Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews

Updated November 15, 2017
681 reviews

Filter

Filter


681 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Biggest growth opportunity would be the work life balance associated with positions in the Direct Response Center (in 237 reviews)

  • No work/life balance, in the 18 months I worked there was unable to get a day off (in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Dover, NH
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Dover, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Core technologies are constantly being upgraded to the latest and greatest, and there are plenty of opportunities to move around. Innovations, changes, upgrades, etc, are always considered, and management will work with you on new ideas.

    Cons

    Pretty big barriers to setting up development. PCI can be a BIG pain.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your time at Liberty Mutual has been positive!


  2. Helpful (38)

    "Excellent Company With Great Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Irving, TX
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The Management - They actually cared for their employees.
    The Pay - You received performance raises and bumps with positions, but the pay was still lower than average.
    Morale - Great!!!

    Cons

    Upward Mobility - Several positions were lateral moves or there wasn't a lot of opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    With the new center, there should be an opportunity for more positions and employee pay.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your time at Liberty was positive and that you'd recommend us! We appreciate reading your thoughts on compensation. The input is... More

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Dover, NH
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Dover, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance (More than a year)

    Pros

    People
    Flexibility
    Communication
    Standing/ sitting desk
    Weekly meetings allow for idea collaboration between departments.
    A streamlining process

    Cons

    It takes a bit too long for changes.
    Technology is 10 years behind

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in tech, work smarter not harder.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks so much for your review. We continually invest in technology to improve our customer and user experiences as we evolve in a dynamic tech environment and always welcome opportunities to improve.


  4. "Positive review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Employees, hiring process, benefits, and training for new hires

    Cons

    None right at the moment

    Advice to Management

    Better on boarding process

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 26, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review, and for your comments related to new employee on-boarding. We’re glad to know your time at Liberty Mutual has been positive!


  5. "Great Internship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Recommends

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance as an intern

    Pros

    Great projects, excited team, given meaningful work and had a very supportive team

    Cons

    No cons! It was really a great experience.


  6. "Liberty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great salary, work schedule and benefits.

    Cons

    Hard to change career within company.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    It's great to hear that you felt confident and valued as an employee. Thanks for sharing!


  7. "Associate Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Very responsible company and great place to work

    Cons

    Nothing really. Great company overall.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your time at Liberty Mutual was positive!

  8. "Excellent company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Advisor in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Advisor in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They really care about your career growth.
     In my experience liberty has been a fantastic career choice. They love their customers and treat their employees extremely well.

    Cons

    Biggest growth opportunity would be the work life balance associated with positions in the Direct Response Center. Liberty has consistently moved closer to solving this.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to insert more fun into our daily functions. Otherwise your doing a great job!

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thank you for your feedback here! We're happy you've been satisfied with your experience at Liberty Mutual, and we look forward to continuing to invest in you!


  9. "Great vision and a Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    LMI is pursuing a world class competitive position with a sharp focus on top notch talent acquisition and mobility. Company leadership has been visionary with the company riding through cleanly major disruptions in market and economy. Strongly positioned with international and domestic P&C, Life and Group operations. Bonus program, talent mobility and development and a growing focus on insurance and non-insurance innovation in particular are a plus. My own experience was excellent.

    Cons

    Lately, the frequency of restructuring has been a concern for employees. This is justifiable to prepare for market conditions/disruptions and position for success, but nonetheless, the employee experience is impacted.

    Advice to Management

    Liberty Mutual has always had a strong creed and mission. As that mission diversifies with the changes in the P&C business, keep the creed and its focus on others foremost.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    It's great to hear that you felt confident and valued. Thanks for sharing!


  10. "Technical Claims Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Claims in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Technical Claims in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Management very willing to help and wanting to help you move up in the company, room for growth, company allows movement into other departments and allows you to explore

    Cons

    Sometimes can feel stuck, not so much due to the company, just due to the job type

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks so much for your review! We're invested in developing the incredibly talented people who work at Liberty. Glad that was your experience!


Showing 681 of 3,385 reviews
Reset Filters