Cover image for Life Time
Logo

Life Time

Life Time

Add a Review

Life Time Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 5,407 of over 6K reviews
3.6
63% Recommend to a Friend
Life Time Chairman, President, and CEO Bahram Akradi
66% Approve of CEO

Found 5,410 of over 6K reviews

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Life Time Chairman, President, and CEO Bahram Akradi
Bahram Akradi
2,078 Ratings

What people are saying about Life Time

Join the conversation on

Sales

7m

works at 

Pluralsight LLC

Hey bowl, I'm building a sales organization for a SaaS start up from scratch, and I want to encourage a constructive sales environment from the get-go. Things like supportive teamwork, life time deal with value, and similar. How would you design incentive structures for sales roles that encourage people and teams to support each other while also making sales leading to growing ARR? What have you experienced that works particularly well? What doesn't?

7

7 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "They prey of the weak and desparate then work them at low pay unti burn out.(in 439 reviews)
  • "Gets very busy and management is poor(in 397 reviews)
  • "Long hours and constantly on your feet(in 169 reviews)
  • "No work life balance and you’re slaving for the execs(in 163 reviews)
  • "The manager is mean and doesn't support the counselors.(in 134 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Life Time and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best place to work

    Nov 9, 2022 - Regional Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many opportunities for upward growth

    Cons

    Too many compensation changes happening

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Poor Department Management

    Nov 23, 2022 - Family Swim Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employment comes with a free membership, and the facility is nice to access for free. Employees get a discount for services, such as the cafe. There is a developed culture of patron and coworker interaction, which creates an inviting culture for the most part. Most lower/mid level department staff are very nice and friendly.

    Cons

    Staff discounts for cafe and spa services are very small, making many of these expensive services still very expensive. Select department heads have very poor leadership skills. Turn over is very high because of this. Shift schedules are commonly changed without notice or permission, often times at last minute. Thus, certain department heads attempt to trick, lie, and gaslight lower level staff to fill in uncovered shifts from turnover, which has only created more turnover. Certain departments are not allotted bathroom breaks and have to ask staff from other departments to continue their work to get one. Disabilities and other special needs are met poorly or not at all.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Life Time team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Pros Outweighed Cons for me

    Oct 19, 2022 - Member Services Supervisor in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free gym membership Meeting tons of great people from the members to the coworkers who are still friends after leaving the company Great place to work as a first job or while in college There were plenty of opportunities to pick up shifts and make extra money

    Cons

    Very high turnover. Every few months it seemed the entire teem was different. Worked there for 3 years and never made more then 1 dollar over minimum wage. Expect to be multitasking and working hard without a break. There were times were we were super understaffed and a single person had to do a 2-3 person job. Corporate always changes “policies” especially pertaining to bringing in guest. We were always the bad guy because we had to deny a guest who would have been within the guest policy, however it was changed yet again We are required to “dress up”, as in wear a tie or sport coat… I understand they want us to have a strong impression, but ultimately it’s a gym. I think a uniform polo would look very professional rather then a full suit for minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Life Time Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share this review! We are happy to hear that you made great connections during your time working for our company and overall had a positive experience. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and concerns over company policies and employee turnover. This feedback is important for us as we continue to make improvements going forward. We appreciate and thank you for the time you spent as part of our Member Services team!

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    AVOID. Hostile Work Environment.

    Oct 28, 2022 - Member Concierge in Dublin, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most of the members are great. Made some great personal and professional connections along the way.

    Cons

    This location has a lot of high school drama, lacks leadership, plays favorites, management and upper management are fake, management will act like they are on your side when an entitled member starts screaming at you and then later on will blame you for that conflict and use it as an excuse to write you up. Member wasn't terminated and this wasn't their first negative interaction with someone in membership. Was accused of having an unconscious bias towards members by upper management which resulted in me going to HR on them. If you're a member and you have money, you can get away with anything there. Member made an anti-semitic "joke" to me and nothing was done by upper management. This club freaks out when they hear someone from corporate is coming and they try to make the club something it is not. This company prides itself in being inclusive and I was the only straight guy in membership for a while. Felt like I was being targeted for little mistakes when the non-straight guys were making the same mistakes and weren't getting penalized for it.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Pay is less but not much work

    Nov 21, 2022 - Cafe Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - free gym membership - discounts on food and classes - great and easy way to stay fit and in shape

    Cons

    - lifetime is overall a very cheap company and they do a lot of shortcuts - food is extremely overpriced.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    AWFUL Leadership. SUPER CHEAP! AVOID!!

