Lipscomb University Reviews | Glassdoor

Lipscomb University Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
L. Randolph Lowry III
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "I worked with faculty and staff in the psych department(in 6 reviews)

  • "Friendly atmosphere with Christian values(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Upper management refuses to take advice from the people who actually work in their areas of expertise (and areas that management is not expert in)(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lipscomb University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very close-knit community of class acts.

    Cons

    Salaries are modest, but the community is worth it.

    Lipscomb University2019-08-18
  2. "Event Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Staff in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lipscomb University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun coworkers and good superviser

    Cons

    Terrible upper management and bosses for the Event management. Supervisors are treated terrible, low pay, too much responsibility. Always getting last minute jobs being expected to be finished hour ago.

    Advice to Management

    Raise employee pay for how much mental and physical stress given. Treat and equality for supervisors. Upper upper management needs to know whats going on. Improve overall communication.

    Lipscomb University2019-07-24
  3. "Great Experience and Lessons Learned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Assistant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lipscomb University for more than a year

    Pros

    Trusted immediately to work and learn independently

    Cons

    sometimes not explained the scope of the project in full. must ask multiple questions to clearly identify the objective

    Lipscomb University2019-06-24
  4. "Pleasant Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Volunteer 
    Recommends

    I worked at Lipscomb University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding Work Flexible Felt well utilized

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Lipscomb University2019-06-02
  5. "Great place to start, very hard to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lipscomb University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is an excellent place to get started in the job market, get your Masters and then move on. Really great benefits, 401k match, great time off around the holidays, tuition discount for your kids

    Cons

    Pay is shoddy. They pay peanuts because they know they'll get people in for a free masters. Once you're done with that though, get out and get another job. There will be nothing better for you here.

    Lipscomb University2019-05-15
  6. "No Christian values toward employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lipscomb University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tuition discount, but even the education value is LOW. Insurance is BCBS

    Cons

    Lies to employees, overpay upper management, of which there is Redundancy. Underpay all other employees. Nepotism and cronyism rampant especially when they are UNqualified. Academy is even worse at this.

    Advice to Management

    Fire all upper management and start over.

    Lipscomb University2019-04-18
  7. "Great position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Extended Day Teacher 
    Recommends

    I worked at Lipscomb University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can do homework during work, flexible schedule, close to campus

    Cons

    Low pay (but worth it for the convenience and other pros).

    Lipscomb University2019-01-22
  8. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lipscomb University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sincerely hope to get back here some day!

    Cons

    Low pay, but great benefits.

    Lipscomb University2019-01-01
  9. "Athletics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lipscomb University full-time

    Pros

    Family environment, strong Christian atmosphere, incredible city

    Cons

    Sometimes the thinking is too small

    Lipscomb University2018-12-07
  10. "Best year of my life (no joke)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lipscomb University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My supervisors made me feel like this was where I should be

    Cons

    Parking, but that’s not too big a deal with an employee decal!

    Lipscomb University2018-06-22
Found 61 reviews