KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt

Little Giraffe

Is this your company?

Little Giraffe

Add a Review

Little Giraffe Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 8 reviews

2.2
33%
Recommend to a Friend

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Products and Vibe

    Oct 8, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Little Giraffe is a cool place to work. It's a small company with a familial environment. I never experienced drama during my tenure there. I left because of geographical reasons but the team was very graceful in saying farewell. As with most small companies, you have the opportunity to take on other projects which keeps things interesting. Senior management put a lot of effort to be competitive in benefits. Products are top-notch selling at major retailers; super soft. Happy to have been part of the product creation.

    Cons

    Didn't observe anything when I was there.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work

    Feb 5, 2021 - PR Specialist in Gardena, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dynamic Work environment. Good benefits considering it is a small company, good team building activities and lots of creative freedom.

    Cons

    Location/office not in the best area.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    HR Anyone?

    Apr 19, 2018 - Production in Gardena, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can honestly say I learned a lot within my position. Now this doesn’t necessarily mean that I was trained on it by someone within the company. I had to figure 80% of my position out on my own.

    Cons

    1. Conflicts between employees are handled within their own departments. I would assume that’s the way it’s supposed to be. But once an issue is supposedly “taken care of” from both parties, there is no assurance that the party who didn’t get their way will stop complaining about it and projecting a negative and passive aggressive attitude in the office. You would assume that both parties would move on from it and continue to do what they are paid to do, work. Not here. High school like pettiness and gossip rate higher on the scale then actually learning new things and getting work done. Even when trying to remove yourself from a situation and focus on work, you will still unwilling get pulled back in and have to repeat yourself again and again. It’s tiresome and frustrating to have to deal with it on a day to day basis that you’ll get to a point of just not caring. 2. As other reviews have mentioned, there is an air of choosing to give the upper, upper managements male favorites more control and compensation then deserved. Easily manipulated into putting effort towards trying something, realizing it’s hurting more then helping, and then blaming the decline on other departments is a common theme. Some male employees have been able to work the system to their advantage (while knowingly doing things they aren’t supposed to) and then deflect to others so that upper, upper management doesn’t catch on.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Investing in employees definitely not important to company

    Aug 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Toys are cute, but that is about it.

    Cons

    1. Low Pay 2. High Turnover 3. Lousy Culture 4. No career ladder 5. Turmoil 6. People recruiting are a joke

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Don't Settle... More drama than a high end fashion house.

    Apr 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Van Nuys, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The owners are very nice individuals, as are a handful of the employees. Overtime is on a rare occasion.

    Cons

    The sad thing about Little Giraffe is that the majority partner who owns the company is a very nice individual and has a great family. Unfortunately, since his time and focus is spent on other investments, the company is left in the hands of a CEO who lacks leadership and business management skills. As other former employees have posted, this is a miserable place to work if you're not a favorite. Working for the company's CEO is similar to the roller coaster of any abusive relationship. She'll tear you down then lure you back in with empty praise, that lacks any and all sincerity; fun activities and parties; lunches; etc. If you pitch ideas to her she'll give you that same "you're a moron" face as the Miranda Presley character in "The Devil Wears Prada" (and she has the same arrogance about herself... I know, it's just a baby company). Later on that idea you had, will become hers. To your disbelief, she'll pitch it to the rest of the "team" in front of you as if it just occurred to her. Each day working here gets worse. When you're about to throw in the towel, tired of getting verbally cut down and insulted by the CEO every day, and made to feel like a talent lacking loser, she'll have an unexpected up swing in her moods and work will be enjoyable, she will make you feel like a star. The first few times this happened I felt bad for despising her during her bad days, until her bad days became almost every day and got worse. I think there was a time when life was good for 5 consecutive days. But, that doesn't happen anymore... unless you're one of her favorites, then she'll put on a happy face for you even when she's destroying others' wills to live. And, who are these favorites that are spoken of? They're the ones who earn more than they're qualified for, while those who are more experienced and more qualified are working for crumbs and busting their butts to try and move up or get the recognition they deserve (by the way, if you're not a favorite your raise will never come, and if it does it will be so small it won't have any significance in comparison to economic inflation at the time). Another incredible thing about these favorites is that they get more vacation time than anyone else, and can take it whenever they want. While you're begging to have a day off after Christmas and have been there for a number of years so you can travel and see your grandmother who's only got one Christmas left on her life, these favorites (who have not been there as long as you) will get as much time off as they want for the holidays without a question. It's weird how they became favorites, they may make the CEO feel like she's the cool girl but, like that clique of cool kids, they're backstabbing her with machetes the entire time. On days that she's not in the office, working at the other location the favorites don't show up until well into the afternoon, to have meetings with their clients for their side projects, and ask their buddies to cover for them. One If you report these favorites for anything, you'll be the one to face the penalty. They get away with sexual harassment, with just a slap on the wrist. They're given seniority privileges and will micromanage you, even though they're not your supervisors or in your department. While some of your coworkers there are nice, it's hard to tell the nice ones from the saboteurs. That fellow team member who offered to take some of your load for you? Yeah, she just told the CEO that she did it because 1) You're not doing anything and/or 2) You did it and messed it up, she just fixed the mistake for you. Of course, this isn't true but this is a den of snakes and it's difficult to stay on top of all of them to keep your butt covered. After years of having to defend yourself, dealing with unending put downs and insults to your work, you'll be drained emotionally and physically. Honestly, anything is better than this. Don't settle.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Company could be better place to work if they actually cared to make some changes

    Feb 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Gardena, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Employees are nice -You get to take breaks when you want -They celebrate everyone's birthday -Fun Christmas party

    Cons

    - The CEO will never take responsibility for her mistakes. It's always your fault. - She micro-manages employees which kill's the creativity at the company - There is a lot of favoritism if your on the CEO's good side - She talks over you - Company lacks any sort of team building - There's a lot of gossip at the office

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Horribly Run Company

    Sep 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some great hard-working individuals that work there, but certain members of top management aren't among them.

    Cons

    I left LG of my own accord, as did all other authors who wrote reviews before me. Overall, this is a terribly disorganized and dysfunctional company. There is no trust or honesty throughout. I had the unfortunate pleasure of having to work directly with the CEO on occasion; absolutely horrible! She lives in a fantasy world where she thinks she's always the most important person in any conversation and that her ideas are always the best - don't worry, if it's your good idea she'll somehow make it hers. She has the wondrous ability to 'forget' a conversation or 'miss' an email when a situation reflects negatively on her - this is her tactic to blame anyone but herself. It's so transparent. Her moods are highly unpredictable. There is no united front at Little Giraffe. Everyone, even her most trusted confidants talk horribly about her the second that her back is turned. My direct supervisor while I was at Little Giraffe, is another questionable individual. I'm not sure that anything he told me, from my first interview through my years with the company, was remotely truthful. He presents himself as on your side, playing for the same team, fighting for the same goal, but his backbone quickly fades when he's confronted by execs...and then watch out for that bus he'll throw you under. He's probably the most scheming and manipulative person I've ever met. He always plays the victim when he messes up. His 'used car salesman' style is hideous; accounts, sales reps, and employees don't trust him and that unfortunately corresponds to the declining company sales. Once I gave my final notice, I was blown away at how petty and unprofessional the situation turned. From him approaching other brands accusing them of taking me, to sharing details of my resignation. Talking to everyone about me, except to me - so trivial and immature. Once I did leave the company and other industry professional took notice, they all expressed the same sentiments as mentioned above and continuously congratulated me for leaving. The overwhelming theme of those conversations were that they all felt that the CEO and my direct supervisor were two on the most fake and disingenuous people that they had ever come across in business. The complete lack of professionalism at LG will be its demise.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Lower level employee

    Apr 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Gardena, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The lower level employees are a great group of people to work with.

    Cons

    A very negative environment fueled by the CEO. Constant passive aggressive behavior. Raises and promotions are rare if not nonexistent. Very unfair treatment, favorites are played. Men are definitely favored despite the fact that it's run by a female CEO.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

Little Giraffe Reviews FAQs

33% of Little Giraffe employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Little Giraffe 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 2 for culture and values and 2.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Little Giraffe to be coworkers and the cons to be career development, benefits, senior leadership.

Work at Little Giraffe? Share Your Experiences

or