100% employer paid option, plus 401k match. I hope to be here for another dozen years

    Cons

    Liaison provides on-site services for a variety of different clients. So depending on which corporate office you work at...you are subject that that company's culture and expectations. So you essentially have to wear two hats. The Liaison hat is much more stylish and usually fits better.

    Liaison Creative + Marketing2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Placements, But No Benefit to Being Laision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liaison Creative + Marketing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities at good companies Many companies treat you like standard employees Pay is fairly competitive

    Cons

    Benefits are insulting You get in trouble if they hear about you possibly working for the company you're embedded at, or asking about working for that company, or entertaining the idea of working at that company

    Continue reading
    Liaison Creative + Marketing2019-07-20
  4. "Solid Team and Good Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liaison Creative + Marketing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dependable long-term leadership team. Good guidance from recruiters on how to highlight skills and experience when applying for placements on client teams. Some WFH opportunities (depending on client). Over the past 15 years, I've worked with Liaison on three different large corporate client engagements, longest being several years. Referral bonus available.

    Cons

    As with any agency, client work comes and goes with budgets; sometimes that means slowdowns or layoffs.

    Liaison Creative + Marketing2019-07-09
  5. "A great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Art Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liaison Creative + Marketing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I’m a long-term employee with Liaision and it has been a great experience. They offer great benefits, 100% paid Health insurance and 401k with matching. CEO genuinely cares about the employees and staff is always supportive and available.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about my experience.

    Liaison Creative + Marketing2019-07-01

    Liaison Creative + Marketing Response

    July 22, 2019VP of HR

    You've been contributing to our success for more than 10 years and we couldn't do it without all of you! Thank you for being part of Liaison and for sharing feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Extremely Positive Environment with Passionate Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liaison Creative + Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment at Liaison is nothing but friendly and supportive. There are many opportunities for growth with relevant feedback and constant reassurance. The recruiters are dedicated to making the hiring process as easy and accessible as possible, in favor of those looking to work for Liaison. Recruiters take much time out of their days to give candidates the time they deserve to showcase their abilities and give them tools to succeed. There is constant self-reflection and brain-storming on how to improve as a company. Wages are more than fair and there is a clear effort to take care of the employees that they hire. Clients are well respected and prioritized by the Liaison Studio and Senior Management. The overall energy of the company is positive and sincere as there is a genuine passion for producing quality results in all areas. From the hiring process, to making new hires feel at home, to prioritizing deadlines for clients, to a hard working senior staff, Liaison strives to excel. Any room that they fall short is thoroughly discussed, reflected upon and improved for next time. Highly recommended for those seeking a positive environment that strives to exceed expectations.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about my experience

    Continue reading
    Liaison Creative + Marketing2019-06-27

    Liaison Creative + Marketing Response

    June 28, 2019VP of HR

    Thank you for the kind and thoughtful feedback. Liaison tries to be self-reflective and in a continual mode of improvement. We appreciate hearing where that is evident and where we can use development. We will focus more on transparency and communications. Thank you for all your contributions!

    Continue reading
  7. "So Far, So Good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer/Production Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liaison Creative + Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have to say that my position with Liaison is pretty great. I really enjoy working with the team at the company I was placed with, the work is sufficiently challenging without feeling overwhelming, and the flexibility of working from home has been a tremendous benefit for me at this point in my life. Despite other reviewer's complaints (including my own, below) about the insurance situation, it's worth noting that Liaison also offers optional dental and vision packages, life insurance, paid leave, 401k options, and flexible holiday hours (for example, as long as your supervisor allows, you could work Labor Day and use those holiday hours to take the day off for your birthday instead). And, having worked for other staffing agencies, most of them don't offer a 100% paid option of ANY kind, so hey -- it ain't perfect, but you're truly not going to find a better offer with a similar company. A lot of companies seem to ignore Glassdoor (if they are aware of it at all), and I have relied on it extensively for my last few job searches -- there have been more than a few job postings I didn't even bother applying for because of poor reviews here! But if you're reading this review, and others for Liaison, you know that they are very engaged and have written responses to many of the reviewers here. Not only are they taking the time to do that, but it seems like they actually take the criticisms to heart and are actively striving to be a better company.

