Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews in Boston, MA | Glassdoor

Liberty Mutual Insurance Boston Reviews

Updated March 24, 2017
193 reviews

Filter

Filter

Boston, MA Area

4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Liberty Mutual Insurance President & CEO David H. Long
David H. Long
109 Ratings

193 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • They are concerned about work/life balance (in 258 reviews)

  • It's an overall great company with tons of great benefits (in 230 reviews)

Cons
  • Tough work/life balance which lead to high turnover (in 211 reviews)

  • The culture at Liberty is competitive and there is no work life balance (in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Generally great company except for healthcare benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portsmouth, NH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great working flexibility and work/life balance (at least in IT - can't speak for the markets), determined to be cutting edge in IT

    Cons

    Health insurance offerings have gone from top notch to bottom of the barrel; certain areas seem to have difficulty supporting career growth for women; limited management opportunities in IT due to organizational changes

    Advice to Management

    Bring back great health insurance, do a better job of supporting career growth for women in all areas of the organization


  2. "A wonderful work environment and company culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Boston, MA
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good amount of time off, helpful coworkers, everybody's will to help, very educational, opportunities to do impactful work while still an intern, fun company culture

    Cons

    Limited options for full time employment within marketing, a lot of approvals necessary for anything outwardly facing


  3. "Good Company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Portsmouth, NH
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits and competitive pay. Lots of recognition for those who go above and beyond. Management cares about all employees.

    Cons

    Due to a multitude of factors, our health insurance plans have become more expensive and don't cover as much. They have also significantly decreased the pension and set the 401k match to a fixed amount (used to have a discretionary match based on company performance).

    Advice to Management

    Review health plan and see if we can get better coverage. I know of friends who work for smaller companies and get 100% coverage after their deductible.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Mar 14, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for the kind words. We're so glad to hear you are satisfied overall! We also appreciated the feedback on benefits. Your constructive feedback helps us to improve the employee experience.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Pros and Cons"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of bright people. High expectations. Good access to resources

    Cons

    Values consultant opinions over employee opinions. Lots of reorganizations leads to multiple managers and inconsistent feedback with no real grooming for next role.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Mar 14, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for sharing your experience. It's good to hear that your outlook is positive. We do our best to ensure that employees feel empowered. We'd encourage you to talk with your manager about your ... More


  6. "Executive Compensation Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Compensation Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Executive Compensation Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Organizational culture and sense of community; opportunities for growth and development

    Cons

    Large organization can take longer to get to completion

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Mar 14, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your Liberty Mutual career has been positive!


  7. Helpful (6)

    "Home Officer is solid"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Flexible work arrangements. Really good culture. Great work space. Trainings are great. Benefits are largely good -- although like any company watching expenses they seem to want to roll back things every year.

    Cons

    Promotions are few and far between for most folks. Field office roles are subpar to home office. There's also a lot of people who make into mid-level and even senior manager roles that clearly aren't the best fit so there's a lot of highly paid people who add little value (i.e. oversized corporation)


  8. "Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Analyst in Portsmouth, NH
    Current Employee - Network Analyst in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    many learning opportunities in the IT world. Good pay and Good time off

    Cons

    Information is not freely shared from management to workers. There seems to be a disconnect.

    Advice to Management

    share info

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Mar 14, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your time with us has been positive! We appreciate your input on communication. We continue working to improve the way information ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "actuarial analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    fairly paid,work life balance,flexible working hour

    Cons

    strict exam policy,high peer pressure,

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Mar 14, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. So sorry to read that you wouldn't recommend us at this point. We hope we can turn that around.


  10. "Good place to start!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Portsmouth, NH
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work life balance, benefits, managers that really care about you

    Cons

    Some of the technology is reaaaalllyyy old (Cobal...)

    Advice to Management

    Tinker time!

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Feb 6, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for sharing your review. We believe in empowering employees to be physically, emotionally and financially healthy. We continually invest in technology to improve our customer and user ... More


  11. Helpful (3)

    "Solid company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - paid at or above market
    - coordinated on-boarding and new employee training
    - well structured teams and expectations
    -onsite cafeteria with rotating menu of fresh-made food and staple options.

    Cons

    - This is a HUGE company, which means you're just one more person in the machine. The on-boarding was well designed, but not completely applicable to your specific job. Reports and metrics are all that matter
    -yearly reviews are ranked numbers that multiple your bonus potential. Not every manager ranks the same, and they have HUGE impact on your bonus/raises.
    - Cubicle land. Cubicles everywhere and whispers all day long. If you like that type of environment, you're all set. If you want to chat occasionally with other humans, or maybe even get to know your coworkers enough to grab lunch together, this may not be the best environment
    -because everything is so siloed, not much opportunity to switch departments/markets.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jan 17, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thank you for your review! We're happy you were satisfied with your experience here. We work hard to provide an open, positive work environment that employees can be proud of. We always welcome ... More



Showing 193 of 2,869 reviews
Reset Filters