KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Lifeway Christian Resources

Engaged Employer

Lifeway Christian Resources

Add a Review

Lifeway Christian Resources Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 435 reviews

3.4
15%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lifeway Christian Resources President Ben Mandrell
Ben Mandrell
2 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Lifeway Christian Resources and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    May 21, 2020 - Web Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Meaningful work; great benefits; family-oriented.

    Cons

    Compensation below market value for comparable position

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Awesome individual contributors and teams held back by struggling executive leadership team.

    Dec 10, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Really great team atmosphere. - Managers genuinely care about their reports and their families. - Really good engineering leaders that promote innovation, clean architecture principles, and faith-based values. - Early adopters of "remote first" work. - Pretty good 401k match.

    Cons

    - In general, the outlook of Lifeway's future is not great. The company has had to consolidate significantly to keep the lights on (even before COVID). - The day to day operations of the business tend to muddy the missional aspects of the work that happens. (Maybe that was just me) - With the lack of many good digital product/platform ideas, there are less and less interesting engineering opportunities at the company. - Top heavy decision making. This one is especially challenging with a more newly tenured CITO who does not operate in a way suitable for a healthy engineering organization. - A very deadline heavy environment, mostly pushed from ignorance at the top. - Mediocre health benefits compared to market. - Pay-scale well below market value. This problem is extra apparent for individual contributor's who are not vocal in pursuing raises/advocating for themselves.

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Work From Anywhere Friendly

    Mar 13, 2020 - Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work from anywhere program, up-to-date tech stacks, impactful culture.

    Cons

    Lack of executive leadership, some teams are short handed.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Job I've Ever Had

    Oct 14, 2019 - EBook Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work Awesome co-workers Relaxed environment Transparent line of Management - good communicators and honest

    Cons

    Slightly less than industry pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Lifeway Christian Resources Response

    Recruitment Marketing and Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to have you on our team!

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Was headed in the right direction

    Feb 15, 2019 - Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was on a good team, enjoyed remote work, and most of the projects were fun.

    Cons

    Constant power play from other teams and the business side. Terrible leadership on business side. Lots of pointing fingers and blame. Under paid and little to no raises.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good People, High Quality of Life

    Aug 8, 2016 - Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management treats people like people, and are there to support. There is a lot of trust that runs both ways, and it makes the environment and quality of life very good. Remote work policies are surprisingly progressive, and coworkers are eager to teach and support employee development.

    Cons

    Overall compensation could be higher, but benefits are good. Company is not growing, and employees tend to stay for large portions of their careers, so don't expect rapid upward mobility

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Software developer

    Apr 22, 2018 - Software Development Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, co-workers, and management.

    Cons

    Horrible work/life balance. I missed valuable time with my family because I was forced to work late hours resolving a problem with very little direction.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall great culture, emphasis on Christian values masks work-related issues

    Jan 12, 2018 - Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall great Christian culture. Flexibility with hours, sick time, working remotely, etc. Semi annual reviews with opportunities for rate increase. Very informal work environment (at least for IT). Time allowed for personal development/growth, opportunities to dabble in new languages & frameworks (they're really trying to be bleeding edge on their newer applications).

    Cons

    They gave the architects carte blanche to redesign the flagship website and they really made a mess out of the whole development phase. They weren't "bad people" per se, they just made bad decisions and they weren't held accountable. Spent more time being micromanaged by architects than making our customers happy. Launch was repeatedly delayed because of easily avoidable design gaffes. Superiority complex towards other teams who weren't using the latest and greatest, even though those teams tended to be more productive and deliver more value to the customer. Rules of agile were enforced or bent as necessary. My competency in the framework being used was implicitly interpreted as an endorsement of the design, so there were times I felt that words were put in my mouth. After a particularly spectacular episode in which our builds failed for a week straight because of a design flaw - builds that other teams relied on for their own work - it was said of the responsible party, "If they were going to fire anyone, they'd fire him, but they can't because he's too valuable." Finger pointing and blame shifting ensued, and management took the excuses at face value. So, great Christian culture, to be sure, but no real semblance of responsibility or discipline where it counts, ostensibly in the name of "forgiveness," so problem people who are perceived as "valuable" are allowed to keep doing what they're doing.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    productive work environment

    Feb 17, 2017 - Java Developer in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have learned how to work in a team. All of my team members are very helpful and made the work environment very enjoyable without any disturbances.

    Cons

    I feel everything is good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great IT Culture

    Jan 10, 2018 - Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Constant opportunities to grow and learn. Fast moving, change is the norm. The pursuit of best-practices and cutting-edge is encouraged. Culture of openness and collaboration.

    Cons

    Quality of product/project management varies.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with Lifeway Christian Resources Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Lifeway Christian Resources? Share Your Experiences

or