    Cons

    As other reviewers have said, yes, insurance is 100% paid, but coverage is not the best (a few buy-up options are available, but they're quite expensive). If you rarely/never visit the doctor, and don't have any prescriptions on a regular basis, you might be okay with it. This is the only reason I'm hesitant to give a full five-star overall rating. But, as noted above, the fact that there even IS a fully-paid option is pretty unique. Because Liaison is similar to a staffing agency, your options for advancement, promotion or raises are not always clear. Some of their people do get hired on by their clients, though there's no defined timeline or guarantee that will necessarily happen (I guess some clients do not hire outside the contract with Liaison, so just make sure you're clear about your assignment, and know what your long and short-term goals are before accepting the job). And I don't know if it's quite a con, but once you start your assignment with Liaison, your day-to-day contact will be exclusively with the team at whatever company you end up working with. Liaison is not going to be checking-in/following up with you very often (and they are clear about this fact when you're brought on board). Which, if you want to be left alone and do the job you were hired to do without a regular "So, how's it going?" conversation, this is a perfect arrangement. But if you crave regular feedback or ongoing coaching of some kind, just know that it won't come from Liaison.

    Continue reading
    Liaison Creative + Marketing2019-07-11

    Liaison Creative + Marketing Response

    July 22, 2019VP of HR

    We appreciate your honest feedback. Based on the request from you and multiple others we will be looking at all insurance options when we renew benefits next year. All medical insurance is expensive these days, so we've tried to offer a basic plan for which we cover the full cost and a couple buy-up options for people who don't mind contributing to the cost for a more robust benefit. We hear you and will be asking for suggestions soon. Thank you for contributing to our team!

    Continue reading
  8. "Working here has made me question my life decisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Marketing Specialist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Liaison Creative + Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro of working here that I can find is that they KIND OF give you health insurance. It covers close to nothing and almost everything will be out of pocket but there is SOMETHING there.

    Cons

    This company has to be one of the worst I have ever worked for. I have been with them almost a full year and when I joined up they promised me the moon. Bonuses, raises, possible onboarding at the company I was contracting for. None of that has happened, in fact, I was told I wouldn't be onboarded, period. So now I have a job that pays less than what I was making before at a company where I have no future. Meanwhile Liaison sits back and collects money off of my employment. They are racking in so much cash and doing next to nothing as far as supporting its employees. It takes days to get answers from them about work issues or help with HR forms. I personally feel like this place is just here to take advantage of talented workers who will do all the work while giving a large percentage of their paycheck to them for doing nothing.

    Continue reading
    Liaison Creative + Marketing2019-06-18

    Liaison Creative + Marketing Response

    June 28, 2019VP of HR

    We are sorry that you feel so negatively about your experience with Liaison. If you are still a Liaison employee, we hope that you will contact us directly to discuss your specific situation, especially since what you describe is so far outside of what our other employees share with us. As for your specific complaints, we respectfully ask: if our employment offer was so much lower than your previous job and the health benefits so underwhelming, why did you accept the job? As for converting to work directly for our clients, some of our client agreements allow that and some don’t, which is why we are very up front and honest about it during the interview process. We do indeed make money on our employees’ work, as does every other company in the world, so we offer no apology for that. We do, however, have the lowest markup among all of our competitors and we work hard every day to prove our value to both our employees and our clients.

    Continue reading
  9. "False Promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Designer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Liaison Creative + Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a job, but barely.

    Cons

    I found out from talking to my coworker that we are paid vastly different amounts for the same role at the same company. The job is not what they described to me in the interview. I feel like they just wanted to get it filled asap so they can start getting their bonus. I am not sure how much Liaison makes per employee but based on what we get paid I can only imagine they are getting a pretty big chunk.

    Continue reading
    Liaison Creative + Marketing2019-06-24

    Liaison Creative + Marketing Response

    June 28, 2019VP of HR

    Equity and fairness are important values for us. If your co-worker is making a different salary, it’s because your background, experience, hard and soft skills, and abilities are more different from that person’s than you might realize. We do make money on our employees (like all businesses who hope to survive), but we have a demonstrably lower markup than anyone else in the marketplace, especially when you consider the cost of our employee benefits program which includes paid leave, 401(k) retirement plan, and health insurance. If you object to that, then we encourage you to work as a freelancer so that you can earn 100% of what you want to charge for your services. Meanwhile, we’ll continue to do our best to show our value to both our clients and our employees while being honest, fair, and attentive to the people we serve.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liaison Creative + Marketing full-time

    Pros

    Great staff who are advocates for their employees. Benefits are good and employee events are great.

    Cons

    Recruiters could be more responsive.

    Liaison Creative + Marketing2018-07-11

    Liaison Creative + Marketing Response

    July 16, 2018VP of HR

    I'm happy to hear you had a positive experience. We appreciate the feedback and hope you stay in touch!

    Continue reading
Found 45 reviews