KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Linode

Engaged Employer

Linode

Add a Review

Linode Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 of over 53 reviews

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Linode CEO Chris Aker (no image)
Chris Aker
36 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

468

64 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Company has some growing pains

    Jun 18, 2013 - Linux Technical Support in Galloway, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company culture, people are casual and geeky in a good way Everyone in any job position can contribute code or documentation Education benefits Great health insurance plan

    Cons

    Low number of vacation/sick/personal days Few opportunities for promotion - most people leave after 1 - 3 years Expected to work outside of your office hours Low Pay compared to other companies in the industry Poor work/life balance

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Think twice before working here

    Dec 20, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Linode is a good place to geek out, for a while. You can learn a lot about Linux, system administration, and web hosting by working here, but the novelty wears off after about four months when you learn everything. The staff is mostly comprised of smart males in their 20s who are socially inept, which is pretty standard for this type of work environment. This company is located in a rural area of southern New Jersey in what essentially amounts to the middle of nowhere. Because of this, the company has implemented several impressive tactics for recruiting new employees, like flying candidates out for interviews and paying relocation expenses. Salaries are generally very competitive, especially for the location. Benefits are average.

    Cons

    The founder is a megalomaniac. Because he bootstrapped the company and never accepted outside investment, he does whatever he wants, usually to the detriment of the company. The work environment is demotivating. Employee morale was at an all time low before I left. There is no career path for support staff. The company's long term outlook is poor. Linode has been hacked twice in the last two years, the employee turnover rate is about 25%, and there's no cohesive marketing strategy. Customers are leaving for Digital Ocean and other competitors. So my advice is to steer clear of Linode. This company has the worst work environment and company culture I've ever seen.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Misleading

    Mar 26, 2014 - Linux Technical Support in Galloway, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great stepping stone for those who are interested in the industry.

    Cons

    ...but there's that 2 year non-compete that you signed when you got hired! * Pay is a fraction of the industry standard * Located in "Silicon Galloway", aka nowhere. * CEO is surrounded by an echo chamber of his old friends in the exec team. * Stagnant growth * Annual performance reviews are regularly late, by just 6 or so months. * If you have an idea on improving the company, you can put it on the list and cross your fingers that someone from the exec team will pass off a non-answer in a year or so. * Execs try to push the idea that the company is a family and has great culture. This may have been true a year or so ago, but it is no longer the case. Linode recently introduced Linode Lunches and stocked the pantry with snacks. This is the definition of bread and circuses.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Avoid at all costs

    Jul 31, 2014 - Linux Technical Support in Galloway, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some people are really great. Working with people who aren't "managers" is usually good. Benefits are okay. Office isn't one giant cube farm.

    Cons

    Salary is abysmal and well under market rate. Cost of living in NJ is comparable to San Francisco in all ways except rent but Linode pays like it's located in Texas. Dubious business practices. You will likely be asked to lie to customers about incidents. I have been asked to lie about security incidents and outages. You get a laptop when you start working there which seems like a nice perk. They really only do this to make it easier for you to work when you're not actually on shift. Work-life balance isn't really a thing here. CEO is a micromanager who surrounds himself with other micromanagers and yes men. Whoever you answer to will either micromanage you or not have the gall to do anything about any issues. The CEO will get his way one way or another even when presented with evidence that shows his idea/management is bad. Incidents that would result in firing at any other company are swept under the rug or ignored completely. But as soon as one of these reviews appears there's a witch hunt to see who posted it and people have been fired without proof. The company is now getting these reviews deleted to make their rating look better. Hiding the problem != fixing the problem.

    Continue reading
    21 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    One Exciting Company!

    Sep 3, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Watching this company grow over the past few years has been quite the journey. We went from a tiny, flat business to this now dynamic business which more than doubled in size since my start. Throughout my career, Linode has offered me a fantastic working environment which allowed me to be creative in my work rather than being micro managed and stuck working under strict responsibilities. I have the flexibility I need to grow personally while helping the company grow. The culture is awesome, and I get to work with some of the smartest and most fun people I have ever worked with. Benefits are also fantastic; this company really knows how to treat its employees right.

    Cons

    Linode has gone through some turnover and some growing pains, which I believe is a temporary condition of the maturity level of the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Don't work here as a content creator - authorship credit will be removed

    Sep 29, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Galloway, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's easy to get in the door because of the unusual location, so qualified applicants are limited Some coworkers are really nice and knowledgable

    Cons

    I am writing this review specifically because authorship credits on content are being removed for former employees. If you work in content creation as a marketer, technical writer, blogger, etc., you will be able to have your name on the material you create only for as long as you work there. Thankfully I saved all of my work in text files, but I can now no longer link to content that I created at Linode for my portfolio without saying "By the way, Linode has a policy of removing all authorship credit for former employees." Full disclosure - I was offered a much better career opportunity, salary, and work location to leave for an industry rival. When I left it was nothing personal; just the better choice for my career. Now that I see how Linode is treating it's former employees, I'm glad I left when I did. Management has a pattern of being vindictive against former employees.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a great place to work

    Nov 17, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Usual benefits, nothing too stellar. Some of the people here are phenomenal.

