Lidl Verkäufer/in Reviews | Glassdoor

Lidl Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2475 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
333 Ratings
  1. "Best Work/Life Balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours and benefits. People are very friendly.

    Cons

    Management is young and makes common/recurring mistakes.

    Lidl2019-09-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to be if you like change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay for responsibilities given Petty cash management experience Good entry level position to understand ground-level management of inventory and assets

    Cons

    Upper level management changes constantly Demands exceed available time for completion, especially when re-merchandising Physically intensive in varying temperatures (-7 deg in the freezer) Other members of team can impact inventory negatively without repercussion

    Lidl2019-09-12
  3. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Pay I ok for job responsibilities. Extremely good benefits package

    Cons

    Poor front line management. Management, front line, has little to no practical experience running grocery stores.

    Advice to Management

    Frontline management is very inexperienced and are not good at developing their people. Most have little to no grocery experience which looks like it is by design. Publicly talk about associates with no regard to who is there. Managers are task oriented not business oriented.

    Lidl2019-09-28
  4. "Okay job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate 

    I have been working at Lidl part-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Some in charge pick and choose what employees they choose to accommodate when it come to work/life balance

    Lidl2019-09-17
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Knowing your employees' names means you care about them; not team activities or upgraded facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Quality Assurance Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Efforts to improve company culture 2. Nice workspace 3. The company offers paid and sick time off, as well as time off for bereavement, volunteer, and holidays.

    Cons

    I worked in the Quality Assurance department for three years and my EVP never learned (or addressed me by) my name. It sounds pretty basic right? But from my perspective, the leadership team doesn't think that's important. As for the companies I've worked for both before and after Lidl, the CEO and the team below them knew who I was because they made it a point to know. Know your team and care about them because a... lot of people worked really hard to get where they are today and they run your company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need Americans, FEMALES, and cultural diversity on the Lidl US board.

    Lidl2019-09-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good for Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Opportunities existed for advancement when company was first entering U.S. market (not as much anymore) -Good first job for experience - if you stay long enough , you can be promoted to levels that require longer tenure in other companies

    Cons

    - poor management - the company demands a lot from it’s employees , but will not reciprocate this same commitment to its employees when they need it - promotions are based on favoritism (it can be embarrassing at times)

    Advice to Management

    Focus on quality - just because you pride yourselves on discounted groceries, does not mean that you should also have ‘discounted’ management

    Lidl2019-09-05
  7. "Dont get hurt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Everything in Wilson, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Training Laid back Customer based Steady

    Cons

    Doesnt take care of employees To few employees at the time so its double sometimes triple work

    Advice to Management

    Dont just have 4 or 5 employees working all night

    Lidl2019-09-06
  8. "Young culture, Fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots to do and very fast moving, without too much attention to detail.

    Cons

    This can be very fulfilling but very stressful depending on your projects.

    Lidl2019-08-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchasing Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free giveaways on Fridays

    Cons

    -Hostile working environment -No work/life balance -Low pay for the workload -Horrible management -Tasks are not relevant to the industry standard which puts you behind in your career

    Lidl2019-09-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Its better than What you read here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome work life balance Good pay to start Endless potential for growth

    Cons

    Bad communication between team and senior leadership Not enough developmental time with your leadership Company isnt very transparent everything is a secret

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more open on plans to come for employees and the company Realize not all talent has a masters degree from a 4 year college.

    Lidl2019-07-27
Found 2475 reviews
</>Embed