Liberty Mutual Insurance Insurance Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Liberty Mutual Insurance Insurance Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
72%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Liberty Mutual Insurance President & CEO David H. Long
David H. Long
28 Ratings
  1. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Field Insurance Representative in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your guaranteed base salary is nice

    Cons

    Base salary could be higher

    Advice to Management

    Rise the base salary

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2020-01-02
  2. "Great company with good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension plan Good comp structure Support from management

    Cons

    Schedule Work on weekends Low closure rate

    Advice to Management

    More flexible schedules

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-07-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great training, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training is thorough, if performing well you can move up quickly

    Cons

    Inconsistent standards, commission plan changes yearly, some supervisors encourage sales no matter what while others focus on integrity, your job performance is based solely on your numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Commit to holding everyone to the same standards

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-06-11
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Never paid on time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance part-time

    Pros

    A good commision structure, if the commision is actually paid on time.

    Cons

    My experience at Liberty Mutual has been horrible. Management, Human resources, and payroll have completely dropped the ball when it comes to part time employees. I began working on may 15th. I agreed to work full time during training since i wasnt licensed. I confirmed with my recruiter that i would recieve full time pay during this period. Not only was my pay miscalculated (almost $5/hr less than what i agreed to.) I did not get my first pay check until 6 weeks after working because the managers did not put part time employees in the system. I asked human resources, and managers if they would cut me a check for my hours i worked, and i was told to wait until next pay period. The people hired with me got 3 paychecks before i got 1. Which of course put me in a hole. After waiting six weeks for a check, i get it and the hourly rate is short. It takes another month for them to pay me back pay. After training i go back to part time. I should have been getting a shift dif since july for working weekends. I have not received it yet and its now september. Escalated this issue to a manager and still no fix. I made goal last month to earn a commission. Once again there was an issue because my manager did not put my goal in the system correctly. Mind you i confirmed my goal with 3 different supervisors and this manager at the beginning of the month. Once our commision pay out is calculated i realize there is another mistake since mine says $0. Escalated the issue again and rather then them agreeing to pay me on the scheduled date. They tell me to wait until the end of october and it will be added to my next bonus. I have bills, i plan for money thats expected to be recieved and factor all of this into my budget. No one cares about overdraft fees, late payment fees, or interest accumulated because my bills are not being paid on time because Liberty mutual cant get it right. I believe this is against the law and its so unexpected from a fourtune 400 company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be sincere in fixing issues. I feel like i have been blown off several times and all i am asking for is to get paid for hours i work, and bonuses i have earned on time. "You just have to wait" mentality is not cutting in and i am thinking about taking legal action at this point.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2017-09-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Watching over you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Lake Mary, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits 401k that's about all I can say for pros can't think of anymore to say twenty words is a lot

    Cons

    They watch over you like you a child would be nice if they didn't micro manage you. Should just let you do your job and not second guess

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2017-06-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Insurance Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Freehold, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, health, dental, matching 401k. Good training and support. The team is very supportive of each other and they do provide many tools to allow for success

    Cons

    Very high pressure to keep selling and make quota. Had a very supportive sales manager but then we had a change in management and the next one was clueless.

    Advice to Management

    Don't bring sales managers in that have never sold themselves. There is no respect by the sales team.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2017-06-06
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Insurance Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Suwanee, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Training program very detailed.

    Cons

    Needs to sell more than one product. Cant compete with the market. Very college base office environment.

    Advice to Management

    Don't allow people to take other other peoples leads.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2017-03-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Insurance Sales Reprenentative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Insurance Sales Representative in Lake Mary, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive staff, managers, supervisors.

    Cons

    Redundant, high goals, constantly changing

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2016-11-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Insurance Sales Representative in Mendota Heights, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance

    Pros

    Great opportunity to run your own business, but with the financial resources and backing of a large corporation. Salary plus unlimited commission. They really care about their employees and not only compensate them well, but offer great benefits and employee resources.

    Cons

    You are personally accountable for your own sales results (which I actually find as a pro)

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2016-08-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Selma, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company has its corporate issues like all companies but the product is solid and this company goes beyond just the bottom line of sales.

    Cons

    Heavy in the corporate structure that tends to tie a lot of hands. Nothing bad enough to quit over, however.

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate more on finding lead sources for your agents and boost morale without being told. This is advice is good for all sales leadership, though.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2016-06-17
Found 47 reviews