    Cons

    The Bad stuff: No career opportunities here with exceedingly high turn over rate Compensation well below market rate No mentoring because everyone is a junior level employee Long hours with no overtime CEO is very "my way or the highway" to a fault The even worse stuff: Several interpersonal issues that were not handled by HR, HR exists but may as well not with how useful they are at handling complaints I was asked to lie to customers about more than one security breach Executives take extended trips and leave no one in charge. When they're in the office, they're not usually effective managers anyway There's a lot of drama at the office now which is draining to deal with Overall: This is an okay job if you're just starting out, but don't linger longer than 2 years or so otherwise your career will stagnate.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Disappointing, I hope the company improves

    Jan 24, 2015 - Technical Support in Galloway, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Co-workers are really intelligent and fun people to work with. We would all really pull together to get the job done, and teach each other new things as well. * You get a mac book you can use at home and work. * You get free virtual machines to do with as you like. * They do have a weekly paid lunch, but I'd rather have that money put toward salary * You will learn a lot, mostly from your fellow co-workers

    Cons

    * Pay is not competitive, similar companies like Digital Ocean and Rack Space pay twice as much * PTO is lower than the national average for service workers, and much lower for tech workers * Location is very expensive and there isn't much to do (rent runs ~1200/month, not including utilities) * Poor work/life balance. You are regularly expected to work during your time off * Everything you do is micromanaged which makes being productive difficult * High turnover rate * No work from home opportunities

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Disappointing

    Jan 27, 2015 - Linux Technical Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    + Great if you know nothing about Linux and you are looking to get started, you can learn a lot + Medical plan is pretty decent (you pay nothing for yourself) + Regularly offer free lunches, the occasional breakfast and the rare dinner + The people are stellar (with the exception of management), everybody has done something significant, from major websites, games, and others, it seems everybody has done something interesting and meaningful.

    Cons

    - The pay is absolutely terrible. - Time off plan is sub par and it is often difficult to use your time off benefits due to an extreme shortage of staff. - Tons of stress because of the work load and lack of staff to do said work. - Performance reviews are consistently done late. - Raises are small and few and far between, even if you negotiate well. - Management is ineffective, you will regularly be dealing with people who have zero experience in the industry, no managerial skills, extremely unprofessional and, in general, are poor managers. - Company refuses to adapt. Many people leave because of the poor location, but most said they will gladly stay (despite all the negatives) if they could work remotely. Management will _absolutely not_ budge on this. This is concerning as somebody who wants to work remotely firstly, but even more concerning because the company is suffering greatly due to a lack of staff. One would think that if a company was demonstrably suffering because of a lack of manpower, the company would relax outdated views like no remote work, but that will not occur. - The CEO regularly micromanages everything, getting to the point where every single pull request must be approved or denied by him. Lots of work is wasted because a project was carried out in a way he would not do himself and must be done to conform to his outdated ideas of how things should work. - Absolutely no room for advancement. Every department is so understaffed, even if you are 100% qualified for another position, you will not be promoted because departments can't afford to lose anybody. Prior to my departure, there was a ban on promoting from within because of this reason. Management should not toy with people's careers because they are ineffective at attracting desirable candidates.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing.

    May 3, 2015 - Linux Technical Support in Galloway, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * The pay is great. It's not super-high, but it's far more than the national average wage, and if you know how to make your money work, you can easily live comfortably on what they pay. * The people are amazing. Most people are super knowledgeable, and the higher-ups are down to earth. They take suggestions seriously too. It's not every job where you can be the lowest rung on the ladder and get a meeting with the CEO (who takes what you say seriously) * Lunch. Our office Ninja kills it with the lunches every week <3 * Flexible hours. You usually get the shift you want. The scheduling manager is great about that stuff.

    Cons

    Egos. Working in a company like this, there are a LOT of egos that butt heads, especially on the support floor. Some people think they're gods, and quite frankly they have no idea what they're doing. ONLY downside to this company, and it's not really the company's fault.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 52 Reviews

Linode Reviews FAQs

Linode has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5, based on over 53 reviews left anonymously by employees. 91% of employees would recommend working at Linode to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Linode employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Linode. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

91% of Linode employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Linode 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Linode to be benefits, culture, coworkers and the cons to be management, career development, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Linode Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Linode? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Linode Photos

+ Add Photo
Linode photo of: HQ - Old City, Philadelphia - N3RD St.
Linode photo of: Lobby
Linode photo of: Linode
Linode photo of: Headquarters
Linode photo of: Chris Aker, CEO &amp; Owner
Linode photo of: Linode

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Linode Job Seekers Also Viewed

DigitalOcean Logo
DigitalOcean

4.3

243 Reviews
Compare