    Sep 21, 2022 - Racquet Sports Professional 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Free Diamond membership to all Life Time's in North America. -Employee discount

    Cons

    -VERY CHEAP management... AVOID!! Penny pinching all their own employees... Oh you're Inside the building but not in the exact spot you're suppose to be in since management can't properly tell you where to go an be beforehand? Boom time submission rejection (<$4 submission rejection... ridiculous). -Most UNORGANIZED place I've ever worked out. Borderline a joke. -You get MAYBE 5 hours of work a week. -You come to work "on-call" sometimes... which means you MAYBE have to work. If you're needed, you get to work. If you aren't needed... well then you got prepared, drove to work and drove all the way home for NO REASON at all... wtf is that?? Who does that and thinks it's ok to do regularly? Idiotic. -Sometimes you get to come to work just to work 1 whole hour! Amazing! -You get paid a different rate when you're not doing racquet-professional work. The rate is SIGNIFICANTLY lower and is unrelated to the role your applied for but you're asked and required to do it by management. -If you like getting paid <10-20% of what the company actually profits by running the racquet sports classes, then this job is perfect for you!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Leaves much to be desired

    Nov 21, 2022 - Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture of health and wellness, a lifestyle that can be incorporated in your day to day is absolutely found here. It is nice to have a company that aligns with my life outside of the office/health club/etc. Your fellow team members as well as team leaders are great to work with and want you to succeed. Even if you do not know the path you want to take with the company, it is nice to know a path can be blazed. You never know where you can or will end up and so the opportunity for advancement is there if you have the ambition and make it known to leadership. Of course, having your membership comp'd in certain roles is a huge benefit as well. This is the first company where I've felt that I wanted to socialize in the space after my work day with my co workers.

    Cons

    The benefits package is not in line with that of a company that presents its offerings in the high caliber that LT does. There are NO paid holidays (you have it off but it's not paid). You would have to use a PTO day to cover the holiday and the PTO policy is horrific regardless of tenure. You basically accrue days off at the rate of one every 6 weeks as a new hire under 2 years. Benefits are a bit pricey if you are anything but single. 401k match is there but in this day and age, one should not stress about taking a day off for mental health or illness bc of a lack of PTO hours. In a world where so many companies offer unlimited PTO, this is a huge reason to look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Work Environment

    Nov 23, 2022 - Residential Trianer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great management, good people and good client base

    Cons

    The benefits are not great

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a company I am proud to work for.

    Sep 25, 2022 - Aquatics Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free membership, very social environment, working with kids & families does put a smile on your face.

    Cons

    Members are first, above employees. The cuts they are making to try and reach whatever ridiculous financial goals they are providing to investors, are ridiculous. Taking away from the frontline employee budget is putting more responsibility, and more hours, on the department leaders/managers. Completely taking away Regional Manager/Director positions. They were the ones who managers/leaders went to for questions, clarifications, advice… now you are left to run the business yourself while corporate is telling you to take on the front line employee responsibilities to save money. When you apply, you HAVE to select Yes to “willing to work 45-55 hours per work”. Ha, I wish I only worked 50 hours a week. The medical / dental insurance is expensive. Only 5 days of PTO offered to first year leaders / managers… and no holidays for full time team members. Only thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years because the club is either closed or hours are shortened. Hourly team members only earn time and a half on Christmas Eve and NYE. No other holidays. Even though the CEO is worth $175 million +. I have NO IDEA how they are continuing to build the “biggest & best” clubs…

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good salon

    Nov 24, 2022 - Hair Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, people, management, income, education

    Cons

    having to work all weekends

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,410 Reviews
</>Embed

Life Time Reviews FAQs

Life Time has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 5,549 reviews left anonymously by employees. 63% of employees would recommend working at Life Time to a friend and 51% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Life Time employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Life Time. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

63% of Life Time employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Life Time 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Life Time to be career development, workplace, coworkers and the cons to be culture, benefits, management.

Popular Careers with Life Time Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Life Time? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title