Find jobs for Member Engagement Advisor

Life Time Member Engagement Advisor Reviews

Updated Mar 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 5,021 reviews

3.2
28%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Life Time Chairman, President, and CEO Bahram Akradi
Bahram Akradi
27 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Life Time and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Comp review

    Mar 13, 2015 - Member Engagement Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company morals. Great leadership in upper managment

    Cons

    Very stressful in the Member Engagement Advisor position.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    good

    Mar 8, 2021 - Member Engagement Advisor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ok company to work for

    Cons

    long hours of work at the place

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    High Pressure Sales

    Apr 17, 2014 - Member Engagement Advisor in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment, nice offices, great all inclusive facilities, private office, almost like running your own business, great opportunity to build good relationships with members and change peoples lives, I liked that we had weekly meetings, training and help when we needed it. They really invest in training you properly. They ask for input when making the bi-weekly work schedules. Sales contests and theme days are fun help with morale.

    Cons

    managers tend to micromanage, very long hours, shifts are 10-12 hours/day, 5-7 days a week. Pay isn't great for all the work put in. Making calls, mostly cold calls is never fun and there is a minimum of 150 calls a day. I had issues with taking time off for military duty. It is a male dominated job so you have to be a strong, independent, street smart woman...this is not necessarily a con, as it wasn't for me, however some women wouldn't cut it. You have to workout before or after shifts, when I started I was told I could workout during my shift if it was slow...this was never the case, as you would have to be WAY above goal to be allowed to do so and even then you are supposed to help the team reach goal, so there really is no extra time in a shift.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    I mean, it's all right.

    Aug 14, 2012 - Member Engagement Advisor in Warrenville, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you're into 100% commission and they get you to drink enough of the kool-aid it's not a bad time. If you really do the math and don't get sucked into the rah-rah atmosphere things look a little different. There's an opportunity to do well if you never leave the club.

    Cons

    I don't even know where to start. Young inexperienced managers. Extremely cut throat. Integrity isn't exactly rewarded. 60-70 hour weeks. They send you to a certification at the corporate office to start that covers the basics, but good luck if you have any questions when you get back the club. That may just be my experience but getting someone to teach you the little things at the beginning is like pulling teeth. When I finally got rolling and became good at what I did I started to realize how terrible everyone I worked with was. Get ready to watch your back and protect your money. I made the mistake of being the nice guy and being a team player in the beginning. The gesture was not returned. People get pretty weird on a 100 percent commission. Especially in a shared territory. I couldn't take a day off without someone stealing my business, while getting the scraps because I was the new guy. The membership advisors pull the weight of the club and bring in 80% of the revenue, yet they're still seen as the lackies. I'd honestly like to forget the experience all together. Looking back now is almost giving me a migraine. Extremely unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I got what I asked for.

    Mar 15, 2015 - Senior Member Engagement Advisor in Maple Grove, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working in the fitness industry is a tremendous way to enhance your lifestyle. Being around like-minded people is very cool. You are meeting lots of new and exciting people everyday as it is a fast-paced environment. I know more about proper exercise than I could have ever dreamed. Benefits and insurance were fairly competitive. I worked at the best club, great boss and GM who made me enjoy being at work as much as possible.

    Cons

    The corporate office does not care about the sales staff. I am not saying that to be mean or bitter, because I left on good terms, but the demands of the job are beyond ridiculous. Long hours (somewhat expected because it is like retail), all commission which encourages shady business, and no work/life balance. The last 3 days of every month are mandatory as well as many holidays and weekends. They have made some small strides to help the sales staff out, but so far it is a drop in the bucket. I averaged 190/mo and the pay was not worth it. The insistence on calls and call volume are antiquated and take you away from being able to really follow up with your prospects.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Success in this company is the result of your sales performance, if you are motivated by that you will earn well.

    Sep 30, 2014 - Member Engagement Advisor in Harrison, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you love fitness the clubs are outstanding, especially the Athletic brand locations. Free membership obviously, great tasting and mostly healthy food choices in the cafe (great coffee!). Daily interactions with the 'regular' members can be the highlight of your day if you like the old health club mentality when people actually socialized. In sales roles you get instant gratification in your paycheck, no yearly bonus. You are 100% commission.

    Cons

    You are 100% commission, so if you have a tough month you will work long hours to make more $$. Your managers will pressure you to work on off days or stay late to make your personal shortfall. (Don't take it personal, their compensation is based on your performance and they want a bonus too!) You will LIVE at the club in sales roles. Your social life becomes your colleagues and members. You will work weekends - no way around it

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Member Advisor/ Account Manager

    Oct 21, 2015 - Member Engagement Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free membership, fun coworkers, professional atmosphere, good pay during busy months, positive environment, opportunity for advancement within the company.

    Cons

    Absolutely no work-life balance (I was told when I applied that I would get two days off in a row twice a month, once on a weekend, once on weekdays, I never got two days off in a row a single time in a year), treated like you're a number or a pawn for corporate to make more money, forced to lie about your numbers at the end of the day which jeopardized my integrity, management has a "my way or the highway" mentality, no room to be creative, very high pressure- if you don't hit quota you will get fired.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Sales

    Feb 19, 2016 - Member Engagement Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great people to work with -good compensation -company generates a lot of leads -free membership for employees to the best health club in the industry

    Cons

    -work life balance is rare -outside of mandatory shifts, pressure is applied to come in on off days and stay extra time -heads of company are very disconnected with those trying to climb the ladder

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A good first sales job- Be prepared for long hours

    Mar 13, 2013 - Member Engagement Advisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have seen advisers make sickening amounts of money young/fun culture free meals and drinks often great training program free gym membership ( Though I never had time to use it) great on-boarding pay for first 6 months Loved the sales managers and GM I had at my location- extremely helpful and kind. Relatively fun and easy position.

    Cons

    Very high turnover It wasn't surprising to see advisers working entire months without days off to hit personal targets. To be successful you will need to put in between 65-80 hours each week. You never get weekends off. Most advisers work holidays. Bad work/life balance. I felt married to my career.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    No Work/ Life balance

    Sep 11, 2015 - Member Engagement Advisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free membership. Personal office. Opportunity to make good money if you don't have a life outside of work. Meet a lot of good people.

    Cons

    No work life balance. They say that they pride them selves of providing a work life balance but they dont. You can work 4.5 days a week if you're pacing to hit quota, but unless you've been there for 2 years and know everyone, you need to work 6 days a week 10 hour days. Its a sales environment, that is very shady. People are favored and money can be taken right out if your pocket. Meetings atleast every other week that require driving 1+ hours. No hourly pay.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

Popular Careers with Life Time Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Life Time? Share Your Experiences

or