Lidl Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales Assistant

Lidl Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
3 Ratings
  1. "Good pay but very hectic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Ringwood, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay get as much over time as you want

    Cons

    get messed around a lot with hours/holiday

    Lidl2019-10-10
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working anywhere in retail not just at Lidl makes your job easier when you have a good team and luckily the lidl store I work in has a great team, i actually don't dread going to work in a morning or evening, there is always 1 anywhere you work that's lazy but most are good including the managers who get stuck in just as much as the sales Assistants and don't just sit in the office all day doing "paper work", the... pay is good you start off on £9 and it goes up every year, you get 10% discount, theres a nice canteen with a decent smoking terrace with tables and chairs, theres lots of tools and technology within store to make everything in your daily routines so much easier than most retail stores I've worked at. Overall if your used to shift work and you know it includes working days, nights and weekends then you know what to expect and should enjoy working at lidl it's a graft I wont lie but if you've got a good team and everyone gets stuck in then your job is made so much easier.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only cons I have personally at the moment is the one or two staff members who don't think they have to pull their weight and are just lazy but other than that I genuinely like working at lidl at this moment in time.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to give really.

    Lidl2019-09-21
  3. "I enjoyed my time there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, flexible working, opportunities

    Cons

    Early starts and late finishes

    Lidl2019-05-31
  4. "Awful place to work, avoid!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Welcome event was insightful and interesting.

    Cons

    Good pay but it comes at a price. Staff are expected to work intensely long hours with just a 30 minute break included, very poor when you take into account the extremely physical nature of the work. The manager made extremely condescending remarks to myself and colleagues, claiming that we could "climb the ranks" if we were willing to suck up to management. From this moment i knew the job was not for me, as i am... unwilling to resort to these kind of tactics in order to gain a pay rise. Common courtesy and respect are foreign concepts to this company, avoid at all costs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The management should consider respecting their staff, and lower their ridiculously high expectations.

    Lidl2019-05-22

    Lidl Response

    July 31, 2019Employer Brand Team

    We do hear some great things from store employees in our reviews, and we want all employees to have the same experience, so thank you for your honest feedback. If there are any points from your review you'd like to expand on, please do contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk. We really appreciate your hard work while with us wish you the very best for the future. - Andy Lidl GB

    Show Less
  5. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in Cork
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, flexible hours, you can learning a lot

    Cons

    Hard , fast work, but if you like busy ok for you

    Advice to Management

    Good

    Lidl2019-01-09
  6. "Sales assistant job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really good salary. If you have a good team it's good to work with them.

    Cons

    They management call you all the time on your off days to go to work, because someone is sick, and they usually haven't got enough people on the shifts.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people. If you have enough staff your coworkers will be happier and they won't be overworked all the time.

    Lidl2018-10-25

    Lidl Response

    October 30, 2018Employer Brand Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and for all of your hard work while with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the benefits and being part of the team, we wish you the best of luck with your career. - Andy, Recruitment team

  7. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in Market Drayton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lidl for more than a year

    Pros

    To meet the targets to be met and make sure the customers are happy with the service

    Cons

    To work together as a team

    Advice to Management

    To communicate with the manager if any problems

    Lidl2018-09-03

    Lidl Response

    October 30, 2018Employer Brand Officer

    It's great to hear you enjoyed working with us, thanks for all your hard work and best of luck with the future. -Andy, Recruitment team

  8. "excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    engaging , good training

    Cons

    not for the faint hearted

    Advice to Management

    relax sometimes

    Lidl2018-07-18
  9. "Lidl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People you work with make the job worth it

    Cons

    Hours are terrible no social life

    Lidl2018-05-18

    Lidl Response

    June 14, 2018Employer Brand Officer

    Thank you for your review, and for all your hard work! We’re glad to hear that you get on well with your colleagues. You can contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk to discuss anything in more detail, otherwise please remember that your regional PWC is always on hand to support you.

  10. "great pay but you work like a slave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl for less than a year

    Pros

    really good pay for a retail job

    Cons

    horrible work rota they expect you life to be all about the company, spoken horribly to by the boss, no one talks to each other, not enough staff in big stores, unapproachable mean bosses

    Advice to Management

    hire nicer people

    Lidl2018-04-25
Found 32 reviews