Lionbridge Linguist Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Linguist

Lionbridge Linguist Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lionbridge CEO John Fennelly
John Fennelly
3 Ratings
  1. "On contract employment with Lionbridge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linguist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lionbridge for less than a year

    Pros

    Team-oriented environment, exciting clients, innovative projects

    Cons

    Miscommunication between offices, less than thorough training

    Advice to Management

    Foster better communication across the company platform

    Lionbridge2017-02-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Nice side-gig, easy and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linguist 

    I have been working at Lionbridge part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Transcribing isn't hard, just listening to audio files and typing what you hear - Work on your own schedule - Adjust hours to meet your needs, no minimum hours and can work up to 24 hours a week

    Cons

    - Pay isn't great, and no opportunity for a salary review

    Lionbridge2019-03-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Fun place but bad managemnet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linguist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lionbridge for less than a year

    Pros

    fun and easy job. Salary is not bad

    Cons

    slow and bad management. no opportunity to grow

    Advice to Management

    listen what your employee said

    Lionbridge2016-09-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Linguist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linguist in Washington, DC

    I worked at Lionbridge full-time

    Pros

    - good colleagues - growth and development opportunities

    Cons

    - company's unwillingness to give salary raises - management was not always up to the task

    Advice to Management

    Do your best to listen to the employees. Make more activities to engage the employees and make them feel happy.

    Lionbridge2016-08-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Linguist Opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linguist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lionbridge full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional and dynamic environment, job security, career growth opportunities to a point.

    Cons

    Salary not tied to job performance, but title. Raises and other financial incentives are difficult to come by. Work/Life balance can be a challenge, though this is partly the nature of the industry in general, not just this company.

    Advice to Management

    Establish an employee reward system to secure commitment and a return on training investment over the long haul.

    Lionbridge2015-10-28
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Don't take a tech contractor job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linguistic Specialist in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lionbridge for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a job and not much else. Most stressful part of job is finding things to do.

    Cons

    No benefits. No paid time off. No sick leave. (If you get sick, you don't get paid. So don't get sick.) No holiday pay. No advancement opportunity. Disinterested management.

    Lionbridge2014-02-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Once you are in you will lose your personal life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linguist in Noida
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lionbridge full-time

    Pros

    Work from home Some people are supportive

    Cons

    They want work in tight guidelines which they have set. No facility of food. No facility of transport in 12.30 to 9.30 pm shift No respect of your work. Your suggestions doesn’t matter to them. Poor management except some people

    Advice to Management

    Please work on your management and give opportunities to them who really deserves it. Stop them who are just mailing to show that they are working. No support for in-house team who are working very hard. Provide basic facilities to your employees.

    Lionbridge2019-05-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Linguist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linguist in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lionbridge full-time

    Pros

    Global enviroment, great opportunity, linguistic diversity, good salary, good benefits

    Cons

    Profesional growth limited, little knowledge about Company prjects, studying hours,

    Lionbridge2018-06-05
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Worst Expetiance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linguist in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lionbridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is no pros and do not recommend!

    Cons

    Company is worst to work. Pay scale is not up to the mark and Managers think juniors like cattle. They wont concern you as human. For me its my wrong choice as I have to travel 30 km per day and asked to get work from home and they said be a freelancer and will cut the pay-scale to more then half! And they hire line managers who doesn't know about the process. They will deduct the portion of the salary and will give...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please be human!

    Lionbridge2018-04-22

    Lionbridge Response

    June 5, 2018

    We're sorry your experience hasn't been what you expected. We don't cut people's pay in half and we have a great facility and team in Bengaluru. Please feel free to contact your HR lead or our country head directly to discuss your situation. - Lionbridge CEO

  10. "Linguist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linguistic QA in Helsinki, Southern Finland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lionbridge

    Pros

    Negotiable salary. Great staff and managers. Very professional. Understanding recruiters. Highly recommend.

    Cons

    Workload is not much for a freelancer

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for your good job Elena and the team

    Lionbridge2017-12-09

    Lionbridge Response

    January 9, 2018

    Thanks for the review - Lionbridge CEO

Found 13 reviews