Lidl "good salary" Reviews | Glassdoor

Lidl Employee Reviews about "good salary"

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
382 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, flexible working, opportunities(in 203 reviews)

  • "good salary developed people very fast if they see potential(in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours; hard work; not rewaridng(in 154 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not the greatest but then time can be taken back at a later date if you work more hours(in 152 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good salary"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Dualer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dualer Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, good support by HR, great job opportunities!

    Cons

    Haven't noticed any bigger disadvantages, yet

    Lidl2017-04-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Believe in your people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits available

    Cons

    Time spent at work doubles time away from work

    Advice to Management

    DO NOT reprimand your employees in front of a whole room - while you may think this makes you a better manager it doesn't

    Lidl2019-02-09
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Too much stress and very unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits Good Salary

    Cons

    Hard to advance or move positions, there is a huge problem with nepotism and favoritism. There are long hours with not much recognition, unless you are one of the favorites. You are looked down upon if you have a life outside of the company, as in, you have family obligations that limit your time to 40 hours a week. Not all of the managers are qualified because they just earned degrees and have no experience in... managing individuals-- some who've actually had managing experience or previous professional experience. HR is a disaster depending on the section you have to deal with.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please learn to care about your employees and their concerns. You will not prosper otherwise.

    Lidl2017-07-11
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Asset manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary for managers.

    Cons

    Extra long hours, managers work like associates, not allowed to hire staff.

    Advice to Management

    Change your style of hiring management. You are hiring experienced retail professionals, not actors. Judging managers on how they perform during situational part of the interview is no way of knowing how they work. Horrible practice

    Lidl2017-02-20
  5. Helpful (21)

    "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lidl

    Pros

    We were paid a good salary.

    Cons

    Higher level management talks to people without real understanding of the projects they are working on. So they sell some idea but don't understand any aspect of its execution. The one senior manager I worked with made several racist comments towards me which I wrote off as being some type of European sensibility. Overall a bad employment experience for me. They didn't know what they are doing and kind of jerking... their employees around. Maybe things have changed? Also, the whole culture, values, or work satisfaction speeches you get at orientation are a complete joke. They literally could care less.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop bringing in people from Europe and focus on building a US based team instead. They might be familiar with the US market, but the Europeans don't have any idea of how to work in it without dragging their employees through pointless and aimless projects that have no significance. Also, there are some managers that use the negging technique as a style. Like knocking down the higher performing people through... negativity, and the opposite for the other side. It's actually demoralizing. And proven ineffective. Again, get US managers that work with US people. Because you will continue to lose talent after making large investments in them.

    Show More
    Lidl2016-09-01
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl

    Pros

    I really like working for this company, I have great colleagues, we get along very well and it is a very respectful environment. We go to happy hours and get along well, also outside of work. We have the opportunity to participate in trainings and develop our skills in workshops. It is just an very exciting surrounding and you get to work on very interesting projects, when you think about what this company wants... to achieve in the US market. The company does cool stuff like free yoga classes, they get you a discounted gym membership, they organize events for the employees,.. Benefits are really not bad at all. Company Car, good Salary. Teamwork is highly encouraged, which is the way to go in my opinion.

    Show More

    Cons

    You really can create something here, since so much needs to be developed and implemented - you can leave a footprint with your work, meaning you are responsible for big projects. Does that come with working hard? Yes. But also it is very rewarding when you see what impact you actually do have. Do I sometimes work over hours? Yes, but not everyday / every week. I am responsible for my own projects, so I can... decide how I divide my time - very independently.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees, why they leave and make an effort. It does work!

    Lidl2016-04-01
  7. "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and good holidays

    Cons

    Hard work, little thanks, bare minimum benefits e.g. Sick pay, paternity, pensions

    Lidl2019-10-21
  8. "Awful worklife balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary,staff discount,cheap , good pension

    Cons

    Long days, late nights,weekends, no social life. Poor training

    Lidl2019-09-18
  9. "DSM Lidl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and progression opportunities for a 39H contract

    Cons

    Permanent pressure due to unrealistic targets

    Lidl2019-06-18
  10. "Temporary job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Kolding

    I worked at Lidl for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, Good holiday, Great team, Good Bosses, A very nice environment

    Cons

    Short period contracts with a lot of work.

    Lidl2019-05-05
Found 61 reviews
</>Embed