Find jobs for Certified Personal Trainer

Life Time Certified Personal Trainer Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 of over 5,012 reviews

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Life Time Chairman, President, and CEO Bahram Akradi
Bahram Akradi
34 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Life Time and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work!

    Dec 21, 2021 - Certified Personal Trainer in Montvale, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, great coworkers, awesome environment to work in!

    Cons

    All commission can be tough

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Cult-like "Healthy Way of Life"

    Apr 17, 2022 - Certified Personal Trainer in Mansfield, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very positive, and driven energy especially from new people, and then of course people making great commission. The right people are great to work with. I would say front line workers in all departments are the most pleasant to be around.

    Cons

    Majority of leadership and upper management has $$$$$$ for eyeballs. Money drives this company. Sales and numbers. But they do an excellent job of hiding that behind the mask of "Helping the members." Don't get me wrong, the products and a lot of the testing and things like that really do work. But anyone who has "made it" in this company, has made it by putting the member's needs 2nd, and the money first. That is the only way to climb the ladder.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Depends on club you work at

    Apr 25, 2022 - Certified Personal Trainer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great facility and ammenities. Typically a higher income client base.

    Cons

    Commission rate is trash and very competitve in the club to get clients when you're new

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Starting Point, Not a Fit For Me Long Term

    Oct 21, 2021 - Certified Personal Trainer in Fishers, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They, just like other Box Gyms, provide a good starting place for new trainers. I started at Life Time as my first job out of college and without much formal training experience. I got lucky with my managers who were fairly willing to sit down with me and offer advice and feedback on my training programs.

    Cons

    I don't feel that Life Time compensates the trainers fairly. Working in Indiana, I got $10/hr with the promise of commission if I sold enough to earn more than the hourly rate in a month. The most clients I ever had at a time there were 8, all of whom were being charged around $70-$80/hr to train with me, but I never made enough to earn commission. With a college degree in exercise and wellness and seeing Target pay their cashiers more than the $10/hr I made, it was difficult to stay for longer than a year.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Lots of earning potential. Well-being of staff no longer a priority. This company has been consumed by making $$$$$$

    Oct 25, 2021 - Certified Personal Trainer in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you're willing to work hard and utilize all the earning opportunities, there's a good bit of money to be made working at Life Time.

    Cons

    It seems that as more time goes on, the company's main focus is on making more and more money and less on the quality of training or the well being of its staff. I have seen awful things being instructed via trainers to clients that are paying top dollar. I have seen trainers hired who aren't even certified to train. Managers have told trainers they don't care if they are good trainers, "just sell training". I have heard management tell staff that working out was not allowed if certain revenue goals aren't being met. In fact, staff was told they were not allowed to leave the building for a break if certain revenue goals weren't being met. During my time there, I saw staff come, work out less and gain weight under the stress of the extreme revenue producing pressure and lack of work life balance. Many staff would leave less healthy than they were when they started at Life Time. This goes completely counter to their "healthy way of life" motto.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Lifetime Personal Trainer

    Jan 10, 2022 - Certified Personal Trainer/Group Insutructor in Reston, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Client facing, experience in fitness industry, best pay per session

    Cons

    Poor management, semi-flexible schedule, no base pay outside of commission

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    It's Great.

    Jul 31, 2021 - Certified Personal Trainer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High-level continued education opportunities take you from average to great. As a new trainer, I struggled with finding my nitch. With so many resources, Lifetime gave me the support and tools to become a top-tier trainer.

    Cons

    You have to commit more hours than full-time to be successful. Be ready to dedicate days off, holidays, and after-hours to acquire the clients needed to make a decent living. Often, you will be graded on performance.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place

    Aug 18, 2021 - Certified Personal Trainer in Woodbury, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cut throat but if you're ready to grind, you will love it. Hard work gets the job done here. Work at it every day.

    Cons

    Can be very intense to hit budget sometimes. Similar to any other job, heavily based on sales and performance. I really enjoyed it though

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Solid Company

    Sep 7, 2021 - Certified Personal Trainer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, and well constructed clubs.

    Cons

    Poor professional development and lack of long term continuing education support.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    okay

    Aug 2, 2021 - Certified Personal Trainer in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    working in a gym, upbeat vibe, overall a positive experience with hiring, flexible schedule that you can change pretty easily

    Cons

    the pay is low, the work day hours can be long, base pay is removed after 100 days and getting your sales up in a grind for little reward

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 62 Reviews

Popular Careers with Life Time Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Life Time? Share Your Experiences

or