Liberty Mutual Insurance "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Liberty Mutual Insurance Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 30 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Liberty Mutual Insurance CEO David H. Long
David H. Long
2,044 Ratings
Pros
  • "Striving for a good work/life balance for everyone(in 483 reviews)

  • "Great benefits (work flex schedules, maternity/paternity leaves, etc(in 353 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Engineer 

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance, great team

    Cons

    Laid back, lack of tools and process documentations

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-07-03
  2. "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Claims Examiner 

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Work Life Balance and pay is good!

    Cons

    Promotions can be somewhat slow

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-11-26
  3. "Liberty Mutual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great work life/balance for IT

    Cons

    lots of organizational changes in the past few years

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-11-21
  4. "Little Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Team Manager Property in Lake Mary, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, able to help your own team succeed

    Cons

    Little support from upper management, little work life balance (upper management stated team level managers should work 12-13 hours a day x 7 days a week. Lots of politics to contend with.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like they matter. You say it is "not about the numbers" but your actions do not coincide with that.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-11-30
  5. "Great benefits and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Seattle, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Even as an intern, I got PTO each month which I could cash in at the end. Really nice coworkers and mentorship program.

    Cons

    I can't think of any because I wasn't at the company for long.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-11-07
  6. "Worker’s Compensation Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Workers Comp Claims Adjuster 

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, plenty vacation time, and many networking opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance is a struggle, high case loads

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-11-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Work life balance: ability to WFH (full or part-time) & compressed work weeks -Great community, easy to make friends if you stick around in your role -Salary and benefits are competitive (tuition reimbursement, 401k, bonuses etc) Hard workers are rewarded. -Managers care about their employees

    Cons

    -High turnover (especially young analysts) -Restructuring occurs often (about every other year). Layoffs do occur, especially recently. -Health insurance could be better

    Advice to Management

    Keep your decisions transparent. Don't hire more people than you can support.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-11-02
  8. "Solid Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Counsel 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance. If work is done not a lot of micromanaging.

    Cons

    Very corporate management of non corporate elements. I.e. legal practice is done according to system guidelines and checkboxes that can be cumbersome, time consuming, and impractical for actual legal practice

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-11-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work but not much upward mobility in certain departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Talent Acquisition in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful office in Boston, free coffee, work life balance and work from home. Great 401k match and COMPANY PAID PENSION (this is rare these days)

    Cons

    Salary increases are not good for individual contributors and do not keep up with cost of living or other people coming into the organization. Salary bands go up every year but not for internal employees who are already here. Bonuses are not aligned with industry standard for certain grade levels. Health insurance is sub par for an insurance company

    Advice to Management

    Focus on increasing opportunities at higher grade levels, keep things consistent within each department - too many teams have different rules - and keep promoting from within

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-10-23
  10. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Tech Start in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of internship programming, really care that you're learning, work life balance

    Cons

    Lots of people work from home, personally find it harder to get help over skype

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-10-21
Found 769 reviews