Lidl Assistant Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Lidl Assistant Store Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
11%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Crises in Leadership, Unethical District Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Fredericksburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Pay, Excellent Benefits, International Company

    Cons

    Inconsistent Management, Toxic Culture, inconsistent supply chain

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-06-11
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Assistant store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel to Dublin, Ireland

    Cons

    Area managers inexperienced due to individual work history. Mostly college students with No managerial skills, competence or knowledge. Logistical problems with assignment of stores and home location for most managers.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2018-03-18
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Bolton, England

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent salary , decent salary & nothing else

    Cons

    Long working hours, no social life, no freedom to think outside the box,

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-01-03

    Lidl Response

    January 14, 2019Employer Brand Officer

    Thank you for leaving your review. We understand your support and development is just as important as a strong benefits package. If you would like to discuss your review in more detail, you can contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk, or your local PWC directly. Thank you for all of your hard work! - Andy, Recruitment team

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Not if you paid me 100k a year for an hour a week"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Basic salary looks good but isn’t actually for hourly rate Manageable pension Clock in and out for every minute paid

    Cons

    Burnt out staff who are relied on too much. Area managers to have no actual work experience. Unrealistic workload, always cutting back on hours and increasing tasks. Robotic how to guides for every task e.g cleaning the floor. God help you if you have an idea of your own. Over promoted area managers fresh from uni who use and abuse the staff for every ounce of energy. Bullying area managers who won’t hesitate to get rid of a staff member if under 2 years service for minimal rule breaking (not myself) 5am starts working 5+ pallets an hour, regularly 12+ hour days. Never time for even 5 minutes break. Always leave the store after midnight when surprised to finish at 10. Always under staffed for the amount of work to be completed. Unrealistic expectations! When you say that the it’s been a hard busy day and that you may not have finished everything, or you ask for some help, you get told to ‘work harder’ but the area manager. Who by the way gets paid 60k a year with a brand new bmw/Audi to walk into the store and moan that the people running around like 100m sprinters aren’t working hard enough and then leave. Life of a ‘slave’ (manager) In this backwards thinking company.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2018-10-12

    Lidl Response

    October 30, 2018Employer Brand Officer

    It's just as important to support and develop our employees as it is to offer them a good benefits package, so we appreciate you taking the time to leave an honest review on your experience with us. You can contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk to discuss anything further, we wish you the best of luck with the next stage in your career. -Andy, Recruitment team

    Continue reading
  5. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ok not too bad to work for

    Cons

    nothing really to say to ya

    Lidl2018-04-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Stor Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Luton, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary. Would recommend for a Retail career starter.

    Cons

    Too long a day, especially during stock counts.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2018-01-28

    Lidl Response

    June 14, 2018Employer Brand Officer

    Thank you for all of your efforts in making your store a success! We're glad you've had a good experience overall, and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
  7. "Very good working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company with great benefits

    Cons

    didnt get to try any vegetables

    Lidl2017-11-29

    Lidl Response

    August 6, 2018Employer Brand Officer

    Thanks for leaving a review, and all of your hard work! Your insight really helps us to ensure that we're on the right track as an employer. We wish you the very best with your future career. - Andy, Recruitment

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Lidl will work you till you bleed then discipline you for making a mess."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can get great teams of people to work with.

    Cons

    The company has no support to give its staff, it throws all obstacles at the workers, then refuses to accept anything below the highest standards.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2017-11-01
  9. "Hard work, long hours, no appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent wage, good team interaction at store level.

    Cons

    Constant pressure, store managers seem to be prehistoric yet defended by area managers. Lie to get you through door with little to no progression as many area management and store management taken on externally.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2017-11-07

    Lidl Response

    November 15, 2018Employer Brand Officer

    Thanks for your review. We do feel it's important to develop our employees, and appreciate your feedback on this. We would advise discussing development/training opportunities with your Line Manager in the first instance, your PWC or regional Training Mentor are also on hand if you need to discuss any of the points you have raised in your review - the PWC details can be found in your welfare area. Thanks for all of your hard work! - Andy, Recruitment team

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "work/life balance does not EXIST!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Hayle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros to being an ASM at Lidl UK is: the money is good; actually a good business to work for, very efficient and in regards to retailers they are business-minded.

    Cons

    Not enough staff, I spend most of my time either working stock or sat on a till, which for someone who gets paid a salary, is ridiculous.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2017-07-17
Found 31 reviews