Lionbridge Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Lionbridge Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lionbridge CEO John Fennelly
John Fennelly
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Overall cheap but fair company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Test Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lionbridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are very knowledgeable, but very busy.

    Cons

    LB likes highly skilled people for cheap. If you're not willing to take a pay cut for your skills, look elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Pay people what they are worth if you really want to retain them. Communicate better across projects to move people to other projects, instead of letting them go.

    Lionbridge2017-03-28
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Shady company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Test Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lionbridge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lower management was personable and appreciative. Easy job. Hiring process for the project I was on was essentially non-existent so that is a plus for those that hate interviews (although it also seemed skeptical until you show up at the location they tell you and find out it is a legit job.)

    Cons

    Terrible HR from the day I started until almost 2 years later when I left. Initially it took them 6 weeks to my paycheck to me because of internal input errors. My address was correct in one place but not the other. I know others that have had similar experiences. Then there were more Payroll errors as I left too and they initially shorted me approximately $800. I did eventually get all the money that they owed me, but...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your Human Resources. It can take you a long way. Also treat your employees well and they will be way more productive.

    Lionbridge2016-10-05
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Stepping stone for better opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Test Engineer in Boise, ID
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lionbridge

    Pros

    - Great for entry level experience in Software Testing - Most employees willing to go above and beyond - small 401k Matching, mediocre health insurance offering

    Cons

    - Unprofessional and gossipy work environment - Lack of stability - Using aged equipment and software that is not up to date. (CRT Monitors, Windows environments were not updated to 7 until much later) - Only path to a full time tester is through part-time work; which often consists of full-time hours for at least a year before even being considered for full-time position. Most employees get "full time" only if their...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Salary and titles should match job responsibilities; management support is needed to continual workforce development to retain and create value in employees.

    Lionbridge2016-06-10
  4. Helpful (3)

    "A stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Test Engineer in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lionbridge

    Pros

    Variety of projects coming down the pipe to work on and lots of things to learn in most projects.

    Cons

    Low pay with no raises

    Lionbridge2015-06-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management, otherwise decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Fort Smith, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lionbridge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great and the company is growing. They are very good at negotiating their contracts with the companies to which they provide contractors. Fairly secure job.

    Cons

    Working at Lionbridge as a contractor has been a fairly uneventful experience. There is little high-level managerial oversight. HR has been very poor at responding to queries. Corporate policies are barely enforced for contractors, probably because most of them are overseas or brought in from overseas. The common wisdom is that contractors do not get raises, even for contractors that are full-time equivalent employees...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A stronger high-level managerial oversight would help keep things working smoothly. Giving raises to long-term contractors will reduce turnover in some situations. Passive-aggressive management is not a good way to handle resources; I should never have to hear about a management problem from a peer.

    Lionbridge2014-09-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Tedious and exhausting work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lionbridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They try to hire smart people. They get employees involved with the interview process. They (generally) try to get you the equipment you need.

    Cons

    They rarely get you the equipment with adequate specs. They are a very corporate environment (in that, if you want to deviate from SOP, it's going to be a big ol' CF). Pay is awful for software engineers.

    Advice to Management

    Let go of control and let employees get things done without feeling like just another mindless worker drone.

    Lionbridge2013-03-19
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Not As Good As You Might Think"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lionbridge

    Pros

    Lionbridge gets contracts. They provide testing services to many companies: HP, Belkin, Palm, and many others. They are always hiring.

    Cons

    Lionbridge gets contracts because they can undercut the competition. They can do this because they pay their employees next to nothing. Test engineers are paid very little, and, since most of them are flex employees (no benefits, no job security), they simply lay off a few when their margins need to look good. Career employees aren't treated any better. Lionbridge is one of those companies that thinks that "salary"...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit treating your people like chattel. Sure, in a bad economy people are desperate. They'll take the crap you shovel to them and ask for more. You can lay people off and then expect to rehire them whenever you feel like it because chances are they won't have found a job. However, when the economy turns up, people will abandon you in droves and you won't be able to keep contracts.

    Lionbridge2009-12-12
  8. "Good place to work & learn for freshers out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lionbridge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome work culture and nice work environment. The company always supports for Innovation and suggestions I like the flexible work timings, but it depends upon your project

    Cons

    I am not finding any cons on this company

    Lionbridge2019-06-08
  9. "Work friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Lionbridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment,flexible work timings

    Cons

    self learning is the only option here

    Lionbridge2019-05-29
  10. "It was at least fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Test Engineer in Tampere
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lionbridge full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was at least fun, people were nice

    Cons

    Its not the place if you looking for a career

    Lionbridge2019-02-17
Found 41 reviews