Liquid Web Inc. Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Liquid Web Inc. CEO Jim Geiger (no image)
Jim Geiger
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "A relaxed dress code and unlimited soft drinks are appreciated(in 18 reviews)

  • "Coworkers are friendly, free food and pinball in the break room(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management seems to have no idea what the employees even do(in 13 reviews)

  • "Can seem Lansing oriented at times(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place. Unparalleled support structure."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liquid Web Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong leadership, great opportunity to excel.

    Cons

    Growing pains. BUT GROWING...

    Continue reading

    Liquid Web Inc. Response

    April 9, 2020The Liquid Web Team

    Thank you so much for your review!

  2. "Good Benefits, but the mission is only money"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liquid Web Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits are worth it to me. Good opportunities to work from home. Lots of good people exist in the company. But seems like everyone who gets excited about their job gets frustrated with their leadership.

    Cons

    Every leader seems trusted to decide how the company should be ran. Not much collaboration.

    Continue reading

    Liquid Web Inc. Response

    June 12, 2020The Liquid Web Team

    Thank you for your review and your tenure with us. Liquid Web’s most important asset are its employees and we certainly work to have a fun, positive, inclusive culture. These are unique times and we understand that it's more difficult to interact and engage. We know we need engaged employees to win in the market. We will make sure and share your feedback with our leadership teams.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "It's a sinking ship"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Migration Technician in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Liquid Web Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got some experience on my resume

    Cons

    Where do I even begin? Everything was bad.

    Continue reading

    Liquid Web Inc. Response

    June 11, 2020The Liquid Web Team

    Thank you for your time with Liquid Web. It was great to hear that you gained some experience with us. We will pass your feedback to our leadership.

  4. Helpful (7)

    "A complete dumpster fire"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Liquid Web Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Resume experience to get out as fast as you can

    Cons

    Pushing sales on techs. Outsourcing all tech jobs in Linux and now Winfows except a few still in the building. Management cares more about how they look to C level and Investors than they care about what little staff is still in the building.

    Continue reading

    Liquid Web Inc. Response

    June 11, 2020The Liquid Web Team

    Thanks for your review. We will certainly pass this feedback along to leadership. As always our team does have an open door policy, so we encourage you to reach out to discuss your concerns further.

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Build your resume then move on"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Liquid Web Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are friendly, free food and pinball in the break room.

    Cons

    Pay is way below standard. As an admin, you'll work in a call center and that's it -- there isn't much job security in that and there are NO opportunities for advancement.

    Liquid Web Inc. Response

    November 20, 2019The Liquid Web Team

    Thank you for your time with Liquid Web. As part of our Human Resource practices, we conduct regular market salary studies. We are competitive with our pay and offer yearly reviews on employee performance. We'll certainly share your feedback with our leadership.

  6. Helpful (7)

    "Good Place for Entry Level Experience, Poor Long Term Outlook"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Windows Support Technician in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liquid Web Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Liquid Web is a great place to get your feet wet in technical support because you will be exposed to a large scope of issues related to web hosting and technical support. If you have the right mindset - the innate curiosity into how things work, the desire to learn, and the passion for troubleshooting and problem solving - you will enjoy the day to day work troubleshooting and solving various issues. A relaxed dress code and unlimited soft drinks are appreciated.

