LifeWay Christian Resources Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
LifeWay Christian Resources President Ben Mandrell
Ben Mandrell
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "very stressful for managers, low pay(in 20 reviews)

  • "Run as a ministry not as a business(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best Job I've Ever Had"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EBook Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remote work Awesome co-workers Relaxed environment Transparent line of Management - good communicators and honest

    Cons

    Slightly less than industry pay

    Continue reading
    LifeWay Christian Resources2019-10-14

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    April 27, 2020Recruitment Marketing and Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to have you on our team!

  2. "Great company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Web Developer 

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time

    Pros

    Meaningful work; great benefits; family-oriented.

    Cons

    Compensation below market value for comparable position

    LifeWay Christian Resources2020-05-21
  3. "Strategic Ministry with World-Wide Impact"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Store Manager 

    I worked at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time

    Pros

    Strong ministry focus on helping people know Jesus Christ and seek His kingdom.

    Cons

    Decision to close all brick and mortar retail stores.

    Continue reading
    LifeWay Christian Resources2020-04-30
  4. "Great coworkers, management, and learning opportunities but the business is struggling with constant layoffs."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are many opportunities to learn new skills or pivot into a new skill set.

    Cons

    Jobs are always being “deleted” and compensation is lower than market value across the board.

    Continue reading
    LifeWay Christian Resources2020-05-12
  5. "What a Shame!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Christian environment. Able to help and change lives. Fulfilling work

    Cons

    Run as a ministry not as a business. Basic retail practices were not applied to everyday operation of stores. Stores could have been salvaged with right leadership at top.

    Continue reading
    LifeWay Christian Resources2020-05-09
  6. "Wonderful"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LifeWay Christian Resources part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros were how loving and understanding the working environment. I got to help so many people met Jesus right where they are and children find their first bible. I loved it.

    Cons

    The pay wasn't the best.

    LifeWay Christian Resources2020-04-04
  7. "Greeting guests that enter the LifeWay Headquarters"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uplifting and encouraging environment. Great coworkers.

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    LifeWay Christian Resources2020-03-28

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    April 27, 2020Recruitment Marketing and Communications Specialist

    We are grateful to have you on our team here at LifeWay!

  8. "Work From Anywhere Friendly"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work from anywhere program, up-to-date tech stacks, impactful culture.

    Cons

    Lack of executive leadership, some teams are short handed.

    LifeWay Christian Resources2020-03-13
  9. "Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Strategist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and team to work in.

    Cons

    Compensation could be a bit better.

    LifeWay Christian Resources2020-02-20
  10. "BEST Customers in the World"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    LifeWay has and will always have the best customers to work for. They drove me to serve them to the best of my ability every day. Working in a smaller city, staff and customers became family.

    Cons

    With the non-profit status, it was hard to entice part-time employees with pay. The staff was wonderful but most retailers in the area could compensate them more or provide more hours for them.

    LifeWay Christian Resources2020-02-18
Found 318 reviews