Cover image for Lingoda
Logo

Lingoda

Engaged Employer

Lingoda

Add a Review

Lingoda Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 182 of over 372 reviews
3.5
66% Recommend to a Friend
Lingoda CEO Dominic Rowell
0% Approve of CEO

Found 160 of over 372 reviews

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Lingoda CEO Dominic Rowell
Dominic Rowell
1 Rating

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,937

976 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Lingoda has a very supportive team for both teachers and students.(in 19 reviews)
  • "Great colleagues(in 14 reviews)
  • "Flexible working hours allowed for many, Easy interview(in 11 reviews)
  • "I love working with Lingoda's material and find flexible hours.(in 10 reviews)
  • "great people, who unfortunately tend to not stay in the company for long(in 9 reviews)
Cons
  • "Pay is low for the work being done outside of classtime to familiarise ourselves with class material and leave feedback for students.(in 28 reviews)
  • "Low salary and many penalties(in 14 reviews)
  • "Management is already reacting to this, but in the long term, official and effective interdepartmental decision(in 11 reviews)
  • "Half of the students don't know they have reports (great communication on Lingoda's part!)(in 7 reviews)
  • "there are very little classes available each week which makes it impossible for a teacher to do this more than 8 hours per week;(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Flexible schedule, easy to use platform, helpful staff

    Oct 30, 2021 - Online ESL Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Choose your class schedule as classes pop up during the day up to about a month in advance. - Schedule 80 or more classes a month (or as few as you want) at 11 Euros an hour. - Fantastic cancellation policy for cancellations 24 hours in advance or more: cancel as many classes as you need to 24 hours or more in advance, and there is no penalty or disciplinary action taken. - Feedback sessions with teacher team advisors can be scheduled if you need advice or to discuss issues.

    Cons

    - The teacher rating system seems inconsistent or unfair at times, though it does not necessarily affect pay or ability to schedule classes. Some students will write very positive comments about you as a teacher like "best teacher I ever had," but just a couple of bad ratings (based on 1-5/5 points) will bring your numerical rating down to the teacher average rating or below at the end of the month.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pay rate

    Sep 27, 2021 - Online English Teacher in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, timely payments, trusted.

    Cons

    Pay rate is very low unfortunately

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Lingoda team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Flexible Teaching

    Aug 21, 2021 - Online English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love teaching adult students from around the world! The teaching materials they provide are well made.

    Cons

    Teachers need to frequently check the calendar to add classes to teach.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great job and good experience!

    Oct 7, 2020 - Teacher in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of fun. It's the future of language teaching without question!

    Cons

    Like any teaching situation there are challenges, but the management and technical support teams are quite helpful!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Lingoda Response

    People and Culture Team

    We love this review and will happily share it with the support team! It's great to hear that you enjoy your work, despite challenges in the classroom. We also think that e-learning will make quality education more accessible to people all over the World in the near future. But even the best software won't replace a dedicated teacher. Thank you for your dedication!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Flexibility, Helpful Management

    Jun 24, 2020 - Freelance English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The scheduling system allows for ultimate flexibility both in when you teach and what you teach, as each class is selected by the teacher.

    Cons

    Because of the flexible scheduling system , it can be hit or miss when it comes to the time slots students want to book classes.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Sep 30, 2019 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I recently joined Lingoda and I love the company. Their content and support are really great! I recommend this job for anyone who needs a side gig. It's a great way to meet people from all over the world, all in the comfort of your own home.

    Cons

    Pay isn't stellar but it's great for a side gig.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Lingoda Response

    HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the positive feedback. We keep our students at the centre of everything we do here at Lingoda so we are glad to hear that you enjoy working with them. The intercultural exchange that occurs every day at Lingoda is wonderful to take part in. The opportunity to meet people from all over the world in a virtual classroom is an experience we are fortunate to facilitate. Enjoy your upcoming classes!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    So far so good!

    Mar 7, 2018 - Teacher in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been working with Lingoda for about a month and I've really enjoyed so far. Pros: Unless the students specifically ask for an individual lesson, all the lesson materials are provided by Lingoda. Which makes preparing very easy. So far the teacher "help desk" has been very prompt and has always kindly answered my questions. You get to meet and interact with people from all over the world I think the pay is fair for the amount of work and hours that we teach (Lingoda makes it clear in the contract that teaching is only a part-time job. Therefore you should have another source of income as well) Flexible hours!!

    Cons

    So far I've encountered very few problems: Student(s) might not show-up to a class There is very little teacher based training, so be prepared to just jump right in. However, there is training on how to operate the programs and most questions are answered. There is no teacher to teacher interaction (which may be done purpose and can also be a "pro" as well)

    3 people found this review helpful

    Lingoda Response

    Head of Operations

    We are very happy that you appreciate the fact that you can chose to use our lesson material, as well as the effort that we put in supporting our teachers every day. You also mentioned a couple of points that we are very proud of: our company is international since its conception and flexibility is, as we usually say, "in our very DNA". Not only by working hours, as you underlined, but also when solving any issue with teachers and students. Thank you very much for raising the issue of students not showing up to lessons sometimes. We would like to reassure you that we analyze this on a regular basis as well as thoroughly investigating how to help students to remember their classes. We also appreciate your suggestions about the lack of systematic teacher training and teacher-to-teacher interaction. Our main goal is to provide an attractive secondary job to freelance teachers who are, in most cases, already engaged professionally in other teaching activities. This is why teacher preparation is not one of Lingoda's priorities at this point.

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok so far . . .

    Jan 19, 2018 - English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can set your own schedule, the teaching material is great, and you get to teach some very interesting international students.

    Cons

    The salary isn’t very high, but I haven’t worked her long enough to know how fast you can move up the pay scale if you do a good job.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    When you pay peanuts you get monkeys

    Oct 1, 2016 - Professor in Shangri La, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    All the experts will stay away

    Cons

    Salary is less than a cleaner. Need to say more ?

    Continue reading
    47 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Miserable

    Nov 21, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Racism, sexism, comments about appearance and much more go and find out right now here at Lingoda

    Cons

    I was aware that people here are not the best professionals in business and didn’t expect much.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 160 Reviews
</>Embed

Lingoda Reviews FAQs

Lingoda has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 372 reviews left anonymously by employees. 66% of employees would recommend working at Lingoda to a friend and 59% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -14% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Lingoda employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Lingoda. This rating has decreased by -12% over the last 12 months.

66% of Lingoda employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Lingoda 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Lingoda to be career development, culture, coworkers and the cons to be benefits, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Lingoda Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Lingoda? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Lingoda Photos

+ Add Photo
Lingoda photo of: Say Hello to Javier - Lingoda Summer Party
Lingoda photo of: Say cheeeeese! - Lingoda Summer Party
Lingoda photo of: Lingoda Summer Party
Lingoda photo of: Fun in the Sun - Lingoda Summer Party
Lingoda photo of: Let's canoe - Lingoda Summer Party
Lingoda photo of: Here's just some of our amazing Lingoda team in their home offices💻🙌 Stay home, stay safe and keep learning🤓 We've got this💪 #StayHomeKeepLearning #WFH
Lingoda photo of: Back to the office - But it's still pretty empty. Safety first!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 372 Lingoda reviews submitted anonymously by Lingoda employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Lingoda is right for you.