Liberty Tax Service Reviews | Glassdoor

Liberty Tax Service Reviews

Updated December 8, 2018
718 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Liberty Tax Service CEO Nicole Ossenfort
Nicole Ossenfort
9 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Extremely low pay compared to market trends & benefits are self-funded which causes employees to pay more than just a copay" (in 38 reviews)

  • "mostly part time / seasonal positions" (in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Tax Preparer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Liberty Tax Service part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Positive attitude and great people to work with!

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    Liberty Tax Service Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – HR Generalist

    Thank you for your great feedback!


  2. "Officer manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Tax Service full-time

    Pros

    Each location is independently owned and operated so you get the "mom and pop" attitude. However, there is support from corporate so you also get the corporate feel.

    Cons

    Each office is independently owned and operated so your pay is on the lower end of the spectrum.

    Advice to Management

    Pay better

    Liberty Tax Service Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – HR Generalist

    Thanks for your feedback- we do pride ourselves on our great support system which includes great employees! I will be passing along your advice to management.

  3. "Working was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wavior in Pittsfield, IL
    Former Employee - Wavior in Pittsfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Tax Service part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great attitude, caring people, great customers

    Cons

    Weather wise for waviers could be a little better but also should be told on weather days to have extra warmth

    Advice to Management

    Keep your workers and customers warm. Waviers especially with them standing in the cold wet weather


  4. "Office Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Tax Service part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work. Relax atmosphere.

    Cons

    None. Everything is great. Great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Liberty Tax Service Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – HR Generalist

    Our Office Assistants ROCK! Thanks for your feedback.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Preparer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Tax Preparer in Victorville, CA
    Former Employee - Seasonal Tax Preparer in Victorville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Tax Service part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working with the community. Great co-workers.

    Cons

    Hours promised were not given. As a preparer you were required to do marketing by going to businesses and homes in the area to hand out fliers. Pay was minimal and bonus was not as explained during training.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest that employee's that are new will not be working 40 hours a week and that the pay will be minimum wage. Do not require employees to do cleaning, marketing and other things they were not hired to do.

    Liberty Tax Service Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – HR Generalist

    Hi reviewer- thank you so very much for submitting your review. This information is critical to our Home Office so we can improve our tax preparer program and our on-boarding process.


  6. "Tax Preparer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Liberty Tax Service part-time

    Pros

    Not much, just the money you make

    Cons

    Offices are badly organized and managed


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Underpaid and underappreciated employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Analyst in Virginia Beach, VA
    Former Employee - Tax Analyst in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Tax Service full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The Liberty Tax Corporate Office is flexible with their employees work schedules and time off needs and fosters good working relationships.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay compared to market trends & benefits are self-funded which causes employees to pay more than just a copay. There seems to be no value in loyalty there anymore, but there once was. Career advancement within the company is very limited. Unfortunately, employees have to leave to advance in the workforce.

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating the employees building your software product as dispensable since without them you wouldn't have a tax product to support your franchise offices. Stop padding your pockets and invest in your loyal employees to ensure retention. Pay attention to what employees have to say (don't just say it - actually do it). Stop hiding compliance issues. Regain some sense of normalcy and employee incentives. Improve employee morale and retain the employees who are loyal and have a tremendous amount of product knowledge. The culture there used to be what kept employees on board, but now that's no longer an incentive. You give people "raises" that don't even cover the increases in benefit costs.

    Liberty Tax Service Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. The Home Office will be taking your feedback and advice into careful consideration to make growth changes within our organization. Please feel... More

  8. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Liberty Tax Service full-time

    Pros

    Great place nice people good pay

    Cons

    Long hours no lunch and rude customers at times

    Liberty Tax Service Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – Human Resources

    Our Home Office appreciates your feedback!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great working for corporate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Tax Service part-time

    Pros

    Corporate employees are treated well and are rewarded for good performance.

    Cons

    A franchisee bought the office. The franchisees were clueless on how to grow the business. They had expectations of all managers to work off the clock.

    Advice to Management

    Educate yourselves,

    Liberty Tax Service Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – Human Resources

    Hi Reviewer- thank you for taking the time to post a review. This feedback is integral to our business!


  10. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tax PR in Watertown, SD
    Former Employee - Tax PR in Watertown, SD

    I worked at Liberty Tax Service part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, Manager was easy to get along with, hours worked well with school

    Cons

    Only con is the down time between customers

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Liberty Tax Service Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thanks for your great feedback!