Lidl Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Lidl Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 356 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
50 Ratings
  1. "Best Work/Life Balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours and benefits. People are very friendly.

    Cons

    Management is young and makes common/recurring mistakes.

    Lidl2019-09-17
  2. "Don't work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commiserating with some fellow employees.

    Cons

    Leadership is a mix of 1) Europeans that do not know anything about the US grocery market AND 2) recent college grad frat bros that do not know anything about anything.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to Europe - the rollout has been a failure.

    Lidl2019-09-06
  3. "Good pay, no professional development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and pay are great

    Cons

    No valuable relationship with superiors which results in stagnant, repetitive routines and a lack of professional challenges or development.

    Lidl2019-07-11
  4. "Very unorganized company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company car, pick your days off

    Cons

    Aggressive senior management, no work life balance

    Lidl2019-07-30
  5. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Maintenance Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growing company with a rapid expansion

    Cons

    Poor communication down the chain of command

    Advice to Management

    Learn to communicate and plan better.

    Lidl2019-06-10
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Crises in Leadership, Unethical District Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Fredericksburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Pay, Excellent Benefits, International Company

    Cons

    Inconsistent Management, Toxic Culture, inconsistent supply chain

    Advice to Management

    Hold your operational executives and district managers accountable. I've been here for two years and am genuinely disgusted by the number of times I've seen incompetent management rewarded with lateral transfers to HQ. Likewise, I've seen store level management "promote" an employee only to work them for months in their position before submitting their paperwork, blaming slow HR processes for the lag in pay. Of... course, back pay was never given.

    Show More
    Lidl2019-06-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Work and Every Day Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Greece, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Value Experience, Fast-Paced Working Environment

    Cons

    No Work and Every Day Life Balance

    Lidl2019-03-26
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great opportunity executed very poorly by management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to train and learn in Europe

    Cons

    You feel like an expendable asset more than a human

    Lidl2019-03-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Run !!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager Trainee in Chesapeake, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    only work 40 hours overtime after

    Cons

    Have received no training just throwing pallets 7 to 9 hours a day and most of time by yourself since the associates don't come to work and still have a job. Or better yet when they come in at 800 am and you been there since 530am and they stand at register and go on a break before you.

    Advice to Management

    Not what you are led to believe RDC on one page about you fighting for your training but the store manager thinks your free productivity and not only gives you no training but feedback have been there for 3 months and finally just sat with my DM two weeks ago on my teaining plan funny it was right before had to go up to RDC for manager in training seminar which all 30 of us had same complaints then the expect you to... take test and pass with 90 % only studying i do is at home. which after doing pallets all day you fall a sleep quickly.

    Show More
    Lidl2019-03-08
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Management Support/No Clue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Arlington, VA

    I worked at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, some co-workers, give aways.

    Cons

    Worst Sr. Management, No plan, Manager was too busy kissing his bosses butt. Don't trust people w/years experience in retail and consumer goods in US. Boss too busy w/double standards. Some work from home, others can't? Not worth the hassle of working there. Work life? Right. Run the other way.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of pretending you know US Market, listen to the experts you hire. Be clear on expectations, COMMUNICATE WITH YOUR TEAM more than once a year.

    Lidl2019-01-16
Found 356 reviews