Lincoln Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Lincoln Center Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Lincoln Center CEO Russell Granet
Russell Granet
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very long hours for the fact that it was unpaid (nights and weekends)(in 5 reviews)

  • "You will not see and should not expect to see minorities in Middle and Senior Management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lincoln Center full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Incredible team, hardworking, fun. You learn a ton really fast and get to experience incredible performances and meet amazing people.

    Cons

    Very busy, so not a lot of time for personal downtime, BUT the work you're doing is fun!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Lincoln Center2018-09-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Zero job security, no benefits, lowest wrung, highest union potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lincoln Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fulfilling work in crafting patron experience. Plenty of opportunity to make hour cap if you are neurotypical, white, female.

    Cons

    Not a representative experience of the arts. Absolutely no upward mobility. This role qualifies for organization and card-check unionizing under ATPAM, but LCPA routinely hires early 20-somethings/aspiring white female actors to build a culture of corporatism/subservience, in order to prevent unionizing.

    Lincoln Center2019-02-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The red tape is real... but so is that benefits package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lincoln Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brand name recognition is great; people respect the organization. Very kind and thoughtful co-workers, some minimal flexibility with telecommuting. Great to feel like you're working for an organization whose mission you support. Access to unique experiences, inspiring surroundings and kind, passionate people who enjoy their chosen field and want to help others enjoy theirs. Forward-thinking and inclusive group mindset.

    Cons

    Like most arts organizations, the pay is meh. As a part-time employee here with other jobs outside, I'm pretty sure my total annual income is as much or more than my supervisor's here, because I can earn more money doing just about anything else. Almost continual restructuring within the organization means anything involving HR (hiring, raises, promotions, role changes) takes months. Really. The red tape is real,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If there was a way to donate most or all of my part-time paycheck to get healthcare benefits through Lincoln Center, I'd do it in a heartbeat and Lincoln Center would have my loyalty forever.

    Lincoln Center2018-12-11
  4. "Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts Umbrella Org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lincoln Center full-time

    Pros

    smart colleagues, exposure to great art - much complementary, amazing benefit package, room for growth, beautiful and well located campus

    Cons

    poor internal communication, leadership churn, somewhat factional environment

    Lincoln Center2018-11-07
  5. "Good Location, Nice Surrondings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lincoln Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice location, right next to Julliard, on Lincoln Center campus. Work in the same building where a lot of Julliard students live. Cafeteria on lobby floor. Prestigious organization (if you're into Performing Arts) Yearly raises with review Spacious cubicles.

    Cons

    A lot of the processes, procedures, and even some of the people are antiquated & disorganized If you're not in Marketing or P&D, the culture is a bit flat, kind of boring. Not a large emphasis or culture of collaboration & team work. A bit cliquey Some of the people working here aren't of the highest caliber or quality.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in some younger people who have fresh ideas and perspectives Promote more of a collaborative culture within departments

    Lincoln Center2018-11-06
  6. "Working at met was a experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Lincoln Center full-time

      Pros

      Great pay, great crew, learned a lot

      Cons

      Long hours and night time hours

      Lincoln Center2018-09-12
    • Helpful (6)

      "Waste of the best years of my life."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lincoln Center full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great people work at Lincoln Center. The best people leave as soon as is feasible.

      Cons

      If you’re a person of color, you can expect to stay in the position that you were hired for. In more than 5 years, I can only think of two people of color who have been promoted.

      Advice to Management

      Give all of your employees opportunities to grow and learn. Diversity STILL needs work, a lot of work. Maybe stop wasting money on stupid ideas and pay your lowest level employees more. We’re struggling. Stop letting idiots run things.

      Lincoln Center2018-08-31
    • "Lincoln Center - not what you think"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Vice President Or Events in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Lincoln Center full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It is an extremely prestigious organization and you will be able to take in many amazing shows and evets.

      Cons

      It is an extremely fragmented organization - and the paperwork and bureaucracy is staggering. If you are used to getting things done in an expeditious way, brace yourself.

      Advice to Management

      Look at how to streamline your procedures. Look at providing on-boarding help for new employees.

      Lincoln Center2018-07-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "Very rewarding experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Lincoln Center full-time

      Pros

      passionate colleagues nice office environment work is intense & rewarding, a lot to learn treat interns nicely - activities, lectures, overtime rate

      Cons

      a few self-important people in management LCPA is dominated by privileged white people. they are making progress in terms of female representation. but they need to do a better job in hiring POC.

      Advice to Management

      Give POC more chances in senior management positions

      Lincoln Center2018-03-03
    • "regret working there"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Lincoln Center full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Hardworking lower- to middle-management teams. Excellent education programs and leadership.

      Cons

      Horrible senior management. Screaming in the halls. Backstabbing. Unprofessional behavior all around. No help from HR. Antiquated systems.

      Lincoln Center2018-03-06
    Found 71 reviews