LifeCare Hospitals Reviews | Glassdoor

LifeCare Hospitals Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Jim Murray
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Its very hard to provide excellent patient care when this occurs(in 4 reviews)

  • "Said we didn't know how to run a hospital, after THEY filed bankruptcy(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in West Chester, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LifeCare Hospitals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best place to work

    Cons

    Life are Hospital is my best job ever the employees work as a team to meet the patients needs.

    Advice to Management

    The staff are great.

    LifeCare Hospitals2019-08-01
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeCare Hospitals part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small business feel at hospital level

    Cons

    Corporate is less privy to day to day hospital functions

    LifeCare Hospitals2019-08-15
  3. "Full time RN cws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wound Care RN Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeCare Hospitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CWS certified. Spanish speaking but not a certified interoreter

    Cons

    Lack of autonomy and administrative support.

    Advice to Management

    Listen

    LifeCare Hospitals2019-08-06
  4. "Some good people but issues abound"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeCare Hospitals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are good people who really try to be supportive. The job is not too difficult. The environment is laid back. If you get a good manager, you can have a pleasant experience and favorable work/life balance. Decent PTO.

    Cons

    Almost non-existent 401K match. Lack of communication makes working difficult. Management seems to not fully understand how much people do and value good employees.

    LifeCare Hospitals2019-07-12
  5. "Good pay, great co workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Pewaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LifeCare Hospitals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They offer a lot of paid trainings and continuing skills and education. High pay with competitive bonus

    Cons

    Short staff, low budget, 5:1 nurse patient ratio

    LifeCare Hospitals2019-07-08
  6. "Wonderful experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeCare Hospitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay with great benefits

    Cons

    They can get really overstaffed... which results to frequent call offs

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work. Communication flow effortlessly

    LifeCare Hospitals2019-06-30
  7. "It was the best of times..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LifeCare Hospitals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, great value in the work

    Cons

    Financial instability in the industry

    Advice to Management

    None

    LifeCare Hospitals2019-06-27
  8. "your place you work is what make it!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - COTA/L in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeCare Hospitals part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Patients are the most important part of my job, to give them a better quality of life and to be their advocate. always use therapeutic use of self to help develop a rapport with the patients

    Cons

    staff calling off frequently that interfers with my ADL care and other treatments for the day I need to be more flexible and redo my plan

    Advice to Management

    For management to be caring/understanding with the employees and patients also also someone who has good problem solving skills and to respect the people working for you and for the patients

    LifeCare Hospitals2019-06-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intake Admissions RN Behavioral Health in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LifeCare Hospitals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Initially ...believed in their 'Mission."

    Cons

    inadequate staffing resulting in patient care violations and low morale; the "powers that be"reportedly not engaged with staff; new management was devaluing of me; surprise "progressive discipline " with NO FORMER discipline. Unwarranted. Undeserved. false allegations. Company fired CEO who hired me. turmoil. bankruptcy. ( I'm using no names here but those who have taken part in my "need" to resign know this applies to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm sure my advice would not be respected as I was disrespected with unwarranted "disciplinary meeting." Please staff appropriately and respect patient rights and retain good employees by staffing appropriately.

    LifeCare Hospitals2019-06-12
  10. "Great hospital to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Liaison 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LifeCare Hospitals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hospital staff was great to work with.

    Cons

    The hospital closed as of April 2019.

    Advice to Management

    Take an active part in resolving problems.

    LifeCare Hospitals2019-05-02
Found 93 reviews