Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews

Updated July 18, 2017
616 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Liberty Mutual Insurance President & CEO David H. Long
David H. Long
347 Ratings

616 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • They are concerned about work/life balance (in 294 reviews)

  • It's an overall great company with tons of great benefits (in 243 reviews)

Cons
  • Biggest growth opportunity would be the work life balance associated with positions in the Direct Response Center (in 225 reviews)

  • No work/life balance, in the 18 months I worked there was unable to get a day off (in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (21)

    "Excellent Company With Great Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Irving, TX
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The Management - They actually cared for their employees.
    The Pay - You received performance raises and bumps with positions, but the pay was still lower than average.
    Morale - Great!!!

    Cons

    Upward Mobility - Several positions were lateral moves or there wasn't a lot of opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    With the new center, there should be an opportunity for more positions and employee pay.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your time at Liberty was positive and that you'd recommend us! We appreciate reading your thoughts on compensation. The input is... More


  2. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Dover, NH
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Dover, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance (More than a year)

    Pros

    People
    Flexibility
    Communication
    Standing/ sitting desk
    Weekly meetings allow for idea collaboration between departments.
    A streamlining process

    Cons

    It takes a bit too long for changes.
    Technology is 10 years behind

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in tech, work smarter not harder.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks so much for your review. We continually invest in technology to improve our customer and user experiences as we evolve in a dynamic tech environment and always welcome opportunities to improve.

  3. "Liberty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great salary, work schedule and benefits.

    Cons

    Hard to change career within company.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    It's great to hear that you felt confident and valued as an employee. Thanks for sharing!


  4. "Excellent company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Advisor in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Advisor in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They really care about your career growth.
     In my experience liberty has been a fantastic career choice. They love their customers and treat their employees extremely well.

    Cons

    Biggest growth opportunity would be the work life balance associated with positions in the Direct Response Center. Liberty has consistently moved closer to solving this.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to insert more fun into our daily functions. Otherwise your doing a great job!

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thank you for your feedback here! We're happy you've been satisfied with your experience at Liberty Mutual, and we look forward to continuing to invest in you!


  5. "Technical Claims Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Claims in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Technical Claims in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Management very willing to help and wanting to help you move up in the company, room for growth, company allows movement into other departments and allows you to explore

    Cons

    Sometimes can feel stuck, not so much due to the company, just due to the job type

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks so much for your review! We're invested in developing the incredibly talented people who work at Liberty. Glad that was your experience!


  6. "Supervising Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervising Agent in Grand Rapids, MI
    Current Employee - Supervising Agent in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity to make a lot of money by investing your time and following the systems to have money now and the future

    Cons

    Takes time to start making money and you have to be wiling to work and be flexible it is not a 9-5 job

    Advice to Management

    Recruit

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thank you for your feedback here! We're happy you've been satisfied with your experience at Liberty Mutual, and we look forward to continuing to invest in you!


  7. "Great Company... Tons of Growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Weston, MA
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Weston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Industry leader, Tons of growth potential, strong leadership, great coworkers, meaningful work

    Cons

    high workload, high and sometimes unreasonable expectations

  8. "Great pay, great people, great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Loyalty Operations in Liberty Lake, WA
    Former Intern - Loyalty Operations in Liberty Lake, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance as an intern

    Pros

    It is a challenging environment. The company wants you to grow and so they will give you projects to work on independently and that will require you to push yourself. The people I worked with were the reason why I wanted to show up to work everyday. I visited the Seattle offices and the work environment was the same. You get flexible time off and if you don't use it they pay you for it.

    Cons

    There wasn't a direct hire position for this internship.


  9. "Call Center Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Weston, MA
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Weston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very transparent and ethical work environment, Fair pay/benefits, continuous learning environment, always sharing feedback

    Cons

    There are no cons for me overall

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jun 22, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for sharing your review. We believe in empowering employees to be physically, emotionally and financially healthy. We're glad to hear you're satisfied with the rewards packages we have to... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Proud to work for a customer-centric and philanthropic Fortune 100 company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compensation Consultant in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Compensation Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The environment is collaborative and the pay is competitive. There are also more and more global opportunities as Liberty continues to expand worldwide. Senior Leadership seems to really care for their employees, soliciting feedback in an effort to improve the employee experience.

    Cons

    Change in organizational structure is frequent causing unnecessary angst. Development both for employees and management could be better. Medical benefits are somewhat expensive for the employees.

    Advice to Management

    Spans and layers seems to be top of mind as of late however I see development of management as a key area of opportunity at Liberty. Allowing ICs/STPs to gain managerial experience with fewer direct reports initially could really help to develop a strong management pipeline.


Showing 616 of 3,114 reviews
Reset Filters