    Cons

    Customer satisfaction and technical skills have taken a backseat to sales and profits. The message from the top-down appears to be that nobody cares if you do a good job of actually providing quality customer service / support, and actually solving issues the right way the first time. We never hear positive praise for doing what I would argue is the most important aspect of our job. Instead, the only focus is on the sales incentive program. It is all you will hear about in team meetings, personal meetings, and reviews. Your SIP statistics are the first thing on your annual review.. for a support technician. The 95% of your job that you think actually matters .. doesn't matter to supervisors and management, they do not care if you can solve issues. If you compare two equivalent employees - one with poor service, poor skills, but can make sales recommendations , compared to another with excellent service and excellent skills but poor sales recommendations, management rewards the first employee and chastises the second employee. It is easy to see why this culture, combined with poor compensation, has resulted in the loss of many skilled technicians over the last few years. In the past two years, my team has lost multiple enterprise level support technicians. We have not replaced any of these employees. The team's last local hire was over a year ago and it was an entry level hire - talent is always leaving but is never replaced. Recently, it was announced that our team would be bringing in around 10 new hires from Mexico for entry-level support. If the belief is that cheap outsourced support is a good replacement for experienced, skilled, local technicians, that is as good an argument as any I can make for my previous statements regarding how management views the support they provide. If you are passionate about providing good support - you will soon find that you are alone here, nobody else cares. Reviews, job descriptions, promotions, and raises are all completely arbitrary. In many cases the score received does not match the description / reasoning provided. You will read sentence after sentence of nothing but positive praise, but then the score is a 3 - "Trending" , not a 4 - "Proficient" ? Asking for clarification is pointless, since the scores are already set and not up for debate, and nothing will change for your next review. Likely, what actually happens, is that the budget and individual employee compensations are set first, then the reviews are later adjusted to match, instead of the other way around. So how well you perform is irrelevant to your review. Overall, I believe training could be improved - from new hire training / onboarding, to ongoing training for existing employees. While some training materials exist, the emphasis seems to be hands-on , throwing new hires into the fire to work on live issues, and tell them to ask for help if they need it. This type of "training" does not work for everybody. Requests for additional training are regularly brushed away with the excuse that there is no time or resources to commit to additional training. Employees who want to learn more are left to teach themselves, which again, not everybody is comfortable for fear of making serious mistakes on live customer environments. I believe Liquid Web suffers from a culture problem of trying to be too corporate and relying too much on sales numbers, and has lost its sense of what made them a great company in the first place.

    Continue reading

    Liquid Web Inc. Response

    December 5, 2019The Liquid Web Team

    We appreciate your in-depth review. We take all reviews seriously and share these with our leadership team and encourage you to reach out personally to voice your concerns and ideas on training, etc. Our focus is on delivering the best experience in hosting for our customers and remaining a survivor in a consolidating industry. We continue to believe that offering customers additional services that protect and improve their business is a right thing to do but have noted that the impression is that it is dominating the conversation. As we have grown the company through acquisitions, we have definitely become a global organization and need to be able to offer our LATAM customers access to Spanish speaking support techs. We'll certainly be sharing your feedback.

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Difficult Work Environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Liquid Web Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Good products, good dedicated employees

    Cons

    Poor management, disorganized direction, venture capital environment. Manager turnover high

    Continue reading

    Liquid Web Inc. Response

    December 5, 2019The Liquid Web Team

    Thanks for your review. We will certainly pass this feedback along to leadership.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Don't even bother"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linux Technical Support in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Liquid Web Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The biggest pro of LW is definitely the co workers you will have as many are fantastic.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything besides your Co workers. The responses to their company reviews act like they care about their hard working employees but don't be fooled. No opportunities for advancement mean they have to keep you in your entry level grunt job as long as they can. You'll hear of promotions and a better day ahead but it will never come. You will also watch people literally laugh at how hard you have to work while their jobs are a cake walk since work is done by only a portion of the employees. Hard work earns you nothing.

    Continue reading

    Liquid Web Inc. Response

    November 19, 2019The Liquid Web Team

    Thank you for your time with Liquid Web. We are sorry that didn't feel like there were many opportunities for advancement. We understand at a team level that it can feel that way. Across the company, in the last 12 months, over 19% of our Liquid Web employees have been promoted to an upgraded title and/or role. Liquid Web Support has been a great source of recruitment for our product, IT project management, sales and marketing teams as well. We will certainly share your feedback with our leadership.

  9. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to start, but don't stay too long."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linux Systems Administrator in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Liquid Web Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are pretty cool. Direct supervisors actually know what they're doing. Internal documentation is good.

    Cons

    Salesforce. SysAdmins have a sales quota. They're outsourcing many SysAdmin duties to a generally incompetent 3rd party. Always under staffed, despite outsourcing. It's impossible to get any chronic issues resolved in any non support department. Upper management seems to have no idea what the employees even do. All they seem to know about employees is that they cost money. Salesforce.

    Continue reading

    Liquid Web Inc. Response

    September 26, 2019The Liquid Web Team

    Thank you for your time with Liquid Web. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your co-workers and leadership. We will certainly pass on your feedback with our leadership.

  10. "Bad place"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Windows Enterprise Technician in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Liquid Web Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not many, cheap health care, some good experiences

    Cons

    Pay is low, benefits, while cheap are really not that good. Supervisors are just yes men and women, upper management has no long term goals. HR is overbearing and at times the ones in control.

    Continue reading
Found 126 reviews