Liberty Mutual Insurance Claims Adjuster Reviews | Glassdoor

Liberty Mutual Insurance Claims Adjuster Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Liberty Mutual Insurance President & CEO David H. Long
David H. Long
60 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Claim department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very well-managed department that promotes from within and rewards dedicated employees.

    Cons

    Our new low-walled cubicles have a lack of privacy.

    Advice to Management

    Bring our old cubicles back

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-09-07
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Property Claims Adjuster in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible. Work from home. The company really cares

    Cons

    Stressful job no real sense of completion work never ends

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2020-01-01
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home 2 to 3 days. M-F week. Hourly. Flex schedule.

    Cons

    Heavy workload, metrics that are harder and harder to meet, not the warmest atmosphere, managers are not super approachable.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work on your warmth and how you even out your good and bad news.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2020-01-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It was only a matter of time - Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Mesa, AZ
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only real perks aside then getting the Fortune 50 company on your resume, would be work from home, the 401k matching and the training. Some of the people are decent when you actually get the chance to see them; but you rarely even associate with anyone even on on your own team let alone others.

    Cons

    Company needs to focus more on their employees, proper hiring and the workload. It’s a huge company so take that as it is, you’re basically a number and metric. The workload has become absolutely unbearable since Liberty adjusters started handling Safeco customer claims and vice verse. Of course they say it’s supposed to level the workload but try quadrupling it. Oh, and ya absolutely no overtime, so good luck. The ONE team approach each team manager boasts is a crock and pray they like you. If not, that favoritism card will be pulled faster than you can imagine and the team manager controls workloads (even though they claim it’s level). There is a reason more people are quitting faster they can hire. Also, don’t voice a concern or you paint a huge target on your back and good luck with trying to promote (That’s also you’re team managers choice). Been with 4 TMs within 4 years and only 2 were solid and yet no longer with the company....hmm

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your team members as they will leave you or give you terrible surveys which we all know, is even worse. Team managers and this company live and die for surveys so keep that in member fellow pawns. Maybe hire more talent so customers can get proper service. Also, so the employees aren’t pulling their hair out with immeasurable amounts of work.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2020-01-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "People leave as adjusters as fast as they are hired and trained"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Warrenville, IL
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Experience as a claims adjuster so you can move on elsewhere.

    Cons

    No work life balance, no looking inward for solutions. Claims adjusting at Liberty is a burn out role. Churn and burn the employee.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the myth known as multi tasking, Any study shows 40% reduction in productivity and a significant increase in errors.. We are on 5 instant response tools while attempting to make serious liability decisions; requiring concentration. How do we do It? Many work from home off the clock, others burn out, then leave. After 4 years I work with one person with whom I was originally hired. Circle of Excellence winner just left, ask yourself why? Love the work, hate the unrealistic expectations. They have a NPS survey they send out to the adjusters; the managers openly let you know they take the beating if the company gets a negative score so no one answers honestly.

    Show More
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2020-01-05
  6. "Worker’s Compensation Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Workers Comp Claims Adjuster 

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, plenty vacation time, and many networking opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance is a struggle, high case loads

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-11-21
  7. "Challenging work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Pay -Opportunities -Challenging work environment

    Cons

    -High Volume/Workload -If you are not involved or fall behind, you will struggle.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-11-06
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Liability Claims Adjuster in Somerset, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Caring Management - Always respected work/life balance and provided any training/assistance/accommodations they could to help you succeed. • Competitive salary and benefits.

    Cons

    • New centralized operations facility required closure of some eastern regional offices, resulting in layoffs. There was ample warning and time provided, while relocation and lateral move opportunities were offered for those who were affected by closures.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-10-20
  9. "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home flexibility and solid compensation

    Cons

    Very busy. More work than most can handle

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-09-20
  10. "Good pay, long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster 

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, salary, and people.

    Cons

    Long work hours and managers only seemed to care about how to advance themselves.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-08-28
Found 147 reviews