Lidl Store Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Store Associate

Lidl Store Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
8 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Thomasville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clean and very friendly serive

    Cons

    I don't have any the place is great

    Advice to Management

    Good trucking

    Lidl2018-05-22
  2. "Horrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lidl part-time

    Pros

    Lidl US has a nice bakery.

    Cons

    Training was a nightmare. I was hired as PT and expected to "study PLUs at home". Trainer was inappropriate, unsupportive and rude. Never saw my manager or was able to speak with him. HR refused to assist with mileage reimbursement. I have never in all my career heard an HR representative so out of line.

    Advice to Management

    Update your management, trainers and HR on labor laws.

    Lidl2019-10-17
  3. "Too much work for too little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Ashburn, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay slightly better than other places and I worked with some nice managers.

    Cons

    The position was advertised as part time and I always worked more than 40 hours a week. They almost never gave us 15 minute breaks.

    Advice to Management

    Stop overworking people and listen to them when they need a break.

    Lidl2019-07-01
  4. "Its geniually my other family, really good store."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Aberdeen, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked the bakery that was my favorite.

    Cons

    None off the top of my head except you need to be on your toes at all times its always changing but i still loved it

    Advice to Management

    Try to be more involved with your stores associates. Instead of talking to yhe supervisord only i think that is something that should be said to everyone from you.

    Lidl2019-06-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Ok meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Gastonia, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get paid something at least. Get paid days off

    Cons

    Management has trust issues with staff. Communication is terrible without headsets. Some managers won't let you leave until 12am or later on second shift until the store is 110% clean and task free.

    Advice to Management

    Improve everything by treating workers with more respect and don't hold them accountable for other managers tasks they failed to finish on time. Associates only should be doing associate related work.

    Lidl2019-05-18
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Little concern for employee morale and job satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good starting pay for this area

    Cons

    Extremely faced paced with a focus on deadlines and productivity instead of employee satisfaction. Too few associates scheduled to meet the expectations of the company. Most employees get 20 hours or less until promoted to a PT30.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and help them when they Express a serious concern. Learn employment law and treat people fairly

    Lidl2019-03-23
  7. "Good pay for young adults"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay was great for me being 18 years old. Training was thorough and management was nice yet stern enough to make sure daily tasks were complete.

    Cons

    The hours were not very flexible. They really only offer 2 shifts. Under certain circumstances will they accommodate. Communication between morning and night crew should be worked on.

    Advice to Management

    Implement all things learned during training or clearly explain which aspects are not going to be used in store.

    Lidl2019-03-06
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Awful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay and the fact you earned time off and 401k you started vested.

    Cons

    as hired in April of 2017, and was one of the first hired with the new company. We were all very excited. It went down hill quick. I was at one store in Spartanburg, SC and was promised to be made a PT30 which is the company's somewhat version of full time. It never happened and I was fed up so transferred to the woodruff Rd store promised to be made a PT30. I stayed a month, then while waiting to clock in one day... my store manager told me to clock in so he could show me the cardboard left in the freezer and that the cardboard being left cost me being made PT30. I then left that night and quit. While there the supervisors hated each other and it was a stressful work environment. It's not worth the pay and benefits for the lack of respect

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees Give work life/balance- Lidl is not our life, most of us are young and trying to better ourselves and wanted work while in school. We already have limited free time and you sucked what was left out of us Don't give promotions to who you like but who deserve it

    Lidl2018-09-06
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Good Pay Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Store Associate 

    I have been working at Lidl for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay Is Good For A Grocery Store

    Cons

    Hours Are Inconsistent. Unfair Treatment In Work Place. The Hire Ups Are Very Rude, Unapproachable, Looks Down On Employees As Less. No Appreciation For Employees. Slow Weeks Hours Can Drop Down To 8hrs/Week. Employees Work HARD, Pay Is Good But Not Enough

    Advice to Management

    Treat Employees Equally. Show Appreciation To Employees, Stop Talking Down To Employees.

    Lidl2018-06-24
  10. Helpful (4)

    "New Company, ups & downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Hampton, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -great place to browse while at work or right after shift -such unique and affordable products -cross trained for different areas of store -get most of your hours during paid training

    Cons

    -hours are not guaranteed -shipments sometimes wouldn't arrive or arrive late -new to US so still working out all the kinks. -went through different people in upper management quite often. -big wigs were not very friendly at all upon meeting, very stern -a lot of procedures that were taught in training did not get applied once inside store

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to pay attention to availability of employees and to keep communication open.

    Lidl2018-05-29
Found 25 reviews