KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Life Time

Engaged Employer

Life Time

Add a Review

Life Time Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 251 of over 5,021 reviews

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Life Time Chairman, President, and CEO Bahram Akradi
Bahram Akradi
1,950 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Life Time and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Endless limit

    Jun 22, 2021 - Certified Personal Trainer in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lifetime provides trainers with exceptional tools and resources to be successful!

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be struggle

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    No work/life balance

    Nov 17, 2021 - Account Manager in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers, nice to work at a gym

    Cons

    LT makes work/life balance virtually impossible. With 5 days PTO and one holiday off the entire year, it makes having a life very difficult. I worked at the front desk and it is not a serious enough position to miss out on life events. I would love to see the company make changes so that it is actually a healthy way of life company because other aspects of the job are amazing. However, it is hard to excel at work when you are constantly burnt out.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Bad Company

    Nov 23, 2021 - Personal Trainer in Laguna Niguel, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, membership, members, amenities, location

    Cons

    Shady management Low pay Not paid accurately Zero work-life balance

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Lots of earning potential. Well-being of staff no longer a priority. This company has been consumed by making $$$$$$

    Oct 25, 2021 - Certified Personal Trainer in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you're willing to work hard and utilize all the earning opportunities, there's a good bit of money to be made working at Life Time.

    Cons

    It seems that as more time goes on, the company's main focus is on making more and more money and less on the quality of training or the well being of its staff. I have seen awful things being instructed via trainers to clients that are paying top dollar. I have seen trainers hired who aren't even certified to train. Managers have told trainers they don't care if they are good trainers, "just sell training". I have heard management tell staff that working out was not allowed if certain revenue goals aren't being met. In fact, staff was told they were not allowed to leave the building for a break if certain revenue goals weren't being met. During my time there, I saw staff come, work out less and gain weight under the stress of the extreme revenue producing pressure and lack of work life balance. Many staff would leave less healthy than they were when they started at Life Time. This goes completely counter to their "healthy way of life" motto.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Worked her for almost 9 years

    Oct 22, 2021 - Aquatics Assistant Manager in Savage, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free Membership Great atmosphere Working with kids

    Cons

    Pay Work life balance Hours working Energy spent Pool hours

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Depending on what manager you have, your position will either be great or it won’t

    Oct 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Warrenville, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can make some decent money Can utilize a great health club

    Cons

    Work life balance lacked Time off lacked Pay fluctuated Benefits lack Koolaid drinkers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Thoughts on previous work

    Sep 9, 2021 - Sales Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers Great development Good culture Great pay if top 10% in company

    Cons

    Very political You get the "run around" a lot Lots of meetings Work life balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    There Is Better Out There

    Oct 5, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved the co-workers and trainers I met and worked with. The free membership was nice.

    Cons

    They overwork their staff and underpay them, yet they keep building clubs and increasing prices for membership. Once a person is a member, the ethics line is blurred and that person’s story as to why they signed up is shared with everyone from each department to figure out how to get them “connected” in the club. Obviously it’s a way to squeeze more money out of members, but I know I wouldn’t want a room of 12-15 people knowing my personal reason for joining. If you have any suggestions for change, they won’t take it, they’ll just coach you out as they expect you to shut up and just roll with what you’re told to do. Management training is terrible, and they expect you to know everything immediately. They systems failed often, so processes couldn’t be completed. The running joke some of us employees always had was a “healthy way of life for everyone, but the people who actually work here.” Do not expect to get a work/life balance unless you suck up on a regular basis. I was with the company for a number of years, and I had a lot of hope that things would get better. Just don’t waste your time.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not a Long Term Career Option

    Sep 14, 2021 - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gym membership and discounts, like-minded co-workers, always adapting

    Cons

    Work-life balance, long hours, little PTO

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Would Not Recommend

    Sep 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Chanhassen, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hardworking people who care about the work.

    Cons

    No work-life balance and toxic environment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 251 Reviews

Popular Careers with Life Time Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Life Time? Share Your Experiences

or

Life Time Photos

+ Add Photo
Life Time photo of: A Corporate team member shows off his “Brawn” with mega push-ups (complete with the VP of Member Services on his back!). Our annual “Brain vs Brawn” event is a true challenge.
Life Time photo of: We want you to become a part of our Life Time family!
Life Time photo of: I smell great things cooking with this KOP LifeCafe Team!
Life Time photo of: King of Prussia Group Fitness rockstars!
Life Time photo of: Deeply connected to Life Time's mission, Alex believes Yoga is for everyone and strives to ensure his classes are fun, informative, and that everyone feels welcome.
Life Time photo of: John Hilton's not just guiding a practice or teaching Yoga, he's delivering an experience that leaves Life Time members feeling empowered and uplifted.
Life Time photo of: Life Time Fitness Talent Acquisition Team
See All Photos