Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews

Updated July 24, 2017
618 reviews

Filter

Filter


618 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • They are concerned about work/life balance (in 298 reviews)

  • It's an overall great company with tons of great benefits (in 243 reviews)

Cons
  • Biggest growth opportunity would be the work life balance associated with positions in the Direct Response Center (in 225 reviews)

  • No work/life balance, in the 18 months I worked there was unable to get a day off (in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good training and support from management, good benefits. Positive work environment.

    Cons

    Can't think of any at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jun 14, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thank you for your feedback here! We're happy you were satisfied with your experience at Liberty Mutual.


  2. "I am extremely satisfied with the way Liberty Mutual treats its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Associate in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Human Resources Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits, work life balance, flexible work arrangements, employee satisfaction, great culture, good managers, great location, successful company, competitive.

    Cons

    Some people feel that there is favoritism among managers, I personally have not experienced it but I know it is a concern for some.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jun 14, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    We're glad you've been satisfied with your experience at Liberty Mutual, and we look forward to continuing to invest in you. Thank you for sharing your input. Leadership effectiveness is an area of... More

  3. "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility is amazing within the company

    Cons

    No advancement within the department.

    Advice to Management

    no comment

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    We appreciate your feedback! We know how much our employees value their lives outside of the workplace, which is why we provide life balance resources as part of our wellness program. Thanks for... More


  4. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Liberty has a great work/life balance, great benefits (401k/dental/vision), and competitive salaries as well as a laid back dress code and environment.

    Cons

    It can be a stressful. There is a lot of pressure for you to perform, as well as a lot of work coming at you fast in a short amount of time. You might not be able to enjoy the money you make.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working hard to keep the company running smoothly. Do a great job in troubleshooting issues and coming up with the most rational plan to make sure everyone is satisfied.


  5. "Finance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I support teams with innovation and digital leadership .
    Performance oriented teams with excellent cooperation.
    Our company is the most important player.

    Cons

    Management support our innovation organization with excellent cooperation and flexible environment .
    Our company support innovative customer experience technology.
    Good place!

    Advice to Management

    Innovation and digital technology driven leadership with excellent cooperation and performance by teamwork.
    I support talented oriented people.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    May 24, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    It's great to hear that our employees feel confident and valued. Thanks for sharing!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Inside Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Ahwatukee, AZ
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Ahwatukee, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and competitive salary with opportunity for bonuses as well as advancement.

    Cons

    Variation in quality of leads

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    May 17, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your time at Liberty Mutual has been positive!


  7. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Loved working there, great place to work

    Cons

    Big company so things tend to move slowly

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    May 17, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your time at Liberty Mutual was positive!

  8. "Great Training, Wonderful People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great place to get in-depth insurance knowledge. The company is extremely ethical and the people are really smart.

    Cons

    Highly bureaucratic. Could be more nimble.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    May 10, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thank you for your feedback here! We're happy you were satisfied with your experience at Liberty Mutual.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Liberty Is What You Make Of It!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plano, TX
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Competitive Salary
    Pension and 401k Plan
    Diversity
    Employee Programs
    Room For Growth
    Training and Development Courses
    Supervisors, Managers and Director stop by often and say Hello
    Director Gets Involved in Team Huddles
     I have personally been promoted twice in 6 months.

    Cons

    I am sure you can find something that you don't agree with any company. However, Liberty Mutual has a means to get yourself heard, no need to complain, just provide a solution. I am blessed work with true professionals.

    Advice to Management

    You can see and sense that our management is ENGAGED and ALWAYS looking for ways to make things better. Continue to hire people that truly want to help people.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    May 1, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thank you for your feedback here! We're happy you've been satisfied with your experience at Liberty, and we look forward to continuing to invest in you!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    -9k/year tuition reimbursement if you want to get your masters degree (100% covered: tuition, books, fees). 9k is dispersed each year until the balance is completed paid off.
    -3% 401k match and 4.5% cash balance pension (both increasing in 2018)
    -competitive salaries
    -super diverse workforce, high sense of equality
    -a few offices have open working arrangements
    -working from home is supported

    Cons

    -PPO is going away in 2018, leaving the HSA as the only option
    -HR can be overbearing at times with their policies

    Advice to Management

    -Let IT employees dress casually
    -Let IT employees contribute to opensource communities

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    May 10, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks so much for your review! We're invested in developing the incredibly talented people who work at Liberty.


Showing 618 of 3,118 reviews
Reset Filters