Life Time "gym membership" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Life Time Employee Reviews about "gym membership"

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Life Time CEO Bahram Akradi
Bahram Akradi
1,202 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "gym membership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard 

    I worked at Life Time part-time

    Pros

    Free gym membership for workers

    Cons

    No cons to share now

    Life Time2019-04-13
  2. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Life Time part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free gym membership, fun employees

    Cons

    shifts can be long and can get busy when you're working alone

    Life Time2019-11-14
  3. "Not the worst job I've had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Life Time part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership is great.

    Cons

    Lack of consistentcy and organization. Horrible and entitled members than run amuck.

    Advice to Management

    Staff the pool better during the summers. Enforce rules with members and staff. Don't open the water slides when there not enough lifeguards because the members will get upset.

    Life Time2019-11-19
  4. "Nice staff and perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Life Time part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership and a personal training session when you begin

    Cons

    I worked for the kids summer camp and we did not get a lunch break because we had to sit with the kids

    Life Time2019-10-29
  5. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer in Mount Laurel, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Life Time full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership and learn a lot

    Cons

    No pay, more about sales than actually helping people, will run you into the ground with nothing to show for it, high turnover rate, constantly changing managers. This place cares more about how they look than the safety of their members and employees. Over charge members constantly. Sexual harassment gets pushed under the rug.

    Life Time2019-11-21
  6. "You will Receive NO guidance outside of mandatory online modules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafe Manager in North East Junction, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Life Time full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Gym membership and discounts.

    Cons

    Cafe department is treated like the black sheep of the company at every location. 60 hour work weeks are basically mandatory. Unrealistic quality standards expectation with labor budget. So you the manager fill the gaps to hit goals or you get fired. Forget about enjoying summertime if you are in the north east. That's bistro season. Meaning you have to open an additional poolside cafe and Hire "reliable" college... kids and train them only to get stuck the last month of summer with little to no staff running it by yourself. Tough job. However that all being said they have a huge turn over rate at the management level. If you decide to take the challenge ask for nothing less that 70K with 15K in bonus, if you're in the North East. Chances are you wont last a year so might as well make the money and save. I lasted 3 years it was a miracle.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Build a successful training program, more hands on, If you want a first in class experience stop being so cheep with labor budget. Or be content with it being what it is Fast Casual. Remove the retail responsibilities from cafe management you don't give the managers any bonus on that revenue. Make the PT/ Nutrition team responsible for inventory, & ordering of retail and supplements. Making cafe inventory... counts to be done on Saturdays is insane it's the busiest day of the week, and the day the cafe needs to be fully engaged on the floor to gain more business.

    Show More
    Life Time2019-10-15
  7. "N/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Swim Teacher 

    I have been working at Life Time part-time

    Pros

    free gym membership open 24 hours

    Cons

    short hours of work so pay check is small

    Life Time2019-10-01
  8. "Yoga Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Yoga Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Life Time part-time

    Pros

    Free gym membership and dicounts on food

    Cons

    Not enough yoga classes, need more time options

    Life Time2019-09-13
  9. "Not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Life Time full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free gym membership is nice

    Cons

    the company changes the payout % each month, limited growth unless willing to relocate

    Advice to Management

    change the pay structure

    Life Time2019-10-17
  10. "Average summer job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Life Cafe Team Member in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Life Time part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership, outdoor pool in the summer

    Cons

    Will never let you take more than a 15 minute break no matter how long the shift is. Have to purchase food there since they have no break policy and nowhere to keep it.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more to retain employees. Give standardized breaks and either free or at cost meals.

    Life Time2019-09-25
Found 336